What did you eat today?

today's Navmi. Nearly all hindu families prepare kaale chane+puri+halwa :)
But I had plate full of semiya upma with coconut chutney and alu sabji :D
For lunch it is puri for sure.

DigitalDude

PhotonAttack
today's Navmi. Nearly all hindu families prepare kaale chane+puri+halwa :)
But I had plate full of semiya upma with coconut chutney and alu sabji :D
For lunch it is puri for sure.

not just navami.. it's Ram Navami today :razz:

ate a glass of oats in the morning. waiting for lunch and this thread is making my mouth water :oops:

_

Are you a gujrati...bcuz thepla is a gujrati dish :)

BTW I had fried rice from yesterday night. I love them. As a matter of fact I deliberately eat less rice so that they can be fried later :p
Similarly I leave behind khichdi too. When mixed with besan and fried like pakoda, eaten with tomato ketchup/mayonnaise...heaven!

yup.. most people think of dhoklas when they relate gujaratis and food. :)

yes. I love Gujarati and Punjabi cooking (veg only).
Then the style in which you get served in Marathi homes, incredible. Small plates for everyone.

I also love eating at all my Shrivastava friends (lala as they are fondly called in friend circles). Awesome taste.

MP (my native) is famous for poha-jalebi in breakfast. There is a joke doing rounds:

New born baby asks: What's there for breakfast?
Nurse: Poha
Baby: Iski aisi ki taisi, fir Indore main paida ho gaya :D
(WTF, I am again born in Indore)

Now switched over to idli-wada with sambhar/coconut chutney as I am in B'lore. Local restaurants' authentic sambhar taste is hard to get at home.

But obviously, nothing beats ma ke hath ka khana :)

Yesterday @ 6pm: Dal Makhni + Chawal + Curd

Yesterday @ 11pm: Dal Makhini + 6 roti

Today @ 2am: Home made banana cake

And I've just woken up.

nims11

BIOS Terminator
MP (my native) is famous for poha-jalebi in breakfast. There is a joke doing rounds:

there is also a similar joke in jharkhand(which i smtyms feel quite offensive) -
new born baby(to nurse) - pyas lagi hai?
nurse - kya loge: hariya ya daru?
baby - DHAT!! PHIR SE JHARKHAND MEIN PAIDA HO GAYA!
:p

@nims11: haha I didn't know about that jharkhand joke :)

@ico: Raat 2 baje banana cake!!!
What r u doing, preparing for some entrance exam?

BTW just had parantha+okra (lady's finger). Okra was fried deep in oil, just the way I like it! Crunchy and yummy.