please Help me in learning unix

Status
Not open for further replies.

cooldude666666

Broken In
I'm a bca student and have to study unix in this sem of mine. I don't have a good internet connection right now(am not at my place) so I wasn't able to download freeBSD which I wanted to install to learn unix. I also got freeBSD images from a digit dvd one or two months ago but those images were corrupt and the installer didn't boot citing problems with the image. Finally, I got a live mandriva distro(mandriva 2008.1 spring) from last month's dvd and was able install that on my lappy. But some commands either do not work or do not provide required results. Can anyone tell me what other packages I need to install so as to start learning unix properly. OR if anyone can tell me any small distro that will help me learning unix properly.

sourav123

Thinking Different
I'm a bca student and have to study unix in this sem of mine. I don't have a good internet connection right now(am not at my place) so I wasn't able to download freeBSD which I wanted to install to learn unix. I also got freeBSD images from a digit dvd one or two months ago but those images were corrupt and the installer didn't boot citing problems with the image. Finally, I got a live mandriva distro(mandriva 2008.1 spring) from last month's dvd and was able install that on my lappy. But some commands either do not work or do not provide required results. Can anyone tell me what other packages I need to install so as to start learning unix properly. OR if anyone can tell me any small distro that will help me learning unix properly.

Hi,

If you are new to Unix and want to study Unix, I recommend you start with O'reilly books. They have excellent quality books on Unix. See the below link to get started:

*letters.oreilly.com/pub/a/oreilly/letters/2001/learnunix_1101.html