Updating FC5!

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by baccilus, Dec 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. baccilus

    baccilus Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    Can i update FC5_64bit to all the functionalities of FC6, And more necessarily make an update CD. Whenever we install this OS it asks if there is any additional media. I should be able to update my OS by that method.
     
  2. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    To update everything just type the command, as root

    yum -y update [a-z]*

    And then to install everything extra available in repositories, command as root

    yum -y install [a-z]*


    Warning : It will download a whole lotta MBs or perhaps 1-2 GBs or more from repos with this method and make FC5 fully updated and equipped.

    It shud update to all functionalities of FC6, but not so sure.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    baccilus

    baccilus Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    And what about the update CD i have mentioned. Can that be done?
     
  4. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
  5. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Copy all the updates from the cd to a folder and make yum install from that..
    also check out man yum
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page