GPU for Home theater & gaming

start2012

Right off the assembly line
Hi people, I am new to tech space, have read the GPU guide.. still need some expert advise

present config: Intel DG31PR, 2 gig RAM, onboard graphics, 400W stock PSU, upgraded Monitor to 24"Dell

I wanted to use the new 24" as a movie screen, however i am not entirely satisfied with onboard graphics so looking for a dedicated GPU.

5670 seems in my bugdet... Please suggest for "multimedia centre" + casual gaming.
1) Would a graphic card really provide much improved visuals?
2) would lower than 5670 provide enough juice? or 5670 is what i should look for?
3) Do i Need to change my PSU?

Many thanks,
I am looking to buy this sunday so any early replies are most appreciated.

Besties!
US

Cilus

laborare est orare
For your requirements HD 5670 is perfect. But buddy, what Processor or CPU you're having?
For PSU, I don't think those cheap PSUs will do any good if a dedicated GPU is added. The card might run but there is a always a chance of failure. Better spend another 1.8K and get a FSP SAGA II 400 W PSU.

Graphics card does provide better visual but for that you need to use Video Player with GP-GPU support. SPlayer, Media Player Classic Home Cinema are ArcSoft Media Theater etc are couple of the examples.

i. These kind of players allow you apply several Post processing enhancement filters over the video to enhance the quality. SD-> HD, Noice Reduction, Chroma Up scaling, Image Sharpening etc are couple of the examples and all of them can be applied simultaneously to improve video quality. A dedicated GPU can handle these filters very efficiently.
ii. From Graphics card Driver's control panel you can enable a lot of features to enhance video quality. Currently AMD cards provide slightly better video enhancement than Nvidia cards.

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member