Movies Discussion Thread V1: Ratings and Opinions

Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb 9/10

Its an awesome movie, a serious issue is depicted in a very light mode. Has good message and very good acting by artists.
This is a timeless movie. In any time, any age it just fits well.
Kudos to the director.

1920 (Hindi) 7.8/10
Our horror movies have come to an age now. I saw this film today. Till 1.5 hrs I was thinking of an above 8 rating for it. It has suspense and there is no such moment u can guess what is going to be next.
It has all those good characteristics to be called a good horror masterpiece(at least Indian origin).
After 1.5 hrs when the move went to flashback mode it dragged a little, too much details in flashback destroyed the eerie environment that it had set earlier.

+Story(very neat), directing(superb), suspense, heroine is good at her job
-Songs(sigh), a bit lengthy, average acting by hero, glimpse of "Half Light"(tilted cross part), a few scenes from "Exorcist the beginning"

T159, u r an expert in horror genre, please provide ur comment on this.
Others, watch this movie; the try is appreciative.

^^1920 is good till that crap ending.
Infact its one of the best Indian horror movies, acting was well done by both leads. And yes it avoids some cliches in between but falls to the same at the end.

Rab ne Bana dee jodi
pathetic movie....both srk and anushka[or whoever] roles are dumb... wat da h*ll was goin on in the movie...he in disguise makes affair with his own wife, and finally asks to come with him...and wat wud a real girl do if she get to know that the one whom she loves is actually her own husband in disguise and she even planed to escape with him....

and everybody except her knew it was him, even the sardar at workshop...
and mainly how cum one have such changes....he was really a dumb fella, and in disguise hes started to act like a freak....how come he even know the charecter of a freak and act likewise, and even speak bold to her...he was even shivering to talk to her in his self form....
i expected much better from aditya chopra, who once was a gr8 director...evenif the theme of story was ok, it cudve been much much better...
its nowhere near ddlj and mohabatein...is he nuts these days? hes lost his creativity. im utterly disappointed.:(

only entertainment was anushka:D

Transporter 3

6/10

Average story, decent action and nice acting.

Nothing revolutionary but worth a watch.

Me going to watch Mirrors now :).

Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi 6/10

First of all the movie could've been 30 mins shorter or 30mins longer more. Because somethings are not explained, so, either those scenes have to be deleted or those scenes have to be explained.

Shahrukh: Some typical shahrukh expressions are to be noticed, which none can redo but him.
Anushka: Not stunning beauty but very modest and descent beauty. Her eyes are very deep and lively. I think this might be the only reason she is casted for this role. AND LIPs and smile...main to...kaya bolu:rolleyes:
Adi Chopra:This is YASH RAJ films, and for ages u guys have taken so many challenging themes(Silsila, KabhieKabhie,Darr,Chandni etc.) u don't need to prove anything so stop making crap films with superhit stars, that makes good business not good films.

Story: Average but with more polishing could have been much better. Character clashes b/w Raj and Suri could have been given more screen time than fcuking songs.

This story can be considered an answer or apology for those who have thrashed "Kabhie Alvida Na Kahena", u guys will love it.
AND this movie will go good with college going people, those who r in love, just falling in love and preparing for it.

@dominator U've mentioned Mohabbatein...hmmm its on top of my list(I'm a shahrukh fanboy but appreciate good movies and good acting) I can understand ur pain.

He Was a Quiet Man - lol...satire on the evolution of human :p Previously it used to take less time for justice but now it's about years and years of hearings. World is a crazy place now :D

A Man Who Was Superman
- satire on common people's numbness :p I don't like superheroes movies but don't go by the literal meaning of title.

PS: Both movies are thought provoking and somewhat low on entertainment values. But still they are unavoidable by serious cinema lovers.

Rab ne Bana di Jodi su ked completely. Shahruh was good in his portray of surinder, but he went over the top with Raj.He tried tobring back the cool kuch kuch hota hai essense into the movie, which he has long overdone.

Bearing Raj was a pain in the ass.Anoushka was somewhat refreshing.Shewas bubbly and brounght freshness into the damp surroundings.
Vinay pathak was brilliant as usual, cant discount his role.

Butcant complain here.Its a typical SRK movie and I went to see this expecting it to be so.Just that its weird when you cant recognize your hubby coz he shaved his moustache.

tgpraveen

Simpsons rox
Rab ne Bana dee jodi
pathetic movie....both srk and anushka[or whoever] roles are dumb... wat da h*ll was goin on in the movie...he in disguise makes affair with his own wife, and finally asks to come with him...and wat wud a real girl do if she get to know that the one whom she loves is actually her own husband in disguise and she even planed to escape with him....

and everybody except her knew it was him, even the sardar at workshop...
and mainly how cum one have such changes....he was really a dumb fella, and in disguise hes started to act like a freak....how come he even know the charecter of a freak and act likewise, and even speak bold to her...he was even shivering to talk to her in his self form....
i expected much better from aditya chopra, who once was a gr8 director...evenif the theme of story was ok, it cudve been much much better...
its nowhere near ddlj and mohabatein...is he nuts these days? hes lost his creativity. im utterly disappointed.:(

only entertainment was anushka:D
DIDNT u get the memo telling u leave your brain at home while watching a bolywood film especiaaly srk one.

or atleast switch off the logic region.

