Upgrade PC for video editing

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Toocool, Jul 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Toocool

    Toocool New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangalore, India
    Well, here is my current configuration

    AMD 64 X2 5200+
    Graphics card is built in
    2 GIG ram
    500 GB 7200 RPM HDD with 16 MB buffer

    Encoding videos takes way too long.. Willing to spend about 10k, need better performance (faster encoding)

    Thanks in advance..
     
  2. mahesh

    mahesh naughty boy :) :)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which mobo u have? check whether that supports phenom 2 940. if so go for it and also add 2gb of ram. Also u need to add one dedicated gpu.
     
  3. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    As maheshr said, what other members can suggest depends a lot on whether your budget has to include the cost of the motherboard.

    Tell us your mobo model number first, and then we can make appropriate suggestions.
     
  4. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    video editing means a need for a better GPU
    a better GPU means a better processor
    a better processor means a better PSU

    :)
     
  5. myhotdog

    myhotdog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    patila
    and a better psu means a long life :p
     
  6. raj_v1982

    raj_v1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and better motherboad for better foundation for gpu, processor
    and better ram also :D
     
  7. Cilus

    Cilus laborare est orare

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    You did not mention your budget.

    For video editing you need to run multithreaded application. So multicore processor will be good for you. Go for AMD Phenom II 920 or 940. For cheaper alternative, also look for the olde Phenom 9950BE processors.

    You don't need a very high performance graphics card for Video editing. A decent Graphics card with fast memory (mainly GDDR3) will be fine. Don't be fooled by the 1 GB DDR2 versions of the graphics card. Here my choice is Palit 9800GT 512 MB @ 6.1k. Nvidia Graphics card supports CUDA technology which offloads the CPU work into GPU and most of the Editing softwares like Adobe, TMPGENC, Cybelink PowerToGo and many others support CUDA (ATI is also having ATI stream in their cards, but they are not widely supported yet). For cheaper alternative, go for Palit 9600GT 512MB GDDR3 @ 4.8k.
    For AMD cards, go for PowerColour HD4850 512MB GDDR3 @ 6.6k.

    FOr RAM increase your RAM by 2 GB. It will cost you around 1k. But before buying, please check the speed of your existing Ram and buy RAN of exactly same frequency. It will enable dual channel config in your ram and theoritically it will double the data transferred rate of your ram.

    If you are buying 4850 or 9800GT ,you will be required a good PSU. FOr cheaper price go for Powersafe 500W Silver @ 1.8k.
     
  8. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Actually, he did.
    But he did not mention his motherboard, nor did he respond to any replies asking for more details. With such a tight budget, it was not possible to make sensible suggestions without knowing if he will have to replace the mobo too.

    We occasionally have people asking questions but do not acknowledge or reply to requests for more details. Maybe the OP does not have regular access to the internet or he's gone out of station, but he's been silent for more than 3 full days now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page