advice me please : which linux is just like windows ???

CadCrazy

in search of myself
he he he :D im too lazy physically..but not mentally...thats y trying linux even after removing it for 20-25 times..(after much troubleshooting)..when a new flavor of linux comes i believe this is the ONE for me :) ..lets see

Amreeka mein bahut pollution hai. Abe apne pc ko ek baar India ki hawa lagvade. Sab theek ho jayega. :lol:

^^ :lol: hahaha..arre yaar PC to India se hee gaya hai ..abhi aa raha hai kuch mahino main wapis..amreeka ki aabo hawa main beemar ho gaya hai bechara :lol: :lol: :lol:

arre yar sabne confuse kar diya ......sabayon dload karu ya xandros ya mint ya ubuntu ya madriva ya suse ya linspire :(

get mandriva if you want out of box experience

If you want to tweak a little bit but easily then try Ubuntu. Great support is a guarantee here.

^^ I just read it is possible to install Mac OS X leopard on PC ..have any of u done that :eek: ..how was it ?

hey T ..out of the box means more headache ya cooly cool linux breezes ?

You will have almost everything which is proprietary and not under GPL.

A few of the guys here have installed Hackintosh.

hmm..thanks ..lemme try mandriva if it gets dloaded today...any hackintosh users can drop their opinions about leopard ......

off topic : who is the cute gal in ur avatar ?

yeah... but possible through windows too :D

lo..i have dloaded and burned cd of mandriva..but my Acer 5500's DVD drive is gone :x
Will an external DVD writer can boot mandriva CD ?

^^ ya crab..i have just ordered a new DVD bunrner (internal) from Naya Anda :lol:
ie newegg.com for 61 $ Sony NEC..it will come in 5-6 days ..until then lets wait...thanks for all the replies

^^ Ok buddies ..just installed Mandriva One :D yeah..its OK ..first post frm Mandriva
.my laptop is Acer Aspire 5500 with Ati Radeon X700...I had just upgraded to 2 GB RAM..ok lets proceed

1. First disappointment ---> I had selected a 3D desktop type in installation and loader just hanged ...the blue icon mouse.I was dumbfounded and restarted ..again restarted with no 3D deskptop and its 2D KDE now ... :(

2. Good thing all mp3 and avi files wrkg fine without installing a software :)

3. Ext USB and internet promptly detected,,I was gaga over linux speed ..but when im copying smthng from Ext USB to windows C: drive its not allowing to copy.. :( ...also when mozilla is open and 4-5 windows lots of memory hog..i thought linux is faster..but ...

4. How to install Skype on Mandriva ?

5. Avi files seem to play sharper in windows klm codec pack as compared to Kaffeine ..any other player recommended ?

Ok buddies ..plz ans my noob qs :) and Im experimenting on Mandriva till...

Cheers
Sumit

Finally, Welcome to the Club:D
I would suggest to pay a visit here & here, as it solves most common issues.

for skype, visit here

for the slow speed, did you create a SWAP partition?

For alternative media players, Try smplayer or vlc