DIDNT u get the memo telling u leave your brain at home while watching a bolywood film especiaaly srk one.

or atleast switch off the logic region.

+666

Not only SRK movies, even some Roshan movies like Dhoom 2, Krissh, etc.

Mirrors :- 8/10

Very good horror movie unlike the regular hero-fights-hero-wins.

He Was a Quiet Man - lol...satire on the evolution of human :p Previously it used to take less time for justice but now it's about years and years of hearings. World is a crazy place now :D

PS: Both movies are thought provoking and somewhat low on entertainment values. But still they are unavoidable by serious cinema lovers.
He was a Quiet Man actually had a very compelling storyline. I usually am not a big fan of slow movies but Cuthbert & Slater really pulled off commendable performances. One question though, was Vanessa really a figment of Bob's imagination? OR was she for real?

The whole movie is a puzzle to me. Was the all, shown to us , an imagination of Bob, has he rally killed those people or not? If not why Police is coming?
The movie blurred the line b/w real and imagination, took my mind to such a stage where I couldn't distinguish b/w things shown to me and things I'm getting from what is shown to me.

Clash of the Titans Nice movie worth a watch but is from 80's.
(I was like where is kratos while watching the flick:D)

to those who have watched "zack and mirri make a porno" doesn't mirri overwhelmingly look like jenna jameson ;-)

Tunnel Rats - Surprisingly good movie by Uwe Boll. Goes into one of my fav war movies :p Ending is awesome but dark.

Gives me a feeling of The Descent and Vietcong (those tunnels were the best part in the game).

One question though, was Vanessa really a figment of Bob's imagination? OR was she for real?
She was real !
The whole movie is a puzzle to me. Was the all, shown to us , an imagination of Bob, has he rally killed those people or not? If not why Police is coming?
The movie blurred the line b/w real and imagination, took my mind to such a stage where I couldn't distinguish b/w things shown to me and things I'm getting from what is shown to me.
***SPOILERS***
Maconel and Coleman are the same person. See if you rearrange the letters it can change to the other. Maconel is real but Coleman was his split personality.

The whole shooting sequence in the movie was imagination (notice the fairy tale type atmosphere in office and his sudden appraisal after that). Notice the dream where he is in wheelchair and Vanessa is perfectly normal. But even in his imagination too, he was not able to make everything happy (grim reality always strikes back). He couldn't make out Vanessa from Nancy (his imaginations too were not going the way he wanted). Talking with fish was too a indicative of his imagination (notice he was perfectly normal otherwise). Note too that he fired 6 bullets at Coleman but later he was unsure and said he fired 5 bullets (you don't actually remember everything perfectly in you imagination)

He actually decided to kill others but instead ended up killing himself. The diseased one was he himself.
***SPOILERS END***

It's not much twisted movie, something on the line of Fight Club.

Watch A Tale of Two Sisters (original Korean version)to see what is more twisted (arguably the best psychological horror I have ever seen) :p And yeah David Lynch movies are too a brainfcuk.

to those who have watched "zack and mirri make a porno" doesn't mirri overwhelmingly look like jenna jameson ;-)
I haven't watched this movie but Elizabeth Banks is charming in some way. First time I watched her in Slither :p

pr.itdude

tHe nEw gEEk......ITian
just watched........

rab ne bana di jodi...... 7.5/10 (typical sharukh type hindi romantic movie, a must watch 4 sharukh's fans <only>)...
sorry bhai...... 6.5/10 (a gud tym pass only, but the girl's attitude was really horny)...
dasvidaniya...... 8/10 (a gud malodramatic.....but really shows what we do before die...)
//

anniyan

Texan
Shoot 'em up - 8/10 - No logic but i enjoyed it a lottttt - must see for gun lovers !! :D
Walk the line - 7/10 - Nice romantic movie, real life depiction of Johnny Cash

Deleted member 26636

1) saving private ryan
2) enemy at the gates(both are WW II based, 1st shows american soldiers, 2nd is about a russian sniper)
3)a series of unfortunate events( Jim Carey in his finest)
4) district b13- average story, but the action scenes are cool.
5) dr. Seuss horton hears a who-one of the very best animated movies of all time.