"NEED SOME HELP" Phenom 2 940 - TEMP on wild

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by damngoodman999, Jun 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Guyz , i recently bought Phenom 2 940 on stock speed & stock cooler the temp i really get

    IDLE CPU temp - 50
    LOAD CPU temp - 65-70

    Core temp is 70 & above on Load using PRIME 95

    My cabinet temp shows only 32c , i dont what to do i just chaged thermal paste 3Thrice i put INTEL thermal grease -which comes with the intel mobo replacement , i tried all settings even disabling C&Q , nothing works

    I update the BIOS to F3a My motherboard is in the Signature , dont know what to

    Everything i added PICTURE which shows temp & information .

    :neutral:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    NEED HELP :-| ????
     
  2. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I see everything here including the hard drive as pretty warm than preferable depending on the ambience you have where you live. Let's start off with the basics:
    # Which case and which fans?
    # Have you done cable management?
    # Room temps of where you live at?
    # Why did you change the thermal paste?
    The stock heatsink has good enough thermal paste as far as stock is concerned.

    # What are the temps shown in bios?
    I have seen certain people from other forums complaining about these temps but the difference between bios temps and once reported here are way different- about 10 degrees lesser in BIOS.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    For u questions

    The Sorcerer
    # i posted my picture of my case , i added 1 X120mm fan 4 X90mm fan
    # picture shows my cable management
    # Room temp 27c-31c
    # the HSF is hard to firt with this mobo the thermal paste were rubbed by my hand , so i added new thermal paste
    # BIOS temp 51c for CPU

    My Bios & CPU temp is equal , what about the Core temp ?? why is it equal to CPU ??

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. otpsurvive

    otpsurvive New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @damngoodman999

    The temperature is detected by a separate chip on the motherboard. There are chances of you getting false/inaccurate readings. I, for example, get a reading of 72C for my IGP on the my Zotac 8300 board and the voltages on the 12V rail is showing 8.7V which I know for sure is definitely wrong as it is a new board and got it exchanged for this same reason and the problem still persists even on the new board. I figured the problem is with the sensor chip (WinBond in my case).
    So you don’t have to worry too much as long as there’s no performance hit or any other things going wrong. As the saying goes – “ If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.
    Happy computing! :)
     
  5. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    When you said the thermal paste was rubbed off you hand, did you clean it using isopropyl alcohol and made sure the hsf is fitted properly? Not doing so might destroy the thermal properties and maybe even electrically conductive.

    Its clearly not the processor issue since everything seem to be warmer than the preferred temps- especially with that room temperature. Get rid of the rear exhaust. Make sure your front and rear fans are atleast 120mm with 50 cfm. Sometimes depending on the layout of the system even extra fans can damage/have no effect/ support air cooling.
    IMO, you should wait for newer bios updates.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Before updating the BIOS the temperature is normal not low but around 45 idle , but many game crashed in the OLD bios ??

    after updating the bios the games run smoothly ???
     
  7. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    u can try touching the heatsink and heatpipes with ur hand at full load. Be careful not to touch the mobo circuits or ram chips. It perfectly safe if u touch the heatsink or heatpipes alone.
    See if its too hot.

    once my old cpu showed 80c, which i didnt believe. ive touched the heatsink, and it was pretty hot to touch.
     
  8. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Pretty wrong way to judge the heat this way. Heatspreaders and heatsinks are meant to dissipate heat from the source- the chipset in this case. So its obvious that it will be hot. Judging chipset's heatsink by touching the heatsink wont give anyone a clear idea- even remote from an approximate idea.
     
  9. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    When my CPu runs at 40~45c, the heatsink feels kinda cold, while it seems hot on 70c.
    So in any case, the heatsink wont get hotter than the CPU at anytime. And the heatsink temps will be pretty close to actual CPu temps, as the heatsinks absorb the heat quickly.

    And if the Heatsink remains HOT, then heat wont flow from CPU from heatsink further, and works the other way around. Heat always flow from higher to lower bodies.
    Ive read bout this kind of heat perception by touching in more than one places, and works pretty well too.

    To check the extend of the truth, u can try urself if u have a digital heat sensor. Just touch the sensor for a few seconds on the heatsink tightly, and the temp raedings wont be much different from the actual CPU temps. Maximum difference of 2~3c.
     
  10. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    @damngoodman99, make sure that you connected the fans in right direction. Side fan: blow air inside. rear fan: blow air outside.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    @ dOm1naTOr

    I touched my hest sink pipes and aluminum @ load it is not at all heat it is weird my cabinet temp is 30c only but CPU temp is 50 how ??

    @ desiibond

    i kept so much fan in the cabinet there are 7 fans !! did u see my cabinet picture what to do with fans airflow is good


    @ The Sorcerer

    AMD recommends not clean the processor head with any wet clothes , acetone , isopropyl etc - they made a video on you tube just saw that only told to clean it with wipes & cotton !!

    i saw in some forums all the GIGABYTE & ASUS mobo of phenom 2 940 are experiencing the same problem so what to do !!

    Biostar, MSI , DFI products are showing exact temp of 940 CPU
     
  12. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Since its running cool, go on with it.
    Once theyll launch new BIOS which will fix the issue.
    Is not resolved in nxt 2 months, mail the gigabyte address found on website and ask what to do. Theyll agree to replace the mobo, and go to ur dealer and say this.
    htey ll sent it for RMA.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    RMA for what ?? heating issues then which mobo they change and give
     
  14. amitash

    amitash Intel OCer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^run the cpu at 100% load on prime95, fget about temps...if its stable for atleast 4-5hrs, then the bios is giving you wrong raedings...wait for a new bios.
     
  15. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    link please!! Pretty interested :D. And is the video on amd's website. I dont why would they use youtube to put the video? Even they know mixing 2 different type of thermal and/or mixing used with new might cause some effects on thermal efficiency.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore

    I just Ran the PRIME 95 for 5hrs , the final temp @ 100 full load is 62-64

    Then immediately i played CRYSIS WARHEAD the CPU works fast !!


    The system is stable - is that enough i dont need to worry about the temp ????:?:
     
  17. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Bingo.
    its safer than home.:p

    You can look for some temperature sensing module with temperature display and some fan controllers/card readers etc on a CD ROM bay or floppy drive bay, from lynx or mediahome.

    And attach the sensor on heatsink, as much close to the processor, but on heatsink.
    Such bay costs bout 600~1200/-
     
  18. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    ya thanks Domi !!

    i look forward !!
     
  19. amitash

    amitash Intel OCer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    It looks stable...I think you can use it quite easily without worying about temps
     
  20. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Thanks to u amitash !!!

    How about SUNBEAM core contact freezer ??? is is better than Cooler master Hyper212 ??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page