Reservation System - Should it exist?

Should the Reservation System exist in India?

"Spoon fed" is not the word, that I would use. But yes. Its been only 62 years, that we have got a country that we can properly call ours and can run accordingly. So yes, "for the so called 2000 years of suffering", it is our responsibility to bring about that change. What you are effectively saying is that, hey let them be how they are.
62 years right? I wonder how reservation has actually helped the so called "lower castes" for these 62 years...

Everytime, when people like you use gibberish arguments against reservation, without actually understanding, what the purpose of the reservation is, you imply that only.
Care to explain what "purpose" reservation serves in your mind I mean?

First, do you really know what the topic is ? Second, try to read things in perspective.
I know very well what the topic is.

Then I must be living in a different India. I am too tired to cite you 2001 census. It is public document. Go take a look.
So you wish to imply "lower castes" are not good enough? YOU ARE WRONG!!!
Why the major part of "lower castes" are not doing well? Because they are given reservation at the top level but NEVER the BASIC facilities they require.
What would a a person do with reservation when they can't have proper schooling?

But that will remove economic inequality, probably. Caste-based system is for social inequality. Learn the difference.
Removing the economic discrimination of people particularly the so called lower castes will go a LONG LONG WAY to removing social inequality.
With proper education and facilities offered, the poor people and that INCLUDES the lower caste excluding creamy layer will benefit.
They will be able to become doctors, engineers, etc. and thus would have adequete representation in government and private sectors and slowly and steadily the social inequality will dissolve.

karnivore

in your face..
Answers are comming thick and fast. So I am hurrying through. Pardon me if I don't answer to all and if some answers appear just one liners.

A genious is MADE not BORN. What makes you think that same people from different castes from same schools fare better or worse depending on their caste ?
And geniuses are common, right? I didn't say what you are implying. Read it again and again and again. It means something else.

And what makes you think that by providing reservation people come to mainstream ?
Stats. There was no representation of backward classes at the administrative level. Now there is some. Slow. Not enough. But surely working.
Do you know how much respect a person looses because he went ahead of another purely on the basis of caste ? Whether you are an upper caste guy who went up compared to lower caste guy due to social influence on n00b faggots who discriminate on caste, or whether you are a lower caste guy who went up compared to upper caste guy due to reservation - both loose respect in the eyes of civilised populations of India.
You are not providing any counter argument. You are facilitating mine only. Tell me. What do these "civilised populations of India" consist of.

Are you from Iraq ? Because the last time I checked, none of my SC/ST/OBC friends lost anything when it comes to social rights here in a modern place like Bangalore.
When was the last time you went to a village in UP that takes about an hour drive from any decent town, on almost unpaved road, with no electricity and a well specifically for dalits which is at least 5 km away from the village.

The problem with people like you is that you refuse see anything beyond your peripheral urban vision. India beyond Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore etc. do not exist for you guys.

Equality ? You mean to say, SC/ST/OBC people are equal to other people because they get "preferential treatment" by the government ? What an oxymoron.
If you are trying to prove that you like to shoot your mouth on impulse, without understanding what is being said, then congrats, you are doing it well.
Can you tell me what "privilage" I have which others dont ? Everything I have is of my own creation. Nothing was brought upon me thanks to birth except half-decent financial security due to me being in a middle class family.
Go to any village of UP or Bihar. Then try to figure that out.
Oh really ? You mean to say, if I am slower finishing a 1000m run compared to an SC/ST/OBC guy finishing a 900m run, I must say the race was fair ?
On the other hand if you are racing a guy who is limping, how fair is the race.
And yeah, BTW, I'm from GenY not GenX just for the reference.
Good to know. Even worse.

Don't you see ? Only the best are given preference. Even a slightest difference in performance is considered when talking about merit. I just phailed IIT-JEE and AIEEE but I am not complaining. Why ? Because somebody was better than me and they got the ranks.

Thats a completely wrong notion. To write IIT-JEE or AIEEE you need full 2 years worth of practice. Performance on a day won't differ by much unless the examinee decides to be extremely lax and casual about the exam.
No I don't see it. People who seriously prepare for IIT-JEE are almost at an equal platform, as far as hardwork goes. No body just strolls in for these exams.

I suggest, you inquire about MIT's admission policiy. There's a tiny surprise waiting for you.
Don't want to pay donations ? Don't study there. Simple as that. I am yet to see a private institute which askes for donations perform at par with merit based institutes as far as percentage scored by its students BTW.
It is not about my preference. And buddy, my day job used to be dealing with taxations. Don't tell me how to hide donations under the garb of fees.
I have an uber rich friend who has a PS3, a PSP, a 60" 1080p Plasma TV, his family owns 4 cars and he has his own Karizma Bike worth 1 Lakh. I am just an average middle class kid.[

Going by your logic he should beat me right ? Wrong. I get atleast 20-30% more marks than him.
SIGH

I see, even sarcasm is lost on you.

karnivore

in your face..
62 years right? I wonder how reservation has actually helped the so called "lower castes" for these 62 years...
Hmmm...so you want me to "spoon feed" you ? How about starting from census report 2001, then slowly moving on to Tamil Nadu. You can also check and compare, how much of the representation of these backward class improved since 1947.
Care to explain what "purpose" reservation serves in your mind I mean?
I have said it already. Read all the posts.
I know very well what the topic is.
Really ? Then you wouldn't have confused a legitimate argument as off topic.
So you wish to imply "lower castes" are not good enough? YOU ARE WRONG!!!
Why the major part of "lower castes" are not doing well? Because they are given reservation at the top level but NEVER the BASIC facilities they require.
What would a a person do with reservation when they can't have proper schooling?
I wish to imply that without adequate support, the backward classes wouldn't be able come to the fore. And don't base your arguments on the basis of your urban experience.

The problem of basic facilities is not unique to lower caste. It is a typical problem that requires to be solved. The question is not, what would happen if this is done. Question is, how can we facilitate their access, to what is existing right now.
With proper education and facilities offered, the poor people and that INCLUDES the lower caste excluding creamy layer will benefit.
They will be able to become doctors, engineers, etc. and thus would have adequete representation in government and private sectors and slowly and steadily the social inequality will dissolve.
In an ideal society, perhaps. Not in a society where, one has to walk miles just to get his drinking water, just because he is dalit. The so called reservation on the basis of economic disposition is good in theory, but both impossible to implement, and ineffective in reality. There are incentives like mid day meal, free scholarships etc. These haven't helped a wee bit in eradicating the social stigma that a dalit has to bear.

I wonder how then reservation can help a dalit who can't make his too ends meet and can't even have basic education facilities. :rolleyes:
And I wonder what lies in store for a poor Brahmin....:|

karnivore

in your face..
Let me tell you of my grandfather, a man whom I truly respect. This will tell you why anybody with a will to succeed can become great.

His father was prohaned at the age of 12 with 3 sisters to take care of. The only way to lead a life was as a priest doing various stuff. He was financially highly insecure.

My grandfather used to wear only a loin cloth and a dhothi to school. He had no shirts or pants. He used to use a pencil for a whole month atleast. Most of his books were second hand. Finally, when he had to go to collage, he had pants stitched out of dhoti cloth.

