Perpetual power trouble!!!

minotaur

Broken In
I live in an area with chronic power problems. Outages and voltage fluctuations are common and I have lost two computers (blown capacitors, fried processors) to the surges and brownouts. I used an APC UPS (ES 500) on my last pc and it died before the pc (ACP guy says it needs a new PCB) I have a central voltage stabilizer which protects the household appliances and a Microtek inverter for power backup. I now have a Microtek UPS (600 watt) and a surge protector. In spite of this my computer suffers power failures. I have a Cooler Master Elite 330 Case and the PSU is the stock CM 400 watt power supply. How can I protect my computer? Sorcerer, Faun, Ico Ishu, Cilus please suggest.

abirthedevil

In the zone
and there i was thinking i had the worst power situation possible guess yours bests mine

good PSU's have lots of protection measures for such situations and if your psu is survived all that and let your components take the fall id look at the PSU

anyway the components you mention in your sig, is the CM400 good enough to begin with? CM xtreme power psu's have an xtremely crappy reputation

Last edited:
OP
M

minotaur

Broken In
What shall I replace the CM 400 with? Will a different PSU be enough to protect the PC? I was under the impression that it was primarily the job of the UPS to regulate power to the PC and protect the components.

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
well, if you are talking about the computer configuration mentioned in your first post, running it on a CM 400w PSU is a disaster.

I was under the impression that it was primarily the job of the UPS to regulate power to the PC and protect the components.
But the thing is, this PSU will actually take more power from the UPS than required as it isn't efficient at all.

Last edited:
OP
M

minotaur

Broken In
Sorry was away for the holidays...

@ ico....