Anti-Bollywood thread

dude but acting is acting..whatever picture it may be...
i dont know about the award nor have i seen dirty picture

Be glad you didn't. Only sexual innuendos and a story with the depth of a fish pond. Also, nothing really dirty about it.

when people like these exits (Including the guys who commented there) what more can you expect.

Jai Ho Review by KRK | | KRK Live | Bollywood - YouTube

Agreed. But looks don't always translate to acting skills. But this seems to be the trend around Bollywood. Its all about looks. Russell Peters once said that he did not like Bollywood movies because it was always about looks over talent. Instead he liked about Tamil movies because it is never about looks in those movies (that was a joke).

Beauty is a matter of opinion. And in my opinion, Vidya Balan looks gorgeous.

Right. But on an overall basis , majority of people will prefer Actress like Katrina Kaif , etc over Vidya because of looks. But when it comes to acting, you know it very well.

moniker

believe it or not

Vidya Balan was consideered for the Padmashri award... becos she acted in movies like Dirty Picture

what the hell happening in this country..

No, it's because she acted well in the movie Dirty Picture. Come on, not many would dare to play a fat promiscuous woman like she did. I didn't like the movie too as it had a bland plot, but that was because it was based on a real life story and didn't have room for masala.

quan chi

mortal kombat
Dirty picture is far better than these recent craps. It is based on real life of an actress & I believe it was executed well. Moreover I agree with you guys that vidya balan atleast can act & is far better than these new idiots.

Imran hashmi and Mahesh bhatt deserve a salute for making karan johar not s#it praise unnecessarily on koffee wid karan.. The best ep.. Hashmi just nailed it.
As someone mentioned in youtube Our great Emraan hashmi says he don't watch bollywood films & have very less knowledge about it . May be that's why most of his films are copied from hollywood! agreed everyone has their views. But he never said why. Anyways its sad that he still expects people to see his films and people do that too.
Bhatt camp is pure business & nothing else Mahesh bhatt may have knowledge but is completely business oriented. He is very desperate to bring complete nudity & full sex scenes in bollywood too. I have seen heard many of his interviews & one thing is clear he strongly believes sex sells and can go to any extent to make his movies more steamy.

Inceptionist

As someone mentioned in youtube Our great Emraan hashmi says he don't watch bollywood films & have very less knowledge about it . May be that's why most of his films are copied from hollywood! agreed everyone has their views. But he never said why. Anyways its sad that he still expects people to see his films and people do that too.
Bhatt camp is pure business & nothing else Mahesh bhatt may have knowledge but is completely business oriented. He is very desperate to bring complete nudity & full sex scenes in bollywood too. I have seen heard many of his interviews & one thing is clear he strongly believes sex sells and can go to any extent to make his movies more steamy.

Spot on observation of Mahesh Bhatt. He comes across as a very pretentious person.

quan chi

mortal kombat
Sometimes I do think these bollywood guys are right. In every show this bhatt boasts how much money he made by selling these semi soft porns. In the interview he says due to his kissings only Emraan hasmi could afford a 40 crore bunglow.

If public likes to throw money at stupid pictures like murder 2. Then they are bound to make such films in future too. After all money is what matters. By public I mean majority of those (idiots) who have just crossed the school boundary & entered the collage & guys in small towns & rual areas where education is still at its infancy. These people have no idea what a film is.

Thus the proucers/directors doesn't care what we say because they know it won't fetch them any money.

when people like these exits (Including the guys who commented there) what more can you expect.

Jai Ho Review by KRK | | KRK Live | Bollywood - YouTube

yeah true to some extent.:lol:

Inceptionist

If public likes to throw money at stupid pictures like murder 2. Then they are bound to make such films in future too. After all money is what matters. By public I mean majority of those (idiots) who have just crossed the school boundary & entered the collage & guys in small towns & rual areas where education is still at its infancy. These people have no idea what a film is.

Thus the proucers/directors doesn't care what we say because they know it won't fetch them any money.

This statements sounds a bit classist to me. Availability or lack of money and/or education doesn't develop taste in movies (or music or books or any art for that matter).

Highly educated people with a nice 6 figure salary can also be terrible movie viewers. Movies are still timepass for Indian people. People will buy ticket of any movie on weekend and this results in stupid masala films with large footprint getting more money as it is playing in 3500+ screens at a time while a good movie is playing in theatres which are few and far between.

I have heard countless times that 'we went to watch xyz but ended up watching abc'. :-|

harsh1387

True. Most of my friends and known circle are intelligent educated people but their taste in movies is Masala no brainers like chennai express. In this case I will say to each his own. As for me I had given up on bollywood long back.

snap

Lurker
educated and rich does not mean wise. “Real knowledge is to know the extent of one’s ignorance.” :wink:

harsh1387

One sentence I can never understand which many critic reviews as well as user reviews mention - keep your brains at home and you will enjoy the movie.
Now how the hell can someone do that? Atleast I can't. If I am watching a dabangg or chennai express or dhoom 3 my brain automatically analysis all aspects of story+screenplay+acting.
We need more movies like TZP and kahaani.

quan chi

mortal kombat
This statements sounds a bit classist to me. Availability or lack of money and/or education doesn't develop taste in movies (or music or books or any art for that matter).

Highly educated people with a nice 6 figure salary can also be terrible movie viewers. Movies are still timepass for Indian people. People will buy ticket of any movie on weekend and this results in stupid masala films with large footprint getting more money as it is playing in 3500+ screens at a time while a good movie is playing in theatres which are few and far between.

