1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

PC powers ON without pressing the powerbutton

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by vineeth_pulari, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vineeth_pulari

    vineeth_pulari New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When i turn on the UPS the PC turns on by itself, without pressing the power button of the PC, I opened the cabin, disconnect the POW SW , power switch cable to mother board. Still, when the ups is on, the pc boots with out pusing the power button.


    Ive no clue whats happning, defective mother board!!!?
     
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    So, what is ur problem?
    Why r u worried?

    Even my pc has it. And I'm too happy to get it. Now I can continue D/L even if I'm not in home.
     
  3. raj_v1982

    raj_v1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    change your smps (psu) with high watts psu
    collermaster 500watts or crosair vx450 :)
    or atleast zebronic 500watts :( :D
     
  4. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Vineeth, your motherboard BIOS will have an option to change that. It will let you choose if you want to have the computer turn on automatically when it receives power. You can enable it or disable it. It is usually disabled by default. You might have enabled it without realising it.

    The exact place in the BIOS menu for changing that setting is different for different motherboards. It may be under 'Advanced' or 'Power' or 'Power Management' or something similar.

    The wording of the menu line will be something like "Restore on AC Power Loss'. If you tell us the model number of your motherboard, I'll try to find the manual online and give you more precise instructions.
     
  5. Dark Core

    Dark Core Freak Beta 1

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagercoil
    @vineeth_pulari

    This s not coz of defective mobo, it's coz of a setting in BIOS - Search for Auto Power On, or similar terms in your BIOS (depends on d mobo model) and disable it.
     
  6. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    offtopic: SKYNET??? :p
     
  7. icebags

    icebags Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    interesting point there. :shock: this might be it! begining of the end!
     
  8. abhi.eternal

    abhi.eternal In search of light...

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    i had the exact same issue a week back, only difference being i don't have a UPS. anyway, with my system i was not getting any display so i had to give it away for repairs. the repair guy told me that my TV card was using too much power... bull$hit... i tried with all the cards and connectors out and still the processor fan was starting the powered on the main switch. however, its fixed now and i m getting the display. one interesting thing is i had to set up the BIOS again as i had removed the CMOS battery. i think i selected "Restore on AC Power Loss'... because even now the system is starting but at least i m getting the display... so am not bothered much.. will check this when i get home...

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page