Vista is still the most secure OS to date.

shantanu

Oh, so the non-genuine versions somehow become less secure than the genuine ones? That's a new one. :lol:

oh really! you are the one great guy saying that Pirated is as well good as Genuine. MY god.. Where were you when god was distributing some Common Knowledge power.. What kind of Idiotic Thing you said, do you think ever.. my god.. Read some articles on how Pirated Software puts you at risk.. there are hundreds of articles and facts related.. i wonder how you are even thinking of computers..

Some Common points :

A> Pirated softwares are compiled up (either in Zip, RAR or other formats) by Anonymous People.. you dont know who..

B> there can be viruses in those packs.

C> they aren't approved by the company.

D> No future support or Update by the company.

E> Read some things on google or atleast on M$ website (coz i dont think apple or Apple Fans are having any sense about piracy..)

PIRATED SOFTWARE PUTS YOU AT RISK.. by Spywares, Malwares and Viruses..

i think everyone knows this , but you know what .. you just want to Bull $hit here.. so you write this BS.. :rolleyes:

shantanu said:
A> Pirated softwares are compiled up (either in Zip, RAR or other formats) by Anonymous People.. you dont know who..
You can download a full fledged retail version of the operating system and then activate it with a crack. The only flaws are the ones that are there in the product itself and they'll be there in the genuine version too.

shantanu said:
You can always scan them before using them. But, of course, viruses are almost a property of Windows and it is difficult to avoid them anyway.

shantanu said:
That does not compromise the security of the software in any way whatsoever.

shantanu said:
Support does not make the software more secure. As for updates, if you know how to pirate well, you can enable fully automatic updating as it is on the retail legit version, like I have.

I am not condoning the act of piracy here but this is the truth that genuine Windows Vista does not offer a shred of better security than the pirated version, if installed and activated expertly. They are, in all respects, identical to each other. Moral and ethical issues are not to be taken into consideration.

I just wanted to be a spectator bu Arya's stupidity gave me a good morning laugh :D

You can download a full fledged retail version of the operating system and then activate it with a crack. The only flaws are the ones that are there in the product itself and they'll be there in the genuine version too.
Activate it with a crack

1) Piracy

2) You don't know what the crack patches or breaks

3) You don't trust MS, but you are ready to trust a Virus writer?

You can always scan them before using them. But, of course, viruses are almost a property of Windows and it is difficult to avoid them anyway.
Lolz...when did cracks started coming under the category of Virus. Boy I can give you an exe or an app (for mac) which will remove all .mp3 files from your computer. oh & you can anti-virus check it too :D

That does not compromise the security of the software in any way whatsoever.
Holey....:D :D :D :D Shantanu, tell him yaar, tell him how patching an exe changes the internal code which might lead to memory leaks & open flaws. This is how a virus works boy. :D

Support does not make the software more secure. As for updates, if you know how to pirate well, you can enable fully automatic updating as it is on the retail legit version, like I have.
So, Apple & Microsoft who release monthly updates don't make there OS secure. What a gr8 logic.

comrade

foreign return(0)
shantanu said:
oh really! you are the one great guy saying that Pirated is as well good as Genuine. MY god.. Where were you when god was distributing some Common Knowledge power.. What kind of Idiotic Thing you said, do you think ever.. my god.. Read some articles on how Pirated Software puts you at risk.. there are hundreds of articles and facts related.. i wonder how you are even thinking of computers..

Some Common points :

E> Read some things on google or atleast on M$ website (coz i dont think apple or Apple Fans are having any sense about piracy..)

PIRATED SOFTWARE PUTS YOU AT RISK.. by Spywares, Malwares and Viruses..

i think everyone knows this , but you know what .. you just want to Bull $hit here.. so you write this BS.. :rolleyes:

pirated can very well function as genuine....
a) who cares whether u know the people or not? i never met gates & so shuldnt i download & use microsoft products? u know what sometime patched produts perform better than the original one..with all annoys such as update nag..etc been removed.
b)antivirus -resident protection(either u get that free or pirate that one too)
c)never bothered
d)u get updated software from ur regular so & so sites+forums bfore u actually get updates from ur software or from the vendor site...:D
e)then why do genuine users still install spybot search&destroy/adware in their systems?

shantanu

Well for arya's Stupidity.. i may say. that he is talking pirated openly in the forum.. if we leave that too then also let me tell you arya as GX said about the cracling and patching thing, i dont think you would know about a single thing related, so i wont waste time on giving you some quotable lines.. for you its just that you are a wasted kid with nothing to do around, other then fooling here with your baseless comments..

