Camera talk...

mastervk

I have one ILU shaped too :D .not too good..

Today I bought Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 .....although its in Kolkata and will get it when I get back to India.

sorry for the crappy pic taken by friend using micromax mobile :p

congrats Sujoy..Very gud new year gift for yourself...have fun with this excellent lens..will you use hoya filter on it and reduce the IQ :p

Thanks Mastervk ...Actually I have no experince with any filter yet...will see how it performs with and without that filter...I think its 67mm filter soo wont fit any other lens...wish he had given a CPL ;) ...will have to buy :p

mastervk

is it UV filter ? i have set of hoya uv,cpl and nd but don't use them...

i didn't noticed any deterioration in IQ with uv filter ....

yes its UV filter...i will test it myself then decide on usage....people say uv filter is just unneccesary

Rockstar11

I have one ILU shaped too :D .not too good..

*lh3.googleusercontent.com/-cFt1cn-uW1E/TzTuKc81CbI/AAAAAAAAHF0/EPWMBHUkWO4/s400/DSC_2772.JPG

Today I bought Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 .....although its in Kolkata and will get it when I get back to India.

*fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/397604_10151233260681925_1057419913_n.jpg

sorry for the crappy pic taken by friend using micromax mobile :p

congrats! :D

nac

nac

Done conditioning the batteries... Finally, it took about 6 hours to recharge... (I think I discharged all the way down to 0%) supposed to be little above 4 hrs. And now it shows 94%, it's better than before.

Sony India launches RX1 for 1.8 Lakh along with six other cameras.
*www.thinkdigit.com/Digital-Cameras/Sony-India-launches-six-cameras-at-CEIF_12937.html

RX1 have the disadvantage of fixed lens...or else it would be great...just like people buy leica or fuji X series :)

Other all of them seems overpriced for now

yaah untill now people used to carry a 4k$ Leica M9 now they can move to a cheaper Sony RX1 :D nothing for us

Which 85mm Nikkor lens is a good compromise between price and performance for portraits ?

AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G INR 123,450
AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.4D IF INR 69,450
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G INR 31,950
AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D INR 25,450

Pics of the 498RC4 ballhead. Must have if you are shooting outdoor and need that extra stabilized image at low light.

*farm9.staticflickr.com/8355/8349822064_2734938492_z.jpg

*farm9.staticflickr.com/8493/8349806422_38638966c1_z.jpg

*farm9.staticflickr.com/8336/8348751021_52c0244392_z.jpg

@faun can you post pic of your setup and a closeup of ballhead
whats the total cost of both the items?
~Rs. 8000+ ~Rs. 6500 = Rs. 14500

sell ur setup to me at 20% less and upgrade to a carbon fiber manfrotto or gitzo :D ....open offer ;)

Gitzo is too costly. I tried a photoshoot outdoor at dusk and manfrotto worked quite well under the low light condition.

@faun give me sometime for 85mm ...I can say 85mm 1.4 is called bokeh machine but dont know perfectly which one of these two

85mm1.8 can produce nice pics too...and great bokeh...but 85mm1.4 is one of nikons gem

Nice shots of tripod head...will get sometime when start landscape shooting :)

mastervk

@Faun
do you have full frame camera or crop sensor? 85 mm is good focal length for portraits using FF but for crop sensor it might not be that good ..for crop 35 mm might be better though it all depends of what kind of portraits you want to shoot ...

mastervk ...50mm on crop is 85mm on ff and similarly 85mm on crop is around 135mm on FF ...both 85 and 135mm are popular focal length for headshots :D

@faun u can get any of 85mm1.4 both are superb :)

Yeah, 1.4D looks good. Only if I could arrange 1lac for 1.4.

135 is said to be bokeh king with defocus control.

@mastervk
I already have 50mm 1.8G. Looking for another one.

dont u have someone in USA...keh have awesome deals...the 135mm with defocus control is costing around 50k
and 85mm 1.4 D is costing around 40k the 85mm1.4G AFS cost 70-80k :)

mastervk

Unless you are specialist is bokeh of 1.4 worth the extra money compared to 1.8 ?Though it all depends on budget i think 1.8 is very capable portrait lens.You can use rest of the money to get excellent zoom or ultrawide ....

@ Faun
So have you moved from earphones/headphones to photography ....expect some nice pics from your lens collection ....

dont u have someone in USA...keh have awesome deals...the 135mm with defocus control is costing around 50k
and 85mm 1.4 D is costing around 40k the 85mm1.4G AFS cost 70-80k :)

No one is US but have relative in UK.

Unless you are specialist is bokeh of 1.4 worth the extra money compared to 1.8 ?Though it all depends on budget i think 1.8 is very capable portrait lens.You can use rest of the money to get excellent zoom or ultrawide ....

@ Faun
So have you moved from earphones/headphones to photography ....expect some nice pics from your lens collection ....

Yeah, sort of moved from earphones/headphones. Satisfied with current setup.

I am concentrating more on portraits. Zoom and ultrawide may be later.

How about a Nikon 85mm1.8D + a Nikon 70-200 2.8 VRII :D Its just a killer combo ....man save for this ....85mm1.4 is really for Pro guys who can find needle in hay...85mm 1.8D is very capable...
A guy was selling in other forum for 15k (now sold) and he posted these pics

*farm9.staticflickr.com/8040/7991901911_e320877a06_z.jpg
*farm6.staticflickr.com/5112/7091050839_00f50b8a8f.jpg

WTS: Nikon 85mm f1.8D *Added pictures of lens*

I got one good bid link on ebay. Roughly 75-76k. Otherwise I will always have the itch of trying 85 1.4G.

Lets see if bid goes ok.

Btw above shots are pretty good.