advice me please : which linux is just like windows ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

esumitkumar

Call me Sumit
Ok I am a complete noob(actually frustrated user) in linux..have installed it many times but failed to use it..sometimes sound sometimes some display prob..now my old laptop is hanging even after many format..it has 512 MB RAM only .....i had tried ubuntu but it had some prob wid video card so dumped it .....wanna try linux again (my first crush will not die despite so many futile attempts...tell me that version of linux which can

1. easily identify Acer 5500 notebook's video card ATI X700
2. can run super smooth n fast
3. has all the window double click features ..just dbl clik and install software..no command line maatha pachhi .......
4. can play movies in avi and music in mp3
5. can dload movies by mutorrent
6. can install yahoo messenger with voice chat
7. Word docs compatible wid MS office

so suggest a linux version if there is any that fulfills my above requirements :)

If not I will stick to win xp :D

Rgds
Sumit

CadCrazy

in search of myself
Buddy linux is not windows. Just follow this link
If you want to learn Linux you must unlearn your window skills.

Drat...Cadcrazy posted seconds before me....:D
ANYway, WTH is this???? :shock:
3. has all the window double click features ..just dbl clik and install software..no command line maatha pachhi .......
Dude, get your facts right.
First of all this is not Windows. It is different from your XP and thus will need some time and patience,
Secondly, it is not radically different. May I inform you that some linux distros have better GUI than windows, making command-line unneccesary. Dont fall into that asssumption that "LINUX MEANS CUI"
First get used to the environment, and then start fidgetting around with it :D

CadCrazy

in search of myself

so suggest a linux version if there is any that fulfills my above requirements :)

If not I will stick to win xp :D

Rgds
Sumit