But none of this prevented him from studying engineering in a government collage with scholarship and becoming Kerala Water Works' Chief Engineer and heading the department. All this without help from reservation since he was from a so-called "upper caste" brahmin family.

He says he needed nothing more than the light of the sun to be able to read books. At night he used to read with help of street lights, but today everybody has bulbs at home. Tell me if anybody lacks this. I am a lot better off than him at the same age, but I use the same resources as him to study. The light of the sun. So do everybody else.
Now suppose your grandfather was a dalit, with no access to any school/college, no one to give him books to study. Ridicule and curse were his only company. How do you suppose he would have become what he became later on.

Reservation attempts to make sure, that these people have access to schools and colleges, like your grandfather had, by virtue of being an upper caste.

PS: Don't bring anecdotes as arguments, particularly if it is about your family.

karnivore

in your face..
I wonder how then reservation can help a dalit who can't make his too ends meet and can't even have basic education facilities. :rolleyes:
And I wonder what lies in store for a poor Brahmin....:|
This is a very ingenuous way of comparing apples to oranges.

Forget reservation for the time being. Take a poor brahmin and an equally poor dalit, in rural area of, say for example, UP. All other things remaining same, now tell me, who has better chance to change his fortune.

We can have a reservation based on family earning, only when there exists no other inequality in the society, when all are on equal footing, except for economic disposition. But as long as there exists discrimination based on caste, any reservation, which doesn't take into consideration, such inequality, will be useless.

Please stop shedding these crocodile tears for poor brahmins. They had a good run. Its time for them to repay.

This is a very ingenuous way of comparing apples to oranges.

Forget reservation for the time being. Take a poor brahmin and an equally poor dalit, in rural area of, say for example, UP. All other things remaining same, now tell me, who has better chance to change his fortune.
Brahmin I guess.
But I wonder how reservation will actually help them. As I have mentioned again and again which you have dodged so easily, that these people are not given even given BASIC FACILITIES for god sake and you talk of reservation in Public Services and Higher Education...goddammit....
Tell me...the so called lower castes there are two parts among them.
Those who are actually being discrimated actually end up still being discrimated and don't even get the oppurtunity to compete in order to actually take benefit of reservation and then there are babus who just sit in their AC homes and avail them while a poor Brahmin is toiling hard...but you want that right...

We can have a reservation based on family earning, only when there exists no other inequality in the society, when all are on equal footing, except for economic disposition. But as long as there exists discrimination based on caste, any reservation, which doesn't take into consideration, such inequality, will be useless.
How can reservation tackle that inequality? It only creates a small class of SC/ST babus whose sons and grand sons continue availing these reservations while the actual deserving ones get nothing.

Please stop shedding these crocodile tears for poor brahmins. They had a good run. Its time for them to repay.
You want the cycle to go on right? REVENGE is the word. So Sweet. :oops:

I can only laugh at your bitterness.

vamsi_krishna

I haven't got the maturity mind to talk about the reservations. But I am daring to tell my opinion on reservation.

Dr. B.R.Ambedkar has introduced reservation system in our Indian Constitution, to do justification for the people who has been neglected in the society. It is obvious that neglected people are S.C. and S.T. and B.C. cast people. It's acceptable during that time and even now it is only acceptable up to some extent.

But the problem comes with the utilization the reservations. You can't develop the S.C and S.T people by barely giving them Reservations and S.C.,S.T protection cell and the special laws and by-laws like S.C.,S.T atrocities Act and telling the "go f@k ur slef.".... The government and well aclaimed constitution has to do some thing more to them.

I live in Andhra Pradesh, and i am only telling the present situation here. I don't know wheather the position is like this in all states but in this state things are really f@kd up. You can see a dalit who is doing a job of fortune telling with holding a cage which has parrot in it...... and sending his son to Cycle mechanic shop. And i can see a dalit who has multi storied building and joining his son in M.B.B.S with the reservation quota. I see lods of dalits who is doing some odd jobs and sending their childrens to mechanic shops, to do black ticketing, and begging. I see a hell lot of dalits who are doing decent jobs living self sustained and utilising the reservation quota.

The dalit who is doing decent job dosen't need the reservation. But he is utilising it. And what is the use of giving reservation to a dalit who is not capable to feed his children properly.

This reservation is not up to use in current situation. they need some thing more to do good to the dalits. Like providing them habilitation facilities, Giving them decent jobs, providing direct mony transfer facility to them and so on.

If there is any one who is getting loss due to the reservations is the poor O.C people.
The government should add the poor O.C people or B.C people, the cast dosen't matter.....they should recognise theose people as the S.Cs or S.T.s

well...that's my openion on reservatinos.

karnivore

in your face..
Brahmin I guess.
But I wonder how reservation will actually help them. As I have mentioned again and again which you have dodged so easily, that these people are not given even given BASIC FACILITIES for god sake and you talk of reservation in Public Services and Higher Education...goddammit....
At least we agree on one thing. I get the feeling you are realizing what I am trying to say.

The rest of your post asks the question of the utility of reservation, if basic facilities are not provided to the dalits.

Let me answer that with a rhetorical question, removing from the equation, the dalits. What is the use of education at all, if all day long all you have to think of, is survival ?

Now suppose, a person, belonging to this economic strata, decides, "to hell with this kind of survival, I would rather seek education and die trying, rather than barely survive". What are his options then. Now bring in that brahmin and that dalit. The answer, you already have.

As you can see, that these are entirely two different things. "Reservation" is a tool to provide an opportunity to the dalits to come to the fore and change their social standing.
Tell me...the so called lower castes there are two parts among them.
Those who are actually being discrimated actually end up still being discrimated and don't even get the oppurtunity to compete in order to actually take benefit of reservation and then there are babus who just sit in their AC homes and avail them while a poor Brahmin is toiling hard...but you want that right...
I am sick and tired of this kind faulty arguments. First, no system is full proof, and there will be those who will exploit every such system. Rapes and murders have not ceased in spite of having Criminal Code and severe punishment. Shall we then abolish all laws, because, hey, someone is taking advantage of it.

As with poor brahmins. As per 1991 census, there were 1382.23 Lakh SCs, comprising of a whopping 16.48 % of total population and 677.58 Lakh STs, comprising of 8.08 % of total population. In other words, a quarter of out entire population belongs to the group that would not like to touch us. And I must loose sleep over what a minuscule population perceives as discrimination against them.

No buddy, I am not laughing. I am too disappointed to even smile.
How can reservation tackle that inequality? It only creates a small class of SC/ST babus whose sons and grand sons continue availing these reservations while the actual deserving ones get nothing.
Another uninformed comment.
You want the cycle to go on right? REVENGE is the word. So Sweet. :oops:

I can only laugh at your bitterness.
REVENGE is too strong a word. But you are entitled to your opinion. And yes you can laugh at my bitterness. Being ignorant about social issues, has its benefits.

Hey Psst...if I hadn't been an atheist, I would have probably introduced myself as what you call a brahmin.

Disc_Junkie

Call me D_J!
To all, go here and have a look at this website!! It may clear many doubts of the issue!