I have heard countless times that 'we went to watch xyz but ended up watching abc'. :-|

I agree with you to some extent & respect your opinion.:) & No i am not any kind of "....IST" (where discrimination is concerned).:D
I think there is a bit of misunderstanding. May be due to my improper usage of words.:)

I am not focusing only on the education part. Its the mentality of the people.

You see the manager of a certain section of our company says he has seen many hollywood, bollywood etc etc movies but don't know who is the director of the matrix!:facepalm:

Anyways lets get back to the topic. What I want to say is people like these often sees movie like murder 2 etc mostly through torrent or by other means which you can very well understand.
Lets grade them as category "A".
Category A contains people who are busy,lazy,thinks a lot before spending,goes to a theater only once or twice in 6 months.Thus they only want to enjoy movie @ home. eg: Office Working or business (who are most of the time busy) class mostly.

Category "B". These people consists of people who have enough time in hand. If they don't have anything to do a local theater is their favourite place. You can easily guess which type of people would fit in here. eg: students, labours, some women.:lol:, Crazy fan for certain stars/ production houses etc & must watch their first show. ...etc etc.

Category B is the major source of their income. Also add some category A guys to it who sometimes out of curiosity goes to a theater to see if the film is really that much entertaining but comes out with a regret! eg: chennai express!

Btw If you do a little research you will find that these khan's have more fans in rural parts of india as compared to any big cities of india. Thus I made that statement.

Tell me about it. AFAIK, almost all of UP, Bihar etc are rabid Sallu fans. But one thing that I have noticed is that almost all Sallu fans lack brains to varying extents (probably because most of them are gym freaks).

Salman knows that he is set for life as long as such people exist. They will watch any crap that he makes and behind the scenes he probably laughs at their stupidity as he counts his money. People need to be educated about different movies at a younger age because later they will become too accustomed with bollywood movies to explore something else. They would not understand the concept because they were never exposed to it and therefore never know what to make of it. That is why there are so few (if not none) Sci-fi or Horror movies in Bollywood. Producers don't want to risk making such movies because the audience would not understand the concept of sci-fi or horror.

The first Hollywood movie I watched was Terminator 2 : Judgement Day, when I was 6-7 years old. That movie blew my mind, a cyborg comes from the future to save the Connor family from another cyborg that was made of liquid metal. Such a concept was unimaginable, it just drove me nuts. That movie set a standard for me then. After that, bollywood movies just did not appeal to me anymore, the stories were too simplistic and common, just like the target audience for those movies. But everyone were into Bollywood with a selected few of my peers who even knew about hollywood movies. Since I don't easily give in to peer pressure, my taste in hollywood and world movies has persisted to this day. But I guess that is only my nature.

sam_738844

One sentence I can never understand which many critic reviews as well as user reviews mention - keep your brains at home and you will enjoy the movie.
Now how the hell can someone do that? Atleast I can't. If I am watching a dabangg or chennai express or dhoom 3 my brain automatically analysis all aspects of story+screenplay+acting.
We need more movies like TZP and kahaani.

They only meant that you do either of the following

1. go to the movie hall with those friends of yours who are bada$$ trouble makers, lose commentators , funny ...talks and laughs a lot( who you rarely watch a movie with) , watch the movie with all the productive activities they do over the movie, laugh your a$$ off with their comments and make some too, spend the money over this good time with some of your friends who you thought haven't grown up.

2. Download the movie, grab at least 3 large strong beers, or whiskey 200 ml at least, with some snacks, invite or don't invite some friends, doesn't matter...start the movie in you're home TV after 11 P.M, Drink and watch as you lose you're analytic sense and judgement gradually..doze off.

Tell me about it. AFAIK, almost all of UP, Bihar etc are rabid Sallu fans. But one thing that I have noticed is that almost all Sallu fans lack brains to varying extents (probably because most of them are gym freaks).

Salman knows that he is set for life as long as such people exist. They will watch any crap that he makes and behind the scenes he probably laughs at their stupidity as he counts his money. People need to be educated about different movies at a younger age because later they will become too accustomed with bollywood movies to explore something else. They would not understand the concept because they were never exposed to it and therefore never know what to make of it. That is why there are so few (if not none) Sci-fi or Horror movies in Bollywood. Producers don't want to risk making such movies because the audience would not understand the concept of sci-fi or horror.

The first Hollywood movie I watched was Terminator 2 : Judgement Day, when I was 6-7 years old. That movie blew my mind, a cyborg comes from the future to save the Connor family from another cyborg that was made of liquid metal. Such a concept was unimaginable, it just drove me nuts. That movie set a standard for me then. After that, bollywood movies just did not appeal to me anymore, the stories were too simplistic and common, just like the target audience for those movies. But everyone were into Bollywood with a selected few of my peers who even knew about hollywood movies. Since I don't easily give in to peer pressure, my taste in hollywood and world movies has persisted to this day. But I guess that is only my nature.

+10000000000000 to this.
Bollywood has turned into crapwood with all those mindless stunt, useless songs and worthless stories.

quan chi

mortal kombat
It now feels very irritating whenever there is any award show going on. Those cheap worthless jokes and praising each other unnecessarily feels so cheap. They constantly says chennai express is a super hit to irritate honest critics/viewers more.

They are just a bunch of monkeys picking each others backs. The Bollywood award ceremonies are not like the Academy Awards where a film Academy gives out awards on basis of the merit of the directors, actors, etc. Here, it is just awarded to the movies that sold well and to increase TRPs.

sam_738844

True fact : There are just, just too many good movies in foreign languages that if someone gets the hang of it once, its not to blame him if he just finds the so called Bollywood movies ridiculously crappy.

Very handful of movies made in "Hindi" language compared all-over film-space that can be watched as in a must-watch list.