comrade said:
pirated can very well function as genuine....
a) who cares whether u know the people or not? i never met gates & so shuldnt i download & use microsoft products? u know what sometime patched produts perform better than the original one..with all annoys such as update nag..etc been removed.
b)antivirus -resident protection(either u get that free or pirate that one too)
c)never bothered
d)u get updated software from ur regular so & so sites+forums bfore u actually get updates from ur software or from the vendor site...
e)then why do genuine users still install spybot search&destroy/adware in their systems?

offf well.. i think for you its ok to use pirated, it wont do me a good if you use pirated or original- it will just effect you.. and BTW as i said in the beginning of the thread (if you read the whole thread) that i use my Windows XP & Vista without any AV or IS or any adware blocker.. its just Defender in Vista ( i think you must be knowing that its Windows Default security program)(boxed in Vista)
and nothing in XP.. ( i just installed Defender in it too and thats enough for me) with regular updates from m$ server.. its kind of good for me .. and will be in future..

and all other points you claimed are baseless , so there is no point clearing them isnt it..?

well i always say BE GENUINE ,BUY GENUINE. and guys who give a blunt answer to support piracy are themselves so PIRATED(non-genunine) that they think its a superior thing to support piracy.. :)

SNF Arya : Please try to learn something and then talk about cracking...

hmmm, hmmm hmmm hmm. ya.
You wrote the same thing in last post. hmm..
I dont know what is wrong with saying the point correctly.it seems you are agreeing with me that Open source will grow.:eek: so when are u installing Ubuntu or Gentoo or Debian
And those 'such people' use MS products because they want to, some continue to use them be cause they are happy with it while some switch over to other stuff which they think is better. How this makes MS still so evil? If some people believe in MS these is a reason for them to, similar to you believing in Linux.
first of all understand what M$ is doing to FOSS in this simple search result:it shows,How evil is M$-dev!l's own company:
*www.google.co.in/search?num=50&hl=en&safe=off&q=+Microsoft++linux&btnG=Search&meta=
UNIX /Linux are 100 times better than what windows kernel or WIN NT(Vista too) Kernel offers-Why are u whining?.YOu are such a misinformed.infact UNIX/Linux are famous most for their security and reliability unlike Windows series of OS.
if u dont believe Linux kernel superiority-just read this:
Linux kernel vs Vista @:
Kernel Comparison: Linux (2.6.21) versus Windows (Vista)

^Is this another reason that people be informed that there are better OS available that too powered by open source.
M$ is evil-as the 4th time am quoting-U dont know the history of microsoft-what it is doing with rival companies and Operating Systems.When Linux first gained a big part of server market(RHEL for eg) M$ understood they cant fight back with a better system.so they pumped money to SCO UNIX-a proprietory UNIX company to Bully Linux users to pay for "some codes" used in Linux kernel-but they cant prove.as it turns out to be M$ marketing strategy- FUD.

And when did i say i was President of US and me giving/not giving a damn abt something will effect millions!! people are free to choose their way, as i said before. I am not here to convince people to join my religion.
Aha!:eek: This is not a religion -just a movement-let people knows it?why?FOSS dont have Ads running on MTV or any channel like for "wow" VIsta-the FOSS/Linux Mantra just propagates through boards like these.let FOSS too grow ;)
Just got over it :grin: , I am surprised to know that people use linux and other options. Also just noticed that the forum has thread dedicated to open source full of threads.
Now you know that there is open source section too in this forum-Hope you too be there-we miss you-dont take this talk-you are Welcome to FOSS.:)

But you just said in your post " more and more people are going the FOSS and Linux way" . So i assume they (MS) are failing in their motive and you should not be worried. But why it does not look so from your posts :grin: .
Dude,ur such an english dictation expert- :D
I Just cleared the wrong idea ur just posted in previous thread.so i think it feels ur too confused to read the lines.I can remember @eddie's siggie turns true now;eh?
M$ is evil as it is always.I urge you to read below sites:
*getgnulinux.org
*whylinuxisbetter.net
^Hope u be in Open Source section soon.really what is wrong in trying Linux?The GUI effects of beryl/compiz are mind-blowing taken that many people think VIsta is for Aero effects.remember Linux is way better in productivity too.do u know that Vista bundles DRM?
You can watch Vista vs Beryl here in youtube:
*www.metacafe.com/watch/434675/windows_vista_aero_vs_linux_ubuntu_beryl/
You're Welcome.