*reservation-and-present.blogspot.com/

karnivore said:
Its unfortunate that you think it that way. Please suggest me a method by which these people can be brought to the main stream. How do you suppose that a particular person, who has been inhumanly discriminated against, for generations, be able to compete with the ones who have always been privileged.
You know I didn't even know whether the person sitting in my class was a scheduled cast. For 3 consecutive years I was ignorant of his background. A few people having surnames like "Singh" and "Kumar", and later I found they were scheduled cast and entered through reservation. Not every "Singh" and "Kumar" is scheduled cast. I didn't even know what a scheduled cast was at that time. Who is responsible for such an an enlightenment?

Just when the society starts to forget such bullcraps, we are injected with a poison, that yes, something like this is there. So I guess you answered yourself. Removing such kind of illogical reservation would be the first step to bring these people into mainstream!!!

karnivore said:
Once you are born as lower caste, you are stuck with it. You get thrown into the garbage of social pecking order. You automatically loose certain social rights, that we, the upper class virtually take for granted. Unless, they are given an opportunity, at the cost of our own privileges, which, btw, doesn't even begin to come closer to what they have been made to sacrifice, how do you suppose equality in social system be brought about.
Wrong again!! First, religion has nothing to do with cast system as so conspicuous from your "born as lower cast" clause. Its all a part of human imagination. Second, what do you mean by "are stuck with it"? I thought you knew how people change their surnames these days so easily just like they can change their faiths. So I guess nobody is "stuck" with it. Third, instead of punishing the self-proclaimed upper class people for discrimination against lower caste, you are adding fuel to the fire by discriminating against the meritorous? How sane is that?

Justice won't be brought until you punish those who do injustice towards the weak or discriminate against meritorous students.

karnivore said:
If you think that Mayawati or Mulayam Singh or Lalu Singh or Rambilas etc. are the only people who belong to this lower caste, they you are insulting your own intelligence. Just visit any village of UP or Bihar and knock yourself out.

On a side note, you are equating economic backwardness as social backwardness. It is not.
When did I say that they are the only people? Naming a few is sufficient enough to point out the flaw in your argument. You would also find plenty of people who call themselves pandits or brahmins, act like goons and know nothing knowledgable!! Telling me about the villages again reflects how you are ignoring the discrimination by those who call themselves as upper class. Who the heck is upper class neways?

Next, I am not equating economic backwardness with social backwardness, but in general that there is nothing like cast system defining and categorising as to who is "socially backward" and that economic backwardness is the "cause" of much of the "social backwardness".

e.g, You are supposed to be a scheduled cast, and earn in crores. Do you think the society will give a damn about your "cast" or at the time of marriage?? You think the person can't change his/her cast even then? Try to check up the reality for it might knock you out.

karnivore said:
The general idea among the members of this forum is that caste-based reservation system is to alivate the economically backwards. It is not necessarily so. The primary aim of the reservation is to bring about a social equality, by enabling them to be represented in every segment of society. At the time of independence, there were hardly any backward class people in the administrative jobs. But today, they do get a representation, though not nearly enough.

The system is somewhat in the same line as Affirmative Action in US. (Affirmative Action, is entirely different system, but strives to achieve the same objective as caste-based system)
Forget the forum, lets talk about the nation. Again, are you thinking about social justice at the expense of merit? I disagree again, the primary aim of reservation only remains in "theory". Political exploitation of the illogical system, discrimination towards the meritorous students, cursing them (reserved ones) with a life long tag of "reservation" which "indentifies" them differently as inferior of some sort and decieving the companies are the only "realistic" consequences of it. So I think, even the "theoretical" part of reservation is fundamentally flawed!!

karnivore said:
If a person is getting a benefit, because his family income is below a threshold, then it is reservation. By calling it "relaxation" or "whackalooloo" would'nt really change it.
First, the meaning and usage of the term "threshold" is flawed, for you know how people can show false income. You can even see how beggars try to act like really ill-fated carry a young child with them and when the whole drama is over, just try to peek at the corner they go to. You might be amazed how they wear totally new costume. For once I even saw a beggar at the back of a rickshaw in tidy clothes. :shock:

And what if that supposedly or paper conirmed "below threshold", "reservation tagged" guy rides a bike, wears fancy jeans, woodland T-Shirts, nice pair of Ray Ban glasses and spiky hair cuts?? I think you really need to check out the reality.

I think you live in Kolkata. Come to Delhi to witness the "miracles" happening right in front of your own eyes!!!!!

karnivore said:
I would ask you to define "merit". What if I say, that what you are calling merit, is actually a persons performance on a particular day (e.g. JEE exam day). Of about 300,000 appicants, only 3,000 gets admitted to IITs. What about the 3,001th guy or the 3,002nd guy. Is he then mediocre because he couldn't make it to the IIT.

Of course not. IITs, or any other institute can't take more than a certain number because of infrastructuaral constraints. In other words, the so called merit-based system becomes victim to something which is not even connected to merit.

So really. Is it merit that is being judged here, or someone's performance on a given day that is judged. Is our system, really merit based.
Again your example is actually divorced from reality. Have you ever heard of people who got top ranks in IITs and DCE, but chose to go with DCE (Delhi college of engineering)? Its quite common actually. What will you call it, a slap to IIT?

The basic flaw here is that you are treating IITs as some ultimate prize. Have you ever heard of cases where IITians have been rejected because of their character flaws like high ego and unfriendliness? If not, then Believe me for its real!!

Ofcourse, every institution has its own criterias. You stated of IIT as if every other institute has criterias like IIT. Perhaps you would like to learn about "BIMTECH". There might be many others. Also, it is not necessary that a person who might be doing good in objective, be equally doing good in subjective which is the next stage. Like wise in many institutes there are further stages that involve GDPI. A person who is sound in aptitude and maths might not to be so fluent in English or friendly and confident in case of interviews. Hence, institutes might not have the same criterias.

Also, Its quite common for people who excel in CBSE board exams ( @mhg, ignore it :D) to perform bad later in graduation where they flunk and repeat semester exams. Whereas, there are others who were average, some who were considered as insolent brats in school perform excellent in graduation and post graduation.

So how come the merit based system becomes a "victim"? Thats how the system is and it gives you plenty of choices to opt from which might be different in many aspects. A student from a regional college might achieve high and a student from IIT might bite the dust.

Another flaw in your argument is that, what does someone's past performance has to do with IIT entrance test? I think IITs treat everyone "equally" on the day of test and "irrespective" of their cast, color, gender or wateva score (ofcors higher than 60) they scored etc. Just check out how many students in FITJEE, Pie , Vidya mandir etc study to just get above the criteria marks, i.e 60 or 65 whicheva it was, so as to qualify and then top IIT. While many others who perform well in CBSE, don't perform well in IIT. Past performance?

If the person cracks IIT, he is adding to his resume and to his "past performance". If not, it doesn't mean his resume can't be polished further. "Past performance" doesn't mean that those who were naughty in their skool time wouldn't shine in the future. And hence, your point of "past performance" is also flawed where it might be considered in some institutes and might not in others. Ofcourse, a past record of friendly nature has to be considered. :D

karnivore said:
And what about those private institutes, where donation holds the key. What about those systems. Is that merit based ?
That again comes under a class of institutes which have "different" criteria. :D
But neways, 'money power' is as evil as reservation and it again strengthens my point that those who get through money power need not excel coz everything subsequent is based on your own mettle and capabilities. e.g Rahul Gandhi, who entered through money power, failed at harvard and came back in around three months!! ;)

karnivore said:
Competing on 'equal terms'. 'Equal terms'? What does that mean. How can a person, whose family has been cleaning the toilets forever, compete with the one, who spends his spare time, hanging in supermalls or playing on his latest PS3, on 'equal terms'. Where is the equality ? Where is the oportunity to be equal ?
Equal terms simply means to enable a financially weaker student to compete with a general class student so that problems related to money do not become obstructions to his career or time in deciding for his career.

