** Post all your BSNL Broadband Related Queries Here **

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by drgrudge, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    In the district level there is an internet division. You need to speak with them and ask them to set your profile to 10 Mbps.

    Before that you need to see your modem's statistics page and find if your modem can attain that speed first. When you open modem settings in your browser, you will see current speed and maximum attainable speed.
     
  2. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    My modem is TP Link TD-W8968 v4

    As per 192.168.1.1

    [​IMG]
    See this it's attainable rate of 10 mbps
    Imgur
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  3. dilipcybex

    dilipcybex Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Are you it is nothing related to your end ? If you are confident about it, talking to exchange is the best bet. Normally, it is the port speed that plays villain in such cases.
     
  4. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    He reset profile but no change yet.
     
  5. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,913
    Likes Received:
    732
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    If he reset profile then rate in modem line status(currently ~2mbps in your pic) should also change & become much closer to attainable rate of ~10mbps.Have you restarted the modem?
     
  6. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    Yes I restarted it, will talk to JTO again tomorrow for the double conformation of profile reset. Does it takes a lot of time to reset the profile?
     
  7. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,913
    Likes Received:
    732
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    No idea as never asked for it.It should not take more than 1-2 days though(assuming it involves resetting speed limit at some other place too like some kind of double confirmation/setting etc one at local exchange & another at some regional centre).
     
  8. dilipcybex

    dilipcybex Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What are the allowed attenuation rates ? Yours look higher.

    Try using a different modem to test.
     
  9. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    I did changed to DLink modem and speed is same. I talked to SDO and he said he will tell me confirmation of profile reset by 4pm.
     
    dilipcybex likes this.
  10. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    As long as the attainable rate is significantly higher than 10 Mbps, he should be able to get 10 Mbps. It might just be an error in the exchange settings.
     
  11. dilipcybex

    dilipcybex Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It looks like someone messed up something at the exchange. Maybe, some senior guy was teaching a junior person.
     
  12. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    They said there is no change everything is as it is.
    I called 4pm and then 4:30pm nobody picked up the call. Still getting 1.7 mbps.
     
  13. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    I talked to JTO and he said he already reset your profile on 15th May.
     
  14. REY619

    REY619 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Winterfell
    If problem still persists, push them to change the port. 99% of time the problem lies in the port.
     
  15. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    Line is perfect, in fact they changed my line again with copper wire for this case. Getting 20 SNR, 60ms ping. The problem seems to be some error due to which my speed was 2 mbps from the day 1 of FUP of 10GB and after the FUP over the speed remains the same 2 mbps. This means the network thought my speed was 2 mbps for first 10 GB and then providing 2 mbps for rest of the days.

    Update: I talked to JTO he said he will reset my profile again to 10 mbps by sending some email to bangalore for this. Might get resolved till the evening.
    (Fingers crossed)
     
  16. dilipcybex

    dilipcybex Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Unless it is a line issue, there is nothing you can do. Exchange people need to figure it out and fix it for you.
     
  17. Dr. House

    Dr. House No Regrets

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    They say 2 mbps is sufficient speed, 675 ULD is suppose to give you 2 mbps only. What's the problem? They don't even know about happy browsing plan.
     
  18. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,614
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    Switch to a local fiber broadband provider.
     
    Allu Azad and dilipcybex like this.
  19. dilipcybex

    dilipcybex Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8

    That's what I am trying to say. Your best chance is to convince the BSNL staff. There is nothing you can do in this.
     
  20. sling-shot

    sling-shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wanderlust
    They are lying. 10 Mbps / 8 Mbps was made standard across all plans above 675 long back. In the first 3 months it was common for all plans. Later they made it Happy Browsing plan. Something seems off here.

    Can you go to the exchange in person?

     

Share This Page