Prakash, you really have no idea how business is done. I posted a big example of burger shop but u overlooked it. What else can we expect something from you & arya who have the truth in front of them yet they don't see it. Thats called ignorance.

comrade

foreign return(0)
shantanu said:
offf well.. i think for you its ok to use pirated, it wont do me a good if you use pirated or original- it will just effect you.. and BTW as i said in the beginning of the thread (if you read the whole thread) that i use my Windows XP & Vista without any AV or IS or any adware blocker.. its just Defender in Vista ( i think you must be knowing that its Windows Default security program)(boxed in Vista)
and nothing in XP.. ( i just installed Defender in it too and thats enough for me) with regular updates from m$ server.. its kind of good for me .. and will be in future..

and all other points you claimed are baseless , so there is no point clearing them isnt it..?

well i always say BE GENUINE ,BUY GENUINE. and guys who give a blunt answer to support piracy are themselves so PIRATED(non-genunine) that they think its a superior thing to support piracy.. :)

Well it seems u r trying to tell us that antivirus/antispyware products in the market are only meant for pirated users and not meant for genuine users….ok well Symantec..mcafee…shutdown ur firms plz
The benefit that u get bcoz of genuine soft is only satisfaction (that u bought genuine)…& u pay money to let them come with newer version s with more & more bloatwares.

Actually Symantec & Mcfee would have gone out of business, if Vista 64bit would have released with locked kernel. :D

Thats why they sued MS by saing "MS, you are not allowed to make Windows secure, We will do that with our slow, buggy & resource hogging softwares"

comrade

foreign return(0)
Actually Symantec & Mcfee would have gone out of business, if Vista 64bit would have released with locked kernel. :D

Thats why they sued MS by saing "MS, you are not allowed to make Windows secure, We will do that with our slow, buggy & resource hogging softwares"

yes they are...but still oldies prefer the products from wither of these companies..like @ my work place where ppl dont know abt kaspersky or nod32.
btw what is locked kernel? can u throw some points on it

The other one
HMM....

Mehul, plz lock the thread. There is no point trying to show the Lingeeks & Macboys the truth. While the Linux, mac & Windows truth is already out there for anyone to see.

And what is the truth? The truth is that every option has its drawbacks and no one here seems to swollow that truth about hi choice. Why don't all forum members make a list of benifits and limitations of all the major options available? That will really help someone new to make his decisicion according to what features he needs or not.

Winguys - Leave it yaar, we are already enjoying whatever we want the way we want, on the computer we want. Let them be afraid & fight....who cares, in the end Porn prevails....woops I mean, computing prevails :D

Same can be said for Linux users , maybe for mac too.

praka123 said:
I dont know what is wrong with saying the point correctly.it seems you are agreeing with me that Open source will grow.:eek: so when are u installing Ubuntu or Gentoo or Debian.

And when did i say open source will not grow? Are you on drugs? its you who is so afraid of MS and keep whining all over the thread. :rolleyes:

About installing Ubuntu i dont need a suggestion specially from you. My other computer has ubuntu installed, thank you very much.

praka123 said:
first of all understand what M$ is doing to FOSS in this simple search result:it shows,How evil is M$-dev!l's own company:
*www.google.co.in/search?num=50&hl=en&safe=off&q=+Microsoft++linux&btnG=Search&meta=
UNIX /Linux are 100 times better than what windows kernel or WIN NT(Vista too) Kernel offers-Why are u whining? YOu are such a misinformed.infact UNIX/Linux are famous most for their security and reliability unlike Windows series of OS.
if u dont believe Linux kernel superiority-just read this:
Linux kernel vs Vista @:
Kernel Comparison: Linux (2.6.21) versus Windows (Vista)

You are the one who is whining . Just read the previous posts and you will know who burnt his calories while writing hate filled posts.

Don't tell me what is 100 time better or not, go and preach within your cult . i am fully capable of choosing what i feel is better for my daily home/professional needs.

praka123 said:
Aha!:eek: This is not a religion -just a movement-let people knows it?why?FOSS dont have Ads running on MTV or any channel like for "wow" VIsta-the FOSS/Linux Mantra just propagates through boards like these.let FOSS too grow ;).

Then Mr. you are totally representing the wrong image of the movement by whining here and spreading it like a religion. If someone in my knowledge wanted to know more about linux , you wont be the guy i will be sending him to get help.:rolleyes:

praka123 said:
Now you know that there is open source section too in this forum-Hope you too be there-we miss you-dont take this talk-you are Welcome to FOSS.:)

Yes, just like i knew about the existance of Linux yesterday.
Holy Sh1t!! India is on the map of the world, i never knew :D . Dude i seriously need to learn things. :rolleyes:

praka123 said:
Dude,ur such an english dictation expert- :D
I Just cleared the wrong idea ur just posted in previous thread.so i think it feels ur too confused to read the lines.I can remember @eddie's siggie turns true now;eh?