Further, you think all the general class students are at the same financial level? Some might travel via bus and some might travel via car to the college and so do many "lower cast" people. Some might have an unlimited internet while some might have the Rs.299 plan. "Equal terms" simply means to enable a financially weak student to have internet connection "to do his homework and practicals in spare time", to subsidise the price of books for him, may be to increase the number of library cards, to lower their fees to the level that is acceptable to them, like @rhitwick stated "make entrance exams Free of Cost for them", i.e try to give them all the facilities and initiatives that the general class students "ideally" njoy. Ah well, 'financial problems' are an obstacle even for many of the general class students. Why are they exluded from the reservation then?

So again, you are only talking 'theoretical'. I think the whole idea of reservation is extremely flawed and self-contradicting.

@rhitwick, my post is intended for you too. If the government can reward the terrorist like this spend millions during votes, and ill-planned structre of the roads which are then dugged again n again etc wasting both time and money, then I think relaxing the educational fee would really be nothin in comparison. :)

You know I didn't even know whether the person sitting in my class was a scheduled cast. For 3 consecutive years I was ignorant of his background. A few people having surnames like "Singh" and "Kumar", and later I found they were scheduled cast and entered through reservation. Not every "Singh" and "Kumar" is scheduled cast. I didn't even know what a scheduled cast was at that time. Who is responsible for such an an enlightenment?
Ignorance is bliss...eh??

Just when the society starts to forget such bullcraps, we are injected with a poison, that yes, something like this is there. So I guess you answered yourself. Removing such kind of illogical reservation would be the first step to bring these people into mainstream!!!
Why do u want to forget. It won't help, it doesn't. U want or not, it will be there. For a day u forget that ur classmate is not from dat slum, will it help him in future or his/her family. We do what we do best, i.e. close our eyes and ears. Gandhi-ji ki teen bandar.

Wrong again!! First, religion has nothing to do with cast system as so conspicuous from your "born as lower cast" clause. Its all a part of human imagination. Second, what do you mean by "are stuck with it"? I thought you knew how people change their surnames these days so easily just like they can change their faiths. So I guess nobody is "stuck" with it.
If u've forgot ur history lessons, let me remind u how "born as lower cast" works. It started from "Barnasram pratha" which consisted of four colors or casts (Brahman, Kshatriya, Basishya (Businessman) and shudras (Cobbler, Laundry, Barber etc).
Sons of the lower cast (here less baishya and more Shudras) people were always treated as of their fathers.
The scenario is changing today but not totally. Just visit any village and you will still find people tagged or recognized by ther casts. "Ramu mochi", "Shyamu dhobi" etc. If ur in a slum in a city, then ur future is bright because the government has a lot of programs to rehabilitate the slums (the places have to look beautiful, clean, to show to foreign delegates right!!!) but very few and most importantly SLOW programs for villages.
Where options to earn a living is already limited how do u expect a system on merit. BUT, watever the monetary situation is , the brahmins or higher casts will always get more society value .

The "higher cast" thing is also stuck upon us. U just can't escape from it. You will forget but people won't. What will you do,? To how many will you explain all these logics about castism?

When did I say that they are the only people? Naming a few is sufficient enough to point out the flaw in your argument. You would also find plenty of people who call themselves pandits or brahmins, act like goons and know nothing knowledgable!! Telling me about the villages again reflects how you are ignoring the discrimination by those who call themselves as upper class. Who the heck is upper class neways?

Castism was a theory long back, now its just there. You won't find your answers neither we will be able to prove it. You know why? Because of improvement in economical status in most of our population. Now its very hard to differentiate b/w a wealthy dalit/SC/ST and wealthy Brahmin, Thakurs, Rajputs etc.
But they are there. Oh, heck, when you will be marrying you will come to know more of these bullsh1ts.

Next, I am not equating economic backwardness with social backwardness, but in general that there is nothing like cast system defining and categorising as to who is "socially backward" and that economic backwardness is the "cause" of much of the "social backwardness".
U r so wrong. Either u've no money or u r uber rich that u don't know what money can do. Those who say money can't buy happines, I'll say they are partially wrong. It can't buy but it at least opens some doors (opportunities) to seek out happiness new new things.
money is everything.

e.g, You are supposed to be a scheduled cast, and earn in crores. Do you think the society will give a damn about your "cast" or at the time of marriage?? You think the person can't change his/her cast even then? Try to check up the reality for it might knock you out.
Agreed. But I want to change the situation a bit. Suppose u r a scheduled cast and don't earn in crores, may be just 5k per month (at least 30% Indian population would be more than happy to earn that kinda money a month). Now you tell me if ur cast affects your daily life.
The problem is that, U and Gautham both are talking about ideal cases or best case scenario, but let me remid u guys that ther are people (who we call people, janata, common man) who are just "people". Not everyone is vidyasagar, Ramanujan etc. So, what do they do. Stop living. Stop asking, just because u r ignoring.

Forget the forum, lets talk about the nation. Again, are you thinking about social justice at the expense of merit? I disagree again, the primary aim of reservation only remains in "theory". Political exploitation of the illogical system, discrimination towards the meritorous students, cursing them (reserved ones) with a life long tag of "reservation" which "indentifies" them differently as inferior of some sort and decieving the companies are the only "realistic" consequences of it. So I think, even the "theoretical" part of reservation is fundamentally flawed!!

I've read this part 10 times...kuch samajh mein nahi aya...uske bad to agree or disagree:wink:

First, the meaning and usage of the term "threshold" is flawed, for you know how people can show false income. You can even see how beggars try to act like really ill-fated carry a young child with them and when the whole drama is over, just try to peek at the corner they go to. You might be amazed how they wear totally new costume. For once I even saw a beggar at the back of a rickshaw in tidy clothes. :shock:

And what if that supposedly or paper conirmed "below threshold", "reservation tagged" guy rides a bike, wears fancy jeans, woodland T-Shirts, nice pair of Ray Ban glasses and spiky hair cuts?? I think you really need to check out the reality.

I think you live in Kolkata. Come to Delhi to witness the "miracles" happening right in front of your own eyes!!!!!
Do you think all backword/beggars do this. U just can't blame all of them for the misdeeds of some *******s.
Its always there, isn't it? Loopholes of a very good proces and then exploition of it. As, Karni already said, is this enough reason to stop something.

Again your example is actually divorced from reality. Have you ever heard of people who got top ranks in IITs and DCE, but chose to go with DCE (Delhi college of engineering)? Its quite common actually. What will you call it, a slap to IIT?

The basic flaw here is that you are treating IITs as some ultimate prize. Have you ever heard of cases where IITians have been rejected because of their character flaws like high ego and unfriendliness? If not, then Believe me for its real!!

