installing linux!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ayush_chh

Ambassador of Buzz
hi frnds!

After a long time finally i am going to install Linux on my PC. so, i need help regarding this. i have never used linux before so i don't know nothing. :confused:Consider me a noob and pls tell me step by step process for installing linux.

what i have and what i want

1) a PC with 3 HDD (40 GB, 40 GB, 200 GB) unpartitioned. i have win XP installed and don't want to remove it.

2) i know there is some File system problem so, i won't be able to see my XP partition from Linux and vice versa. But i have heard that there is some
File system which can be used in both XP and Linux

3) i have Red Hat Linux (3 CD)......don't know very well what it is...:(:(

thanks for your HELP

Rahim

Married!
Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon" is ideal for starters. Download it or use Digit DVDs.
You can access your XP partitions from Ubuntu through ntfs-3g.
you can easily dual-boot XP & Linux.

NucleusKore

TheSaint
1) a PC with 3 HDD (40 GB, 40 GB, 200 GB) unpartitioned. i have win XP installed and don't want to remove it.

You do not have to remove XP

2) i know there is some File system problem so, i won't be able to see my XP partition from Linux and vice versa. But i have heard that there is some
File system which can be used in both XP and Linux

You can READ AND WRITE to windows filesystems (NTFS and FAT) from Linux, no restrictions there :) You can also read and write to ext3 filesystems of Linux from windows using a software. I do not recommend it though.

3) i have Red Hat Linux (3 CD)......don't know very well what it is...:(:(

Its a good distro, but I do not have any experience with the latest RedHat. I use OpenSuSE 10.3. I have a post here on how to quickly make your OpenSuSE multimedia capable.