No sir you just messed your clear idea (if you had any). I have no right to bash your grammer abilities (as mine too are not good), i can take a post with spelling mistakes but grammatical errors indeed make it confusinng.

praka123 said:
M$ is evil as it is always.I urge you to read below sites:
*getgnulinux.org
*whylinuxisbetter.net

Your posts(ads) are as bad as any Microsoft advertisement on MTV.

But may be not as bad as new PC vs MAC ads , they are not anymore funny. we don't laugh with them , we laugh on them.

praka123 said:
^Hope u be in Open Source section soon.really what is wrong in trying Linux?The GUI effects of beryl/compiz are mind-blowing taken that many people think VIsta is for Aero effects.remember Linux is way better in productivity too.do u know that Vista bundles DRM?
You can watch Vista vs Beryl here in youtube:
*www.metacafe.com/watch/434675/windows_vista_aero_vs_linux_ubuntu_beryl/
You're Welcome.

What is wrong in accepting the fact that some people use both Windows and linux. Prefrence of GUI depends on personal taste , you cant tell others which is better for them, so lets leave this.
Do you know that Vista will be able to play DRM'd content "as well as" non DRM stuff. So whats the problem when i have this option.

@Avatar:Yes,it is the right of the user to choose which OS he is comfortable with.but what is wrong in saying that there are alternative OS?there is nothing wrong in using what all OS ur better off.I just wanted to stay clear of the FUD of the title of this thread.thats it.
I think ur rather making things confusing :rolleyes:
Your posts(ads) are as bad as any Microsoft advertisement on MTV.

But may be not as bad as new PC vs MAC ads , they are not anymore funny. we don't laugh with them , we laugh on them.
VIsta "WoW" too sux.
yeah this too sux- Vista advertised as OS Nirvana by M$ folks.
Do you know that Vista will be able to play DRM'd content "as well as" non DRM stuff. So whats the problem when i have this option.
there is a problem for common unsuspecting users.that is posted at #95

the question is why does we need DRM which mutilates the rights of a user?DRM is a menace.Vista incorporated it simply not for the convenience of its users.It promotes DRM-and I Am FUlly against this.

prakash said:
do u know that Vista bundles DRM?

1) Vista has DRM only if you play HD DVD or Blue Ray movies.

2) Vista DRM doesn't affects your existing non-DRM files

3) On Windows Vista you can play both DRM & non-DRM content. On Linux & Mac currently you cannot play these titles.

1)DRM means :
What's wrong with Microsoft Windows Vista?

by John Sullivan — last modified 2007-04-16 18:53

Microsoft's new Windows Vista operating system is a giant step backward for your freedoms.
Usually, new software enables you to do more with your computer. Vista, though, is designed to restrict what you can do.
Vista enforces new forms of “Digital Rights Management (DRM)”. DRM is more accurately called Digital Restrictions Management, because it is a technology that Big Media and computer companies try to impose on us all, in order to have control over how our computers are used.
Technology security expert Bruce Schneier explains it most concisely:
Windows Vista includes an array of “features” that you don't want. These features will make your computer less reliable and less secure. They'll make your computer less stable and run slower. They will cause technical support problems. They may even require you to upgrade some of your peripheral hardware and existing software. And these features won't do anything useful. In fact, they're working against you. They're digital rights management (DRM) features built into Vista at the behest of the entertainment industry—And you don't get to refuse them.
DRM gives power to Microsoft and Big Media.
  • They decide which programs you can and can't use on your computer
  • They decide which features of your computer or software you can use at any given moment
  • They force you to install new programs even when you don't want to (and, of course, pay for the privilege)
  • They restrict your access to certain programs and even to your own data files
DRM is enforced by technological barriers. You try to do something, and your computer tells you that you can't. To make this effective, your computer has to be constantly monitoring what you are doing. This constant monitoring uses computing power and memory, and is a large part of the reason why Microsoft is telling you that you have to buy new and more powerful hardware in order to run Vista. They want you to buy new hardware not because you need it, but because your computer needs it in order to be more effective at restricting what you do.
Microsoft and other computer companies sometimes refer to these restrictions as “Trusted Computing.” Given that they are designed to make it so that your computer stops trusting you and starts trusting Microsoft, these restrictions are more appropriately called “Treacherous Computing”.
Even when you legally buy Vista, you don't own it.