IIT has become into a brand, don't u think so. I always say. U r only what u read and teach urself. Not even the top school teach u anything if u don't want to learn.
And brand value is always there. U believe or not, we have a mentality that if we are paying higher price for something, then we MUST be getting some exclusive features for that. Something special. Thats why a comparatively same model of POWER shoe prices lower than the ADIDAS one. (Just an example, now plz, plz don't bring up POWER and ADIDAS's life history, both of u always do that, example-ka bhi post-mortem kar ke dam lete ho).

Ofcourse, every institution has its own criterias. You stated of IIT as if every other institute has criterias like IIT. Perhaps you would like to learn about "BIMTECH". There might be many others. Also, it is not necessary that a person who might be doing good in objective, be equally doing good in subjective which is the next stage. Like wise in many institutes there are further stages that involve GDPI. A person who is sound in aptitude and maths might not to be so fluent in English or friendly and confident in case of interviews. Hence, institutes might not have the same criterias.

Also, Its quite common for people who excel in CBSE board exams ( @mhg, ignore it :D) to perform bad later in graduation where they flunk and repeat semester exams. Whereas, there are others who were average, some who were considered as insolent brats in school perform excellent in graduation and post graduation.

So how come the merit based system becomes a "victim"? Thats how the system is and it gives you plenty of choices to opt from which might be different in many aspects. A student from a regional college might achieve high and a student from IIT might bite the dust.
A merit based system becomes victim when the elegible candidates (other than the one who got scholarship) can't just afford to enter. Now, if u say why not other colleges who provides same degree. Yes logically u r very correct.
But the problem is that the organizations where he/she is gonna apply for job won't give much value to the unknown chool/college's marks. R u getting me, ki aur bolu:))

Another flaw in your argument is that, what does someone's past performance has to do with IIT entrance test? I think IITs treat everyone "equally" on the day of test and "irrespective" of their cast, color, gender or wateva score (ofcors higher than 60) they scored etc. Just check out how many students in FITJEE, Pie , Vidya mandir etc study to just get above the criteria marks, i.e 60 or 65 whicheva it was, so as to qualify and then top IIT. While many others who perform well in CBSE, don't perform well in IIT. Past performance?

If the person cracks IIT, he is adding to his resume and to his "past performance". If not, it doesn't mean his resume can't be polished further. "Past performance" doesn't mean that those who were naughty in their skool time wouldn't shine in the future. And hence, your point of "past performance" is also flawed where it might be considered in some institutes and might not in others. Ofcourse, a past record of friendly nature has to be considered. :D
In our world "past performances" are called "experiences". If u've experience of 2yrs in a particular field u r expected to know at least 80% of that thing. (actually they want 150% :) )

In case of education, one who has topped in CBSE would be expected to do very good in IIT entrance exam.

That again comes under a class of institutes which have "different" criteria. :D
But neways, 'money power' is as evil as reservation and it again strengthens my point that those who get through money power need not excel coz everything subsequent is based on your own mettle and capabilities. e.g Rahul Gandhi, who entered through money power, failed at harvard and came back in around three months!! ;)
True. But c, Rahul got a chance/opportunity to study in Harvard ONLY BECAUSE OF MONEY. So, money can actually do things. Don't u think so.
How can u tell that A,B or C won't pass Harvard if they were given a chance.

Further, you think all the general class students are at the same financial level? Some might travel via bus and some might travel via car to the college and so do many "lower cast" people. Some might have an unlimited internet while some might have the Rs.299 plan. "Equal terms" simply means to enable a financially weak student to have internet connection "to do his homework and practicals in spare time", to subsidise the price of books for him, may be to increase the number of library cards, to lower their fees to the level that is acceptable to them, like @rhitwick stated "make entrance exams Free of Cost for them", i.e try to give them all the facilities and initiatives that the general class students "ideally" njoy. Ah well, 'financial problems' are an obstacle even for many of the general class students. Why are they exluded from the reservation then?
First thanx, that at least u read my post. It seemed to me that no-one read it.
Then, its d main problem, we need a system to to tackle this issue. If you can solve this, all else would be solved.

@rhitwick, my post is intended for you too. If the government can reward the terrorist like this spend millions during votes, and ill-planned structre of the roads which are then dugged again n again etc wasting both time and money, then I think relaxing the educational fee would really be nothin in comparison. :)
Agreed. Yehi to main bol raha hoon. Give same opportunity to everyone. Phir jo hoga so hoga.
But everyone should get same chance.

//ufff.......kitna bada post likhta hai tu.....

Reservation is so cool that you need some nice fire to keep you from freezing :rolleyes:
*www.nilkanth.com/my-uploads/mandal%20commission%20delhi%20india%20fire.jpg

confused

Evolving Rapidly...
hey reservation is the coolest thing to have happened to the world since hitler.
im lovin' it. please make a rule that it exists for atleast another gazillion years, so that the next 1 zillion generations can get a freebie from the govt, while other poor souls toil away for their hard earned daily bread.
my 2 cents.

rhitwick said:
Ignorance is bliss...eh??
Yep for many it is. Verify yourself. May be ur statement is reflecting on u??

rhitwick said:
Why do u want to forget. It won't help, it doesn't. U want or not, it will be there. For a day u forget that ur classmate is not from dat slum, will it help him in future or his/her family. We do what we do best, i.e. close our eyes and ears. Gandhi-ji ki teen bandar.
You decide, you want to keep calling them scheduled cast or not! You want a category in the society where there are "reserved" category students who are sneered as inferior? You are not actually diminishing the whole problem, but just 'redefining' the whole problem with a "real certificate" instead of a "human imagined" one as in the past.

rhitwick said:
If u've forgot ur history lessons, let me remind u how "born as lower cast" works. It started from "Barnasram pratha" which consisted of four colors or casts (Brahman, Kshatriya, Basishya (Businessman) and shudras (Cobbler, Laundry, Barber etc).
Sons of the lower cast (here less baishya and more Shudras) people were always treated as of their fathers.
The scenario is changing today but not totally. Just visit any village and you will still find people tagged or recognized by ther casts. "Ramu mochi", "Shyamu dhobi" etc. If ur in a slum in a city, then ur future is bright because the government has a lot of programs to rehabilitate the slums (the places have to look beautiful, clean, to show to foreign delegates right!!!) but very few and most importantly SLOW programs for villages.
Where options to earn a living is already limited how do u expect a system on merit. BUT, watever the monetary situation is , the brahmins or higher casts will always get more society value .

The "higher cast" thing is also stuck upon us. U just can't escape from it. You will forget but people won't. What will you do,? To how many will you explain all these logics about castism?
@rhiwtick, did you really understand my previous post? I don't think you even "tried" to read the already debated "cast system" in other threads. Forget about history lessons, you don't even know "anything" about the misunderstood varna system.

So just to repeat for you :oops:, the four classes existed. BUT, they were "not by birth" but by "karma". In the modern times we have classes like scientists, teachers, labourers, shoe makers, cleaners etc. WHo is treating a class of politicians differently from that of scientist w.r.t to morality and ethics? Why? Why are we calling the politicians as cheap? Doesn't that mean all those who work are also getting insulted? WHo looks down upon labourers? Why is it that when an accident happens we take it for granted that we can slap if the other person is a 'rickshaw puller' etc or do verbaal battle if the other person is of our own "status"????? Is it written somewhere that you can treat those who are born in poor families as dirt? Why is it that police tends to act like a dog in front of the rich and on the other hand bullies the poor? Who is responsible?

