Ubuntu Installation

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by alltime.homie, Sep 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alltime.homie

    alltime.homie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, somewhere here or ther... :P
    I need instructions to install Ubuntu 5.10 from the Digit CD. Can someone please help me ? I tried locating the ISO file for burning to a CD but could locate none after extraction. If someone could please give me step by step instructions for it, I would be grateful. Thank you very much.
     
  2. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    first of all well to the linux world!:p
    well to need to burn the iso on the cd. check here
    also this is install guide or if u want a dual boot with windows xp check here.
    this is a older version of os. that latest is 6.06. i suggest u to go for it.if u don't have it.request it here u will get a drapper drake 6.06 cd free with in a month of order. anymore questions post here

    regards,
    gary
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alltime.homie - What did you extract? Dont extract the ISO via WinRAR. Just enter your CD-Burning software, find an option to "Burn image to disc" and when itasks for the image file, choose this .ISO file in it. Now burn.

    Next, after burning, put the CD back into the tray and do a restart of your computer. The CD should show a boot-up menu now, just choose install and go ahead with partitioning and selecting packages and you're done in another 25 minutes of install.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    alltime.homie

    alltime.homie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, somewhere here or ther... :P
    Thanks a lot. I tried from my CD and I realized that I was extracting the iso files... :D Well, I know what to do now. Thanks a lot. And I think I'll wait before I get the new version. I have only 64kbps now and god knows how long that'll take to download. Thanks !
     
  5. OP
    OP
    alltime.homie

    alltime.homie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, somewhere here or ther... :P
    Tried installing Ubuntu 5.10 on my PC> the entire installation went smooth and after it tried to access linux, just said that the X windows system - Graphical User Interface failed to load.
    Tried to intall Kubuntu 5.10 and after installation, does not go into GUI. Just asks me Ubuntu login, and Ubuntu password, and I'm not even able to enter the password in the DOS screen. Tried formatting the entire HDD.

    I have 2 HDD's - 40gb and 80gb. I dedicated 40gb to install linux. Now when I format the 40gb, it says the GRUB boot loader failed, and I'm not able to boot even XP. Can someone please tell me how to get rid of this problem as well as the problem mentioned above ?
     
  6. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jus type d username .enter. Passwd. Enter. Then type startx
     
  7. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    first of all list ur hardware sepc,also ur partion setup.
    i think the when u formated ur 40 gb hdd.u erased ur MBR.now for start xp atleast:
    boot through windows xp cd>go to recorvery console>u will get a dos prompt>type "fix mbr">restart computer>done:)

    please list ur hardware & and partion setup then will see why x-server failed to start.now u have to edit the config file which is the nightmare of every newbie.but don't panic can do it!.see this . if u have a gfx card try remove it & then install.

    reagards,
    gary
     
  8. OP
    OP
    alltime.homie

    alltime.homie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, somewhere here or ther... :P
    Ok. I should have mentioned my spec. earlier. I have a P4 2.6 Ghz, 768 MB RAM, D101Ggc chipset with integrated flexible Radeon Xpress 200 graphics card. 80 GB Seagate Barracuda, 40GB Seagate HDD. SONY DVD writer as well, if that was needed. Someone please temme how to do this, I'm desperate !!!
     
  9. mihirvashist

    mihirvashist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this cmd is ok ...
    but if it gives u a warning that ur partition tables might be deleted coz the mbr is unidentified then don't do it...
    it happened with me...
    i didn't notice the warning only to realize that i should have used fixboot cmd...
    however after that i had to do a fresh installation of XP losing all my data ..that's why i'm telling you...
    look for warning...if no warning go ahead...else go for fixboot cmd....
     
  10. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
  11. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    so i always say backup ur data regularly:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page