Tweetie for Mac

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
I'm new to Twitter and I was looking for a simple but effective Twitter client. I somewhat not prefer to use the Web interface.

I searched and found a few simple clients like Bluebird and Canary but they didn't comply to the new Twitter authentication standards introduced in August. So, you couldn't log-in with them and use them. No idea why their new versions are taking so much of time.

So, I was stuck with Tweetie which I was thinking to avoid considering it servers you advertisements. But after downloading and using it I realized that it is very very good. :) Doesn't server you adverts the way you might be thinking. It doesn't bother you at all.

There are a few Adobe Air based Twitter clients like Tweetdeck, but then I also wanted to avoid them.

So, here's how Tweetie looks:
*img215.imageshack.us/img215/6920/screenshot20101110at149.jpg

You can view a person's timeline:
*img189.imageshack.us/img189/7297/screenshot20101110at151.jpg

Also view his bigger profile picture if he has uploaded one:
*img255.imageshack.us/img255/7297/screenshot20101110at151.jpg

Also view the tweets directed @ or mentioning somebody:
*img230.imageshack.us/img230/8347/screenshot20101110at206.jpg

And Profile information obviously:
*img139.imageshack.us/img139/8347/screenshot20101110at206.jpg

It supports a good array of URL Shortening and Image Services:
*img801.imageshack.us/img801/5148/screenshot20101110at152.jpg *img816.imageshack.us/img816/5148/screenshot20101110at152.jpg *img517.imageshack.us/img517/5148/screenshot20101110at152.jpg

You can mark tweets as your favourites and it supports multiple accounts. :)

The only down point I see is no Growl integration and no Retweet button. :(

Last edited:
J

Joker

good post but i don't use mac...if someone knows similar client for windows and linux then tell me...

Gollum

Collector