Shouldn't we take action against police for such kind of misconduct? Do you know ANYTHING about realities regarding the police?

Neways, similar to the class of scientists, labourers the ancient system comprised of "Brahmana, Khatriya, Vaishya and Shudra". It is not necessary that the son of Brahmana be a brahmana. He may become a kshatriya or a Vaishya "DEPENDING' on his karma. Ofcourse in acient times brahmins were treated honorably for its natural to treat someone who has knowledge like that. BUT, todays "cast system" is NOT the varna system that is mentioned in scriptures!

Do you really think that one who calls himself a brahmin really knows all kind of knowledge? Let alone the modern knowledge, they don't even possess the ancient knowledge of the scriptures. Pundits are often involved in sinful activities and many of the "lower cast" which you call as shudra, show will to acquire scientific and technical knowledge.

So if you read even a little about the "concept" behind the ancient varna system, you'll realise that the modern definition is absolutely "contradicting" to its ancient counterpart. Again who is responsible?

And hence just when the society starts to forget such a "nuisance" that is a part of "misunderstandings", politicians and people asking for reservation, refresh us with such kind of talks that consequently leads to the categorization of the most inappropriate form in the society.

rhitwick said:
Do I really have to discuss this? :oops:
If the logic of the "varna system" is actively made a part of NCERT like mughals etc, presented in media etc, then I believe people will not only throw "corrupt" pundits from their chair, but it will also help in reducing the cast based politics!!!

rhitwick said:
Castism was a theory long back, now its just there. You won't find your answers neither we will be able to prove it. You know why? Because of improvement in economical status in most of our population. Now its very hard to differentiate b/w a wealthy dalit/SC/ST and wealthy Brahmin, Thakurs, Rajputs etc.
But they are there. Oh, heck, when you will be marrying you will come to know more of these bullsh1ts.
Where exactly do you think I live? :D In some remote corner of India? Buddy, I live in a place where all kinds of communities are happily coexisting and helping each other out, "discussing" this menace of terrorism and reservation "openly out loud" irrespective of their faiths, exceptions are always there!! Do you really think I go looking out for the history of my friends weather they are dalits or christians or SC/ST? You must be joooking real bad! :oops:

And yes, when I'll marry, I will know what to do. Wisdom only rises, doesn't decrease IMO. You don't have to tell me or have to degrade my thoughts. :oops:

rhitwick said:
U r so wrong. Either u've no money or u r uber rich that u don't know what money can do. Those who say money can't buy happines, I'll say they are partially wrong. It can't buy but it at least opens some doors (opportunities) to seek out happiness new new things.
money is everything.
And your thoughts reflect your assumptions just like a theory is flawed on the basis of incorrect assumptions!! And for the second bold, isn't that what I stated? :oops:

Money is becoming everything. IF you are rich, everyone asks you and if you are not, no one asks you, with exceptions in this case also reflected by some noble souls.

rhitwick said:
Agreed. But I want to change the situation a bit. Suppose u r a scheduled cast and don't earn in crores, may be just 5k per month (at least 30% Indian population would be more than happy to earn that kinda money a month). Now you tell me if ur cast affects your daily life.
You see, the "attitude of people" is affected by the factor you yourself bring in i.e the factor of family finance! Whereas, the factor of "lower cast" has become almost "independent" of the consequences in the modern society and even in your own example!!!

rhitwick said:
The problem is that, U and Gautham both are talking about ideal cases or best case scenario, but let me remid u guys that ther are people (who we call people, janata, common man) who are just "people". Not everyone is vidyasagar, Ramanujan etc. So, what do they do. Stop living. Stop asking, just because u r ignoring.
And I thought you were being idealistic rather than realistic!

rhitwick said:
I've read this part 10 times...kuch samajh mein nahi aya...uske bad to agree or disagree
samajhne waali baat yeh hai mere sher ki, in "trying" to remove categories you are actually forming new categories and redefining categories with "certificates" on it this time which is far worse. In trying to remove discrimination, you are creating "new kinds" of discrminiation and "ignoring" the previous one. You are not reducing the scale of the problem, but simply magnifying it!!!

rhitwick said:
Do you think all backword/beggars do this. U just can't blame all of them for the misdeeds of some *******s.
Its always there, isn't it? Loopholes of a very good proces and then exploition of it. As, Karni already said, is this enough reason to stop something.
Like I said, come to Delhi and witness the miracles where the blind gets new eyes every day and undergoes countless cycles of becoming blind and eye gifted, where one legged creature on the footpath become two legged at the end of the day, poor woman who had milk bottle and a child in her hands now rides at the back of a rickshaw. Woah, India (atleast delhi) surely undergoes recession and progression everyday!! :oops:

rhitwick said:
IIT has become into a brand, don't u think so. I always say. U r only what u read and teach urself. Not even the top school teach u anything if u don't want to learn.
And brand value is always there. U believe or not, we have a mentality that if we are paying higher price for something, then we MUST be getting some exclusive features for that. Something special. Thats why a comparatively same model of POWER shoe prices lower than the ADIDAS one. (Just an example, now plz, plz don't bring up POWER and ADIDAS's life history, both of u always do that, example-ka bhi post-mortem kar ke dam lete ho).
I replied to karnivore and your reply is disconnected from the point. But yeah they have become brands IMO. :)

rhitwick said:
A merit based system becomes victim when the elegible candidates (other than the one who got scholarship) can't just afford to enter. Now, if u say why not other colleges who provides same degree. Yes logically u r very correct.
But the problem is that the organizations where he/she is gonna apply for job won't give much value to the unknown chool/college's marks. R u getting me, ki aur bolu
"Financial help" was the core point of my previous post. I think you really need to read it again carefully this time. I know u read my post at night, coz an eye in the E-sky was lookin upon u. :D

rhitwick said:
In our world "past performances" are called "experiences". If u've experience of 2yrs in a particular field u r expected to know at least 80% of that thing. (actually they want 150% )

In case of education, one who has topped in CBSE would be expected to do very good in IIT entrance exam.
Yep, he is only expected, but doesn't always do. Strange reality hun? Have you ever considered the "nature" of CBSE exams where 70% of the paper is repeated w.r.t to IITs exam where the paper is different everytime in terms of questions and number of questions and authorities giving 'surprises', to think upon your logic and reality?????

rhitwick said:
True. But c, Rahul got a chance/opportunity to study in Harvard ONLY BECAUSE OF MONEY. So, money can actually do things. Don't u think so.
How can u tell that A,B or C won't pass Harvard if they were given a chance.
Exactly! Are the passing marks diff for A,B. or C. Your post again reflect my view of "equal competition"!!

rhitwick said:
Agreed. Yehi to main bol raha hoon. Give same opportunity to everyone. Phir jo hoga so hoga.
But everyone should get same chance.
Lol, we post like an "interpreter" instead of a "compiler" (computers lingo) :D

karnivore

in your face..
mediator said:

This is by far the most bizarre argument that I’ve ever come across. What you are basically saying, is that being ignorant of social issues/environment is actually a bliss. You are actually accusing a segment of society, for showing the ugly face of the reality to that segment, that was blissfully oblivious of the evils of casteism. I am speechless.