Windows Vista, like previous versions of Windows, is proprietary software: leased to you under a license that severely restricts how you can use it, and without source code, so nobody but Microsoft can change it or even verify what it really does.
Microsoft says it best:
The software is licensed, not sold. This agreement only gives you some rights to use the software. Microsoft reserves all other rights. Unless applicable law gives you more rights despite this limitation, you may use the software only as expressly permitted in this agreement. In doing so, you must comply with any technical limitations in the software that only allow you to use it in certain ways.
To make it even more confusing, different versions of Vista have different licensing restrictions. You can read all of the licenses at *www.microsoft.com/about/legal/useterms/default.aspx.
It's painful to read the licenses, and this is often why people don't object to them. But if we don't start objecting, we will lose valuable freedoms. Here are some of the ridiculous restrictions you will find in your reading:
  • If your copy of Vista came with the purchase of a new computer, that copy of Vista may only be legally used on that machine, forever.
  • If you bought Vista in a retail store and installed it on a machine you already owned, you have to completely delete it on that machine before you can install it on another machine.
  • You give Microsoft the right, through programs like Windows Defender, to delete programs from your system that it decides are spyware.
  • You consent to being spied upon by Microsoft, through the “Windows Genuine Advantage” system. This system tries to identify instances of copying that Microsoft thinks are illegitimate. Unfortunately, a recent study indicated that this system has already screwed up in over 500,000 cases.
Free software like GNU/Linux does not require you to consent to these absurd licensing terms. It is called free software because you are free to make as many copies as you want, and to share it with as many friends as you want. Nobody will be monitoring your actions or falsely calling you a thief.
What you can do to help protect your freedom

There is a battle underway between those who value freedom, and corporations such as Microsoft who wish to profit by taking that freedom away. DRM and absurd licenses are at the heart of that battle. Please join us on the side of freedom by saying NO not just to Windows Vista and other DRM-enabled products, but to proprietary software in general. Instead, use non-DRM, “free” software such as the GNU/Linux operating system. You can get your work done while ensuring that your rights and freedoms will not be restricted now and into the future.
As more and more of our lives become digital, it is vital that we protect our digital freedoms just like we have always worked to protect our freedom of expression in print and speech.
*badvista.fsf.org/what-s-wrong-with-microsoft-windows-vista
^ Hope I explained things correctly for uninitated

arre yaar iska drm ka rona phir chalu ho gaya ... hey praka just give me 1 drm locked song please ... i dont know how it sounds like how its icon looks like ... coz in india it hasnt affected any 1 other than ur imagnation

abbey.....DRM yahaan nahi hei?to yashrajfilms kya kar raha hei? they got DRMed songs launched in India along with dear old M$.bheje mein aaya ke?
*www.techshout.com/software/2007/16/yash-raj-films-launches-video-drm-platform-using-microsofts-net-and-other-technologies/

*riyaz.bitinc.co.in/archives/2007/04/desi-drm-by-yash-raj-films/

now DRM "side effects" starts showing in Vista:
Windows Media Center DRM - Now With More Bugs!

May 23, 2007

There was some Slashdot buzz earlier this week about Microsoft Windows Media Center users suddenly facing restrictions forbidding playback of recorded analog cable TV content. Was DRM smuggled along with an "update" into unsuspecting users' machines?
In fact, Windows Media Center has always obeyed CGMS-A, a DRM system that TV stations can use. Pay-per-view, VOD, and premium channels like HBO can (and do) mark programming as "Copy Once" or "Copy Never." Tech creators are free to build DVRs and other devices that ignore CGMS-A signals and create restriction-free recordings, but Microsoft opted to kowtow to content providers and infect Media Centers with the DRM anyway. (You may recall that TiVo decided to cripple its DVRs so that they recognize a similar DRM flag developed by Macrovision.)
As if the deliberate use restrictions weren't bad enough, obeying CGMS-A has also caused technical errors and haphazard incompatibilities. Remember Windows' "blue screen of death," signaling an unexpected failure? DRM creates more ways for your system to fail -- your Media Center may work reliably today, but a software or hardware change could create unpredictable limitations.
According to PC World, this sort of technical problem probably led to the complaints featured on Slashdot. You can bet that this won't be the last time customers bump up against such problems both with CGMS-A and other DRM.
It's worth noting that the DRM can get even worse when it comes to digital cable. Media Center users can look forward to even more limits on streaming throughout their house, copying to portable devices, and other legitimate uses.
Just because Microsoft decided to obey CGMS-A doesn't mean you have to. You can look to PC DVR alternatives, and you can make DRM-free, analog-to-digital conversions of TV content using tools like the Neuros recorder that don't recognize CGMS-A.
*www.eff.org/deeplinks/archives/005269.php

how much of a difference did it make to u ... :?

have a look at the link urself and let the image load and then read something in the brakets ;)