1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Post your Speedtest results

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by ithehappy, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Hathway Plans in Hyderabad-2018:
    [​IMG]
    Modems provided by Hathway:
    [​IMG]
    Speedtest results to US servers:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Local Speedtest result:
    [​IMG]
    In Wifi Mode...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2018
  2. kg11sgbg

    kg11sgbg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,741
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India / Kolkata
    From Today the advertisement section of Alliance has updated the Plans as per old charges/cost :--->
    New Tariff Plans for KOL

    Sunil just have a look.
     
    dissel likes this.
  3. kg11sgbg

    kg11sgbg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,741
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India / Kolkata
    As per UNLIMITED Plan for Kolkata Circle only. 15th April-2018 onwards....

    I am under the PRIME+ Plan :bananana::chillpill::doublethumb::grin:
     
  4. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Hathway 50MBPS unlimited is trash
    After 20GB the speed gets limited to 2 MBPS.
    There is no unlimited plans by Hathway.
    They are just cheating customers.
    Its not like Excitel which offers pure downloads with out FUP.
    Have a look at this speedtest result taken just now:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Contact your local hathway person who handled paper work of installation,usual practice of hathway is that by default they don't provide usual high speeds post FUP unless you ask for it.My friend in NCR used to call local hathway person to get 500gb data twice a month after FUP.Check in your hathway account page to confirm that they have "credited extra data" post FUP.
     
  6. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Have a look at my account once.

    Never have I experienced such down time or FUP limit while using Excitel Broadband even it was running 24x365 continuously.

    When I called the Hathway CC they are saying it's a binding issue which means since the modem is running for the past 24hours it's speed got reduced.

    They are just giving stupid excuses.[​IMG]

    Sent from my Smartron SRT KT5524 using Tapatalk
     
  7. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Strange,may be they changed things because my friend told me he got "FUP speed of 2mbps" clearly mentioned in plan details.Try rebooting the modem or turning it on after 1-2 minutes to see if it gets your speeds back.

    edit:that account page seems to be from app or is it their website(maybe website on desktop/laptop gives more details/options).
     
  8. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    No, its the same plan on normal website also.
    Now they have again bumped the speed to 50MBPS again.
    These guys are throttling the speeds.

    But EXCITEL never did such a thing and their service was also very prompt.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Though it is showing 50Mbps speed in speedtest, its actually downloading at 2Mbps only.
    Why such scam techniques employed by Hathway?
    Aren't they actually cheating customers and there by losing customer base.
     
  10. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    13,110
    Likes Received:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Just now I spoke with Hathway CC and they are saying "As per TRAI rules, 20GB per day is given on 50Mbps plan and the speed gets reduced to 2Mbps later on.
    Before they were giving me the new connection never they revealed me these FUP limits.
    This is plain cheating.
     
  11. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9,510
    Likes Received:
    626
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    TRAI has never set FUP limits or policies. It only has defined minimum speeds for an internet connection to be categorised as Broadband. Anti-consumer FUP policies exist because of Chortel.
     
    TheSloth likes this.
  12. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Looks like all area didn't get the same speed yet - I'm still under old speed :-x:x
    Great news for Alliance BB user.

    [​IMG]
     
    kg11sgbg likes this.
  13. Nerevarine

    Nerevarine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,155
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Wow TIL
     
  14. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu El Directo!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,017
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Hathway is expensive.
     
  15. kg11sgbg

    kg11sgbg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,741
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India / Kolkata
    But @dissel ,brother are you under Kolkata jurisdiction of ALLIANCE BB?
    Or are you under the jurisdiction of Rest of Bengal?
    Area differs,Plans also differs.
     
  16. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I'm under Kolkata Plan PRIME+ , Actual location is Barrackpore.
    Now it is 54.83 Mbps no where near promised 80Mbps plan.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    ^^Make sure to check using lan & not wifi.Also speeds above 50mbps require proper infrastructure(aka cable quality,switches etc) so 80mbps speeds may not be technically possible in all areas under coverage.
     
    dissel and kg11sgbg like this.
  18. kg11sgbg

    kg11sgbg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,741
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India / Kolkata
    I second that.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    ithehappy

    ithehappy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,700
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Calcutta
    This speedtest website speed checking is pretty meaningless really. I am on the Alliance's Starter plan and speedtest website always shows like 50 mbps and upload of 9 mbps, but in reality that 50 mbps is only really utilised for downloading recently released torrents, Google services and so on. Norman surfing even on Indian websites doesn't give anywhere near that speed, still feels like my old BSNL 2 mbps speed. Really would like to go back to slow 8/10 mbps, where the speed is actually THAT.
     
    dissel likes this.
  20. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Thanks for the reply, I wanted to ask for a long time but keep forgetting, Lan Cable provided for the connection which only presents 4 wire (Orange, Orange-White, Green & Green-White) Is this normal? This cable is exceptionally thin comparing any Lan Cable and only got 4 wires

    Picture of the same below

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page