Please help me understand a few things about Wi-Fi

mohit9206

Ambassador of Buzz
I just got a wifi router for my MNTL broadband connection from MTNL themselves. I have a few questions please answer them.
1.Does the wifi speed i will get on my mobile dependent on my current broadband plan ?My current plan is Xpress Combo 800 with speeds of 2Mbps upto 18gb and 512kbps thereafter.The current speed i am getting on my phone is 1.67Mbps down and 0.46 up which seems kinda low as wifi is supposed to be much faster right ? Does this also mean that once i pass data limit of 18gb the wifi speed will also be throttled or is Wi fi speed independent of broadband speed ?
2.Which brings me to my second question.Does using Wifi on my phone consume data from my broadband plan ? Will downloading and youtube streaming on my phone through wifi consume data from my 18gb plan or is it truly unlimited and independent of my data plan ?
Please excuse me for these silly questions but am a complete noob about this stuff. :)

GhorMaanas

The Vagrant Seeker
1. the policy of MTNL states 'upto X Mbps', so you are getting correct speed. it may go beyond that and touch 2 as well, and also above 2 at times. what you can do is write to the DGM of MTNL to sync your connection to the correct upstream-rate if it isn't already (should be 2048 kbps or more). you can check that on your router's page. also, please note that wifi-speeds will always be a little less than wired-connection speeds. and after exceeding the data-limit, your wifi speed would also go down.

2. yes, wifi would also eat up your data. wifi is just another facet of a broadband connection. its like a wired connection, except that its wireless - data-bits and bytes travel over air as against through wire in this case; so shares the traits.

Last edited:

dashing.sujay

Moving
Staff member