GUtsy Gibbon Queries

@t159: ya its working and im still getting my way around how to launch some of the effects however enabling the fade etc is causing my system to go slow :(

iMav said:
@t159: ya its working and im still getting my way around how to launch some of the effects however enabling the fade etc is causing my system to go slow :(
yeah fade, blur and reflection may cause corrupt textures and worse effets.
Water effect is also heavy on GMA X3000 but should work with Nvidia cards as they have proper openGL support.

In my case enablinh reflection causes windows border go away:D..invisble

I am assuming that since the base of Linux mint is ubuntu & it uses Ubuntu resporatories, means if something is applicable to Ubuntu, it is applicable to Linux Mint too, right? Like driver path & settings etc..

anyway, i have never used XFCE so I m downloading the XFCE edition.

T159 said:
yeah fade, blur and reflection may cause corrupt textures and worse effets.
Water effect is also heavy on GMA X3000 but should work with Nvidia cards as they have proper openGL support.

In my case enablinh reflection causes windows border go away:D..invisble

What the....then why were u all saying "Copiz fusion works fine even on low end cards?" If it can't work on GMA X3000 then how do u say it works fine in Intel Extreme graphics 2 ?

ok could some 1 confirm to me that if create a package backup using atopcd then i can re-install the package without a net conx?

I am assuming that since the base of Linux mint is ubuntu & it uses Ubuntu resporatories, means if something is applicable to Ubuntu, it is applicable to Linux Mint too, right? Like driver path & settings etc..

anyway, i have never used XFCE so I m downloading the XFCE edition.

What the....then why were u all saying "Copiz fusion works fine even on low end cards?" If it can't work on GMA X3000 then how do u say it works fine in Intel Extreme graphics 2 ?

All the effects works on GMA X3000, but some openGL heavy effects (which are more of an eye candy than utility like water effect and blur effects) hav some driver incompatibility.

Its not that GMA X3000 is not capable, its just that drivers are not fully exploited. Blame the intel team. Though am happy cuz water effect is really a waste.

for me water and fire work fine but others like blur; slow mo; fade in fade out dont work theyreally slow the whole thing down

I got all these effects with nvidia card :D but frankly,installing compiz alone is worth for a regular user which helps as with usefulness.while compiz-fusion are those extra plugins(beryl) which can do all those effects which I never want :)
yes,for casual users compiz-fusion may be fun,
and yes the resource i have when i ran beryl on my onboard gfx gma900? i got 256MB RAM only and beryl ran fine.but remember i cant achieve all those plugins working.it takes RAM.but most 3D ran fine with onboard intel.
yes,compiz is really light on resources while compiz-fusion is the one with bell and whistles bundled-compiz-fusion is erstwhile beryl merged to compiz.
compiz-fusion too can work with low resources if u disable unwanted effects.

My MX4000 (Just an inch better than IEG2) could pull off everything smooth on Beryl except the Water effects which probably needed some shaders or something.

And effects work on all cards and chipsets. Even the ones that have been blacklisted (X3100, a couple of ATi) have guides around to make it work. But hey, your fsckin Aero would REFUSE to run thanks to its elitism and lazy code.

T159 said:
All the effects works on GMA X3000, but some openGL heavy effects hav some driver incompatibility.

Like I asked before, didn't u guys said that Compiz-Fusion works fine even on Intel Extreme Graphics 2 (865G ) or GMA 900/950.? What happened now? How did slowness came into account all of a sudden

Its not that GMA X3000 is not capable, its just that drivers are not fully exploited. Blame the intel team. Though am happy cuz water effect is really a waste.

GMA X3000 is fairly new & very capable of running Compiz & Aero as far as capability is concerned. What about old graphics card?

Qwerty

Just like water effect is heavy on resources, Aero is also heave on resources

QWERTY tell me anout the atoponcd thing yaar ... if i create a backup on cd can i install extract all the packages without a net conx?

i installed emerald theme manager and dwnldd some theme and installed them using the run command: emerald --replace now how do i go back to the defulat :?:

iMav - Yes you will be able to, without any issues (If all the downloaded packages are in the ISO).

And try re-logging for the second problem. Or simply try metacity --replace.

iMav said:
QWERTY tell me anout the atoponcd thing yaar ... if i create a backup on cd can i install extract all the packages without a net conx?
:?:
arre bhai yahi to kaam hai uska.Din't you see the restore option when you start aptoncd?Just insert your backup CD and click restore and voila it restores all your deb files in /apt/archive folder which can be installed from synaptic package manager without net connection.Actually synaptic looks in your archive folder before downloading anything.

The_Devil_Himself said:
arre bhai yahi to kaam hai uska.Din't you see the restore option when you start aptoncd?Just insert your backup CD and click restore and voila it restores all your deb files in /apt/archive folder which can be installed from synaptic package manager without net connection.Actually synaptic looks in your archive folder before downloading anything.
the thing is iv been told and read that even if i try to use atoponcd it will require a net conx to chk something and all :? so was confirming

QwertyManiac said:
iMav - Yes you will be able to, without any issues (If all the downloaded packages are in the ISO).

And try re-logging for the second problem. Or simply try metacity --replace.
thank u :p

that chk something you are told is I think source lists updates.Dunno for sure.And it is no way related to your apton backups the chk is just to update the list of new\upgraded softwares available for download(of course free of cost).

F

Like I asked before, didn't u guys said that Compiz-Fusion works fine even on Intel Extreme Graphics 2 (865G ) or GMA 900/950.? What happened now? How did slowness came into account all of a sudden

The reason most likely he will experience a bog down is because he doesn't have direct rendering enabled or the proper drivers or whatever its called in Ubuntu to utilize the effects. In other words it would be asking a new display card to display 1280x1024 in Windows without/or after removing the drivers. I have tested water effects and stuff on an nVidia and it works perfectly. I don't have access to an GMA 3000 . However I will try on the 865 and get back :) .