Problem Installing FC7

use the same kernel :) as I am compiling the same 2.6.24 hardy's kernel.
...and hardy got default support for silan card.

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
So if I just upgraded to the newer version wll I all my problems disappear??
Wll hardy provide out of box functionality fr my card....so I dont have to go through all this hardwork!

yes.hardy supports.well,I already compiled the kernel.wait!I will upload it somewhere :)

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
Thanks..hope the initiative is successfuL!
Bandwidtch matters a lot to me...on a limited downlaod plan so cant afford to even waster 20MB!

@nitish: omg!it is 166MB when I made(without any optimization except building the silan module into kernel) :D
~cancelled!

I think you can download the kernel from hardy repo?it comes around 17~MB only.
will give info here later.else will upload in night ul.

..and with current kernel,check the o/p of below command:
 modinfo sc92031

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
hmm..even i m upgrading my plan to BSNL 750 unlimited!
Give me the link of Hardy repo n I wll down it...Why do u have to upload it??

Here is the output of the command
modinfo: could not find module sc92031

oh yes!I dont know that silan module is built-in hardy's kernel versions :) and I am still wondering what made 166MB for that linux.deb :p I selected some cyrix specific optimizations may be :rolleyes:

but installing any kernel isnt easy in Debian distros.it asks for upgradation of glibc and all.
there is some method described in ubuntu forums.I'll get that link.it explains everything,.
OK.here it is :-follow it!
Howto: Simple upgrade to Hardy's developing kernel - 2.6.24 ...
*ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=646755
and sc92031is the module name :) (lan card driver)

^this is your solution :)

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
I m trying my best to understand all this...can u make it a bit simpler....yaar be online on yahooo I need to chat wth u!
If I figure out somethng else..i wll post!

I dont thk I can use the script...it seems everything req internet connection!
M TOTALLY LOST!!!
Trying to figure out the down link so tht i can atleast down the 15-16Mb package...even cant get tht!

How to upgrade to Hardy's 2.6.24 kernel :-

there is nothing hard to understand there.
OK.follow these steps:-

1.press ALT+F2 to get run dialog.inside type
gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hardy.list
inside the editor type :
deb *archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy main restricted
save the file and exit.

2.open a terminal and execute :-
sudo apt-get update

3.now pull the needed packages :-
sudo apt-get -y install linux linux-generic linux-headers-generic linux-image-generic linux-restricted-modules-generic

4.remove this file
sudo rm /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hardy.list

5.again update to gutsy's repos.
sudo apt-get update

6.restart and boot with 2.6.24 kernel
sudo shutdown -r now

that will work.around 41MB download is needed :(
I am afraid,this is the only solution now.
even if,I compile a relocatable kernel,it is the same story :D

I think this is easy to understand?

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
apt get works only whn u have net connection enabled na...which is nt in my case!!!!!!

So hows it gonna work? Everythng has to b offline?

:oops:
I suggest you download above files from *packages.ubuntu.com
OK.here is the link:
*mirror.lupaworld.com/ubuntu/

browse into hardy release section and download above files

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
Ah...its all so confusing!
Which packages do i need to down??

Whts the 2nd link fr???? praka can u pls b online on yahoo coz I m having tough time here!

What abt the prev post?? thts nt supp to work na?

Ok dude.I will post the packages you have to download one by one.

1.linux-image-generic
*mirror.lupaworld.com/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux/linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic_2.6.24-16.30_i386.deb
2.linux-restricted-modules-generic :-
*mirror.lupaworld.com/ubuntu/pool/r...inux-restricted-modules_2.6.24.16.18_i386.deb

download these files and install using dpkg .ie,

"sudo dpkg -i /whereudownloaded/thefiles/xss.deb"

when you install like this,dpkg will complain about dependency problems.
then remove the other packages which dpkg complains about.

OR
when you install with dpkg,whatever error you face,post it here.we'll post the resolution :)

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
praka123 said:
"sudo dpkg -i /whereudownloaded/thefiles/xss.deb"

when you install like this,dpkg will complain about dependency problems.
then remove the other packages which dpkg complains about.

If dpkg complains for missing packages I need to install them right?? How can I remove them??
File Download in Progress! :)

dpkg wont complain of missing packages,but want to remove some packages.anyways,try to install and give the error messages posted here :)

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
Finished with the download....
Wll have to log off n chk it up..posting the result soon!

Here is the output for the file..
linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic_2.6.24-16.30_i386.deb

(Had renamed it as img.deb)
nitish@Nitish:~$ sudo dpkg -i img.deb
Selecting previously deselected package linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic.
(Reading database ... 88005 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic (from img.deb) ...
Done.
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic:
linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic depends on module-init-tools (>= 3.3-pre11-4ubuntu3); however:
Version of module-init-tools on system is 3.3-pre3-1ubuntu7.
dpkg: error processing linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
linux-image-2.6.24-16-generic

Here is the output of
linux-restricted-modules_2.6.24.16.18_i386.deb

(Had renamed it as rest.deb)

nitish@Nitish:~$ sudo dpkg -i rest.deb
(Reading database ... 90278 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace linux-restricted-modules 2.6.24.16.18 (using rest.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement linux-restricted-modules ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of linux-restricted-modules:
linux-restricted-modules depends on linux-restricted-modules-generic (= 2.6.24.16.18); however:
Version of linux-restricted-modules-generic on system is 2.6.20.15.14.
dpkg: error processing linux-restricted-modules (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
linux-restricted-modules

Now download this package and install as "sudo dpkg -i xe.deb"
module-init-tools
*mirror.lupaworld.com/ubuntu/pool/m...module-init-tools_3.3-pre11-4ubuntu5_i386.deb
now it will ask for libc6 to be downloaded.
*packages.ubuntu.com/hardy/libc6
download from here and install.

remove linux-restricted-modules by
"sudo dpkg --purge linux-restricted-modules"

the thing is,follow error message.

nitish_mythology

OSS Enthusiast!
Another bunch of problems...
Whn I tried installing module-init-tools it asked fr libc6,so tried installing it n gt this error..
libc6 conflcits wth tzdata(<<207k-1)
tzdata (version 2007b-0 ubuntu1) is installed

So i tried tht purge command which u gave...
It worked fine...so i tried the same command tht fr this 'tzdata' too but it didnt work giving an error
dependency probelm----not removing!

What to do now???
Well i feel its better fr me to wait some days and get my hands on Ubuntu 8 and get a clean install! :)