You think, just because, you (I understand that “you” represent a part of society, so ensconced, so cushioned, so pampered in their lives, they didn’t know that their so called perfect society is actually a façade) were not aware of casteism, it didn’t exist. More than 90% of our population do not reside in that society. They reside in a society where a school teacher takes it upon himself to purify his students from the touch of dalits by sprinkling cow urine, a society which registered 109,505 direct cases of atrocities against dalits during 1994-2004, a society, where, one has to walk for miles to access a well, in spite of a well being present in his village, a society, where the shadow of a dalit is worse that cow dung. Wishing these away, is not going to make these disappear.

But I guess, you are correct. Lets sweep the dust under the carpet and pretend nothing happened, ever. If I can’t see, it isn’t there. That’s all matters doesn’t it.
Wrong again!! First, religion has nothing to do with cast system as so conspicuous from your "born as lower cast" clause. Its all a part of human imagination. Second, what do you mean by "are stuck with it"? I thought you knew how people change their surnames these days so easily just like they can change their faiths. So I guess nobody is "stuck" with it. Third, instead of punishing the self-proclaimed upper class people for discrimination against lower caste, you are adding fuel to the fire by discriminating against the meritorous? How sane is that?

Justice won't be brought until you punish those who do injustice towards the weak or discriminate against meritorous students.
Firstly, caste is a direct result of “brahminism”. There is no two opinion about it. Second, casteism is not just about name or surnames. It is much deeper than that. Just by changing name one doesn’t change his caste. Indian Govt. officially doesn’t recognize caste. Therefore changing of caste, legally doesn’t even arise. If you are born as “untouchable” you just continue to be an “untouchable”. This is the most naïve view of the problem. If it were so easy to change caste just by changing names, there wouldn’t have been any dalit today, and they wouldn’t prefer to convert en mass. Third, the whole argument of “discriminating against the meritorious” is a myth. (I have already explained)
Rubbish. Naming a few among almost a quarter of our population, majority of whom live below poverty level, doesn’t even come close to being an example at all. Mentioning one exception among millions of sufferers is actually a mockery of the sufferings of these people.

Telling you about villages, was my way of saying that the crux of the issue is not within the city limits, about begins from where the city ends. You are basing all your arguments on the basis of your personal experiences within your city, Delhi. Delhi officially doesn’t even have the Schedule Tribes (ST), or Other Backward Class (OBC), and you expect to understand their plight. Give us a break.

Are you really saying what you are saying or am I just seeing things here. You don’t even know, why SC/ST and OBCs are called socially backward. You have no idea what is socially backward and what is economically backward. Not having purchasing power, is economical backwardness. Not having the right to purchase*, is social backwardness. What use is of purchasing power, when you don’t have power to purchase.

Where exactly are these crorepati dalits. I keep hearing, but I don’t see them. Where are they. And just how many are there, as percentage to the total population, as percentage to the total dalit population, as percentage to all the other crorepatis. Just look at 1991 and 2001 census data, and be ashamed.

You are basing your entire argument on exceptions. Exception, to you, is the rule, not a proof of the rule.

* “Right to purchase” is a collective term that I have used to denote, the rights that a dalit has to forgo just by taking birth as one.
Merit ? What is this mythical merit in Indian context ? How is it measured ? By means of an examination ? Lets bust the bubble of so called merit. I will use West Bengal as case study, because I am more familiar with WB.

In the late 80s and early 90s, during my times, there used to be a total of about 2500 engineering seats, all State Govt. sponsored. I kid you not. So if you were the 2501th student and wished to pursue engineering as career, you had only one option. Go to South, take admission in private engineering colleges. Cut to future, 2009. Today, there are close to 19,000 seats, mostly in private sector (set to increase by another 13,000). The govt sponsored seats have also increased. In any case, now, if you are 19,000th ranked, you still get to pursue engineering in West Bengal.

How shall I rank this guy as. Meritorious(?) or average. Now, how is this guy any different, from a dalit, who is scoring equal to him. We are willing to accept, this 19,000th ranked guy as an engineer, without fuss, without questioning if his mediocrity will put the nation at jeopardy, but if a guy scoring same as him, takes admission to a better college than him, through the quota system, all hell is supposed to break loose. Suddenly, this mythical merit becomes the key, although technically both of them will be engineers starting almost at the same level, right from the bottom of the corporate pecking order. Why ? Because, this OC guy couldn’t get admission to a better college. (In other states, this becomes even more acute, because the seats are almost twice or thrice as much WB)

The issue is never merit. It has never been. This argument of merit is a ruse to cover a more sinister mindset, something that we take for granted – we, the upper class, deserve the best. We conveniently bring out the issue of merit, when we see a dalit taking admission in a better college, forgetting, a guy, probably worse than his merit, is coming into the same profession as the dalit is, albeit through a lesser college, and will be assimilated in the same society, which is supposed to get effected by both their mediocrity. But since some people are more equal than others, mediocrity of the dalit is supposed to effect the society more.

Lets look at some of the universities of US, the land of dreams. Many here, doesn’t even know, that universities like Harvard, MIT etc. have a system in place, which requires much less SAT scores from American Indians, Hispanics and Blacks, compared to the others. It is called Affirmative action. Now that you know, Harvard or MIT promote mediocrity, how many are willing to get admission there. My wild guess is ALL.

The so called curse that you are talking of, is the exact social injustice that we are talking of.
First, the meaning and usage of the term "threshold" is flawed, for you know how people can show false income. You can even see how beggars try to act like really ill-fated carry a young child with them and when the whole drama is over, just try to peek at the corner they go to. You might be amazed how they wear totally new costume. For once I even saw a beggar at the back of a rickshaw in tidy clothes.

Once, just once in your life, think of the 90% of your fellow countrymen who don’t live in cities. If your argument of “threshold” is to be believed, there can be no criteria for any economic “relaxation” that you are so talking of. Now tell us, how do you propose to implement your economic “relaxation” without a “threshold”.
Again your example is actually divorced from reality.
Come on. Your reality is based on your city living alone. Mine is based on tiny tours to the interiors of rural India, where, unfortunately 90% of our population live.
Have you ever heard of people who got top ranks in IITs and DCE, but chose to go with DCE (Delhi college of engineering)? Its quite common actually. What will you call it, a slap to IIT?

Also, Its quite common for people who excel in CBSE board exams ( @mhg, ignore it) to perform bad later in graduation where they flunk and repeat semester exams. Whereas, there are others who were average, some who were considered as insolent brats in school perform excellent in graduation and post graduation.

If the person cracks IIT, he is adding to his resume and to his "past performance". If not, it doesn't mean his resume can't be polished further. "Past performance" doesn't mean that those who were naughty in their skool time wouldn't shine in the future. And hence, your point of "past performance" is also flawed where it might be considered in some institutes and might not in others. Ofcourse, a past record of friendly nature has to be considered.
Missed the forest to hit the tree. You have no clue of what I was saying.

