IP address of Yahoo chat users

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sushantasarkar, Jun 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sushantasarkar

    sushantasarkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any way to find the ip address of the chat user with whom i m chatting using yahoo messanger?
     
  2. nithinks

    nithinks True Techie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    In yahoo there are some privacy issues according to which you cant access
    ip address of any user who are chatting with u........

    I think you can use PING tool to find ip address of any host.format will be something like...

    ping www.hostname.com
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^
    And what will he ping to get the IP he needs?
     
  4. Ishan

    Ishan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bharuch,Gujarat,India
    go to Ms dos and then write ping then keep space then then name....Well if i am wrong...Anyone or Vandit-->who told me abt this once, pls correct me.
     
  5. MegaD3th3K

    MegaD3th3K New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i used process explorer while chatting. saw a few IP's in the TCP/IP tab. can anyone tell me what those are.
     
  6. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Lol!
    Double LOL!

    Hehe.. That aint gonna work dudes! And you cannot get the IP of yahoo chat users. Though you can get the IP's of yahoo messenger buddies! ;)
     
  7. Official Techie

    Official Techie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in motherboard
    no pinging theyare used to check ur connection with a server only
     
  8. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best would be to start a server or something and trick them into viewing it, you might get the proxied IP then :)
     
  9. hermit

    hermit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sygatefirewall gives the address of the chat user with whom u r chatting .
     
  10. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sygate most probably gives the ip of the ym chat server. The chat conversation goest through the server. However I read somewhere that when we transfer files a client to client connection is established. Not sure though. But if that is the case, netstat should give the ip.

    And oh Kalpik. I said i am not sure. So no lols and rofls, OK. ::grin::
     
  11. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    for seeing thier ip address u need to send them a file of at least 1mb so u get direct connection with the person & not with server.now to cammand prompt and type
    Code:
    netstat -n
    from there u can get all ip connected to ur computer.try to close are connection and open only the sending file connection.for furthere queries reply back
     
  12. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yup.. right! No Lol's for you! :D
     
  13. Andyiz

    Andyiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Also load Enivronment , Webcam viewing may also help u to get the ip add using netstat,
    Correct me if i am wrong
     
  14. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Yahoooo puts me on ;)... As QM pointed them get them to open into a link or somewhat and get IP.. using netstat or sygate or any ipsniffing.. it will only get u the IP address of yahoo chat servers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page