1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

working of 8 Mbps broadband ???

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by piyush.ml20, Sep 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the max speed possible for ADSL on regular telephone line is 6.1 Mbps.
    then how various ISP's are providing speed of 8 mbps or above on that regular telephone line ???
    hlp ??
     
  2. sujoyp

    sujoyp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,990
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Orangecity/Mumbai
    man i got download speed of 8Mbps in mumbai...hathway gave lan cable
     
  3. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess ADSL can go upto 12Mbps on g.dmt, or maybe its ADSL2+.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    INFRA DUDE.
    ADSL = 8MBPS
    ADSL2=12MBPS
    ADSL2+=24MBPS
    WHAT I WANT 2 KNOW IS WHAT IS THE MAX SPEED WE CAN GET FROM OUR REGULAR TELEPHONE LINE ??
    LIKE SUJOYP MENTIONED 8 MBPS IS PROVIDED THRU LAN CABLE BY HATHWAY NOT REGULAR TELEPHONE LINE.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    INFRA DUDE.
    ADSL = 8MBPS
    ADSL2=12MBPS
    ADSL2+=24MBPS
    WHAT I WANT 2 KNOW IS WHAT IS THE MAX SPEED WE CAN GET FROM OUR REGULAR TELEPHONE LINE ??
    LIKE SUJOYP MENTIONED 8 MBPS IS PROVIDED THRU LAN CABLE BY HATHWAY NOT REGULAR TELEPHONE LINE.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  5. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry the 12 was a typo. It was supposed to be for adsl2+.

    Cisco's site says that adsl can deliver 8mbps over g.mdt on regular copper telephone lines http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk175/tk272/tsd_technology_support_protocol_home.html
     
  6. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    8 mbp is theoratical.practically u don't get over 6.1 mbps.
     
  7. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fail to get your point. Nobody advertises practical speeds.
     
  8. jal_desai

    jal_desai New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ yes. adding to what infra said, they display speeds in Bits and not Bytes which numerically makes a bigger number.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got my ans.
    speed over 6.1 mbps is provided thru either using multiple pair of copper wire or using lan cable as sujoyp mentioned.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2009
  10. clmlbx

    clmlbx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indore
    have'nt u gave ur answer urself (post no 4) they are prividing adsl2+ so their speed limit is 24 mbps & not 8 Mbps . All modems provided by Isp clearly says ADSL2+ on it .
     
  11. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes but i don't know it is using multiple copper pair lines at that time.
     
  12. Padikkal

    Padikkal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kannur, Kerala
    Practically not possible to give 6mbps at a distance of >5 km.

    The 6 mbps and higher speed will be provided through fiber only. BSNL has laid fibers in all cities to provide Fiber to Home. It may start in near future.
     
  13. naveen_reloaded

    naveen_reloaded !! RecuZant By Birth !!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In Everyone`s Heart
    why is this thread sitll in news section ?
    where are the mods ?
     
  14. paroh

    paroh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If we consider it practically ADSL2+ is right now it is not possible in india on current phone line condition (MTNL and BSNL).

    They says they provide ADSL2+ technology but as ADSL2+ supports higher bandwidth if even they increase the bandwidth we will encounter frequent disconnection as the phone line condition is not good.

    Now a days i see that they are new even able to provide 256kbps connection as per trai rule.

    As they are only increasing the services and degrading the quality.
    They even started the 3G but all of u know that it is very costly.
    And now even they increase the price of iptv

    And more disappointment for Online game player as there is very high ping rate
    i just check the ping rate at http://just-ping.com www.yahoo.com) and india is the last of all.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    padikkal near is too long here.
    paroh is absolutely right.chk the ping rate,we are at the end of list.
     
  16. vaithy

    vaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    It is possible ADSL2+ can be provided for 24mbps speed,but only few can get this speed, and other users discriminated for various reasons, bad cable pair ,distance of the exchange, etc..I am at home plan 500 of BSNL dataone.. my usual speed is 218kB/ps.. but a month ago I noticed at 7.30a.m (during the free hours the speed got increased monstrously..I took screen-shot of it.. You wouldn't believe wht lI got sudden boost..

    see the pictures here
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    I stop the connection at 07.59 a.m.. but I never got the same speed afterwards...the cable is very old and several patches made by the line man, and my request for new cable is pending with the exchange for year..:?
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2009
  17. Termin@L

    Termin@L New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    max speed a telephone line (RJ11) can handle is 10mbps and for the lan wire (CAT 6) is 1 gbps ((IDEAL)).
    If u connect a lan wire to an adsl2+ router u will surely get a speed of abt 24 mbps.
    but no isp in india does tht (except for some glitches)
    so speed of 8mbps for a telephole line is possible.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i never got speed more than 165 KBps.
     
  19. vaibhav_jain

    vaibhav_jain GOD

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    hi i am from delhi previously my download speed is 320Kbps approx. but now mtnl only gives me the speed of 30Kbps approx. and my plan is 256 combo unlimited.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    piyush.ml20

    piyush.ml20 The assaulter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check it might be in KB/s instead of Kbps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page