The remainder of the post is just uninformed tripe. You have shown complete lack of understanding of the issue at hand. You think Mayawati represents a quarter of our population, you think a corepati dalit or two, with ray-ban glasses, living within the sanctuary of a city, negate the plight of those in the rural areas, and therefore the whole reservation thing. I can guarantee, you have no idea of Mandal Commission report, or what census of 1991/2001 say.

Anyway…

karnivore

in your face..
So just to repeat for you :oops:, the four classes existed. BUT, they were "not by birth" but by "karma".
I don't see any mention of "karma" in Manusmriti...other than an indirect reference to birth.
*i180.photobucket.com/albums/x31/trash609/8.jpg

IITian

Those who were discriminated against in the past deserve to get some extra privilege for their uplift, but reservation in educational institutes is definitely not the way to go.
In my college, I've never came across even a single category guy who actually deserved reservation.Almost all of them are the ones who have burned their a$$ for 2-3 years in some coaching institute.Tell me why did they deserve to get a seat when their JEE score was half of that of others?

Let me tell what happens when such undeserving people gets into premier institutes through backdoor(read reserved seats).They never performs upto the level of others and ends up flunking the exams or getting poor grades(i.e. if they are really hard working).
They ends up repeating semesters and either gets expelled or comes into depression, and in the worst case, hangs themselves.This is the actual reason for increasing number of suicide attempts in IITs.Tell me how reservation helped the life of one such person?Or how it helped the life of some Ramu Mochi who is a damn intelligent guy but is still sewing boots in a remote town because his father used to do the same?

The need of the hour is to provide quality basic education to economically backward category/non-category people so that they may come to the same level of competition.

And one more thing that i'd like to state is that the caste system is slowly fading away even in villages.Inter caste love marriages have become quite common there(Dont ask me to go to some interior village of UP, i've lived for sufficently long time in one.)

Regardless of how much you support reservation purely on caste basis, it will NEVER have effect on the REAL downtrodden - the dalits of UP and Bihar etc as karnivore mentioned. Why ? Because there are only 8000 seats in IITs. Out of it, if you reserve 4000, you can be sure that all of them will go to the so-called lower caste people from the civilised parts of India, like Bangalore Urban, Mumbai, etc where casteism isn't even existing among the Y-Generation.

What happens then ? Casteism is actually CREATED here thanks to disgruntled students who felt cheated when their best buddy who is a dalit got selected to IIT scoring 160 marks while they didn't qualify scoring 170 marks.

Don't you get the point ? What the government is doing is messing with the minds of the liberal modern and composite urban society to allevate problems of medieval backward societies found in bihar, uttar pradesh, etc, while at the same time what they do has next to no effect !

Look at government jobs. As karnivore pointed out, SC/ST/OBCs have come to "mainstream" by getting representation in government jobs. Is working for the government supposed to be called "mainstream" when those who work are almost always the rich and affluent "creamy-layer" among the SC/ST/OBC community ?

You say there is the "social" factor involved here. Its "social backwardness" which is prevalent on SC/ST/OBCs. But more often than not, this backwardness is a result of educational and economic backwardness. No I am not talking about the fact that these people don't go to IITs. I am talking of education at grassroots level. Compulsory education upto even 10th standard is enough to enlighten these backward people (here backward people includes both the oppressed classes and the aggressors since both are backward - the former labelled falsely by the govt and the later in TRUE sense).

And economic backwardness can be removed by helping people with merit-cum-means scholarships. Because a high ranker with less money shouldn't be denied education by the govt of India due to his not having enough money. This kind of "reservation" as karnivore terms it, is much more fair than reservation because of a person's parents' identity.

As much as it seems "fair" to people with oppressed ancestors, its equally "unfair" to people who have nothing to do with oppression and two wrongs don't make a right.

At least we agree on one thing. I get the feeling you are realizing what I am trying to say.

The rest of your post asks the question of the utility of reservation, if basic facilities are not provided to the dalits.

Let me answer that with a rhetorical question, removing from the equation, the dalits. What is the use of education at all, if all day long all you have to think of, is survival ?

Now suppose, a person, belonging to this economic strata, decides, "to hell with this kind of survival, I would rather seek education and die trying, rather than barely survive". What are his options then. Now bring in that brahmin and that dalit. The answer, you already have.

As you can see, that these are entirely two different things. "Reservation" is a tool to provide an opportunity to the dalits to come to the fore and change their social standing.
You say that "Reservation is a 'tool' to provide oppurtunity for lower castes to come to the fore and change their social standing" I wonder how.
Let us see.
Even in this modern times, it is unfortunate people are still being socially discrimated, especially Dalits. They are still not denied to visit temples, or go to school or visit social gatherings. Now as a result they are unable to actually have schooling and in fact the few who do end of dropping and are reduced to continue doing the menial jobs their fore fathers were doing/forced to do. Now what the Government does? It's puts up the 'messianic'[:rolleyes:] reservation system which they claim will bring the socially discrimated lot to the fore (much like as you say). Now whay happens? There are seats reserved in educational institutions, government jobs, etc. for them. But to reach that level, there are certain minimum qualifications every person would require which is basically proper schooling and training. But the fact is that the socially discrimated lot get nowhere near as many facilities as economically/socially "higher" class of people and the society and no way they can actually compete with those lot at that time. What most of them end up? They end up without even fundamental education and care and they remain a long shot even from actually taking benefit of the reservation system.
It's just like a 4 feet boy given a box full of treasure 12 feet above the ground without the tool to actually get the treasure.

A few of them which survive and are able to take up reservation inspite of their poor background, what they end up with? They end up finding they are unable to compete with their counterparts who received much better fundamental education than them and end up dropping out or even worse ending up killing themshelves or take up bad path in life. And the remaining who actually are DESERVING and SUCCEED in taking full benefit of reservation is sadly too small a number.

Who actually among the "discrimated" classes take benefit? It's actually the sons and daughters of the parents who already have a safe economic and social status and who derserve no more reservation than a Brahmin or Kshatriya.
In a nutshell those who actually deserve to get benefit of reservation do not have the tools to actually take gain of reservation to come to the fore while those who actually are already on the fore have their candies and cream.

I am sick and tired of this kind faulty arguments. First, no system is full proof, and there will be those who will exploit every such system. Rapes and murders have not ceased in spite of having Criminal Code and severe punishment. Shall we then abolish all laws, because, hey, someone is taking advantage of it.
Quite a lame and generic argument. And dude there is somehing called a system with some faults and a faulty system, period.

As with poor brahmins. As per 1991 census, there were 1382.23 Lakh SCs, comprising of a whopping 16.48 % of total population and 677.58 Lakh STs, comprising of 8.08 % of total population. In other words, a quarter of out entire population belongs to the group that would not like to touch us. And I must loose sleep over what a minuscule population perceives as discrimination against them.

No buddy, I am not laughing. I am too disappointed to even smile.
lolwut? You make no sense at all.
Another uninformed comment.
er? How? Care to elaborate? Or that you have no argument? :wink:

REVENGE is too strong a word. But you are entitled to your opinion. And yes you can laugh at my bitterness. Being ignorant about social issues, has its benefits.

Hey Psst...if I hadn't been an atheist, I would have probably introduced myself as what you call a brahmin.
I don't give a damn about your caste, creed, religion, region, or language. But I give damn to the hatred you exhibit by saying - "they must repay"