One completly strange problem - check out

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by demoninside, Nov 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    Hey guys,
    this is one of my friends prob,
    when ever we add any other hard disk other then his,
    it either get crashed, or get internally socked, or get any error that after that it doesn't even work. not even get recognised by the system,
    any idea guys,
    one more thing his hdd work fine in any IDE & power slote it's only with others HDD,
    So help me out to find out.
     
  2. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Let me get this straight first - do you mean that the other HDDs get permanently damaged and don't work anymore even in another computer ?
     
  3. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    how many HDDs have this problem??
     
  4. OP
    OP
    demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    Ya that's the prob
    and it have been happened to 5 HDD'd till now
     
  5. technoteen

    technoteen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    are you properly doing the jumper setting on your secondary hard disk?
    have you checked your friends bios for any such thing?
    try installing the second harddisk to secondary ide cable and keeping his hard disk in primary ide
    i dont abt it but can it be due to some virus?
     
  6. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Now thats scary.............. It happened to me but my new hdd formatted it and i cud use it. U r supposed to check the jumper settings that messes with the hdd so check it out. Im sure itll be fine.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    no yaar the problem is that once u add any HDD to his system,
    that wouldn't work any where on any system,
    u need to replace it or get it repaired,
    so guess nothing to do with BIOS or Jumper,
    coz it only happens to other HDD, mean other then hi own,
    no matter what slot u apply,
    or wht u make that HDD,
    primary slave, sec Master, sec Slave,
    nothing works.
     
  8. Dipteshghoshroy

    Dipteshghoshroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At first I suggest u to check the power cord if u use the second one
     
  9. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Sorry about the late reply. You've already eliminated the possibility of cables. Another possibility is your BIOS setting.

    If the HDD type and access mode are set to manual in the BIOS of your friend's computer, and these do not match the drives you were trying to add, the system will fail to recognize them. If you fiddled with the partitioning under different access modes, this may damage the information needed to read the drives properly, even by another computer.

    What you can try : Set the HDD detection and access mode to Auto and see if it recognises the HDD. You may also need to restore the master boot record with a Windows startup disk and use the Fdisk/MBR command.

    However, these processes are NOT trivial ones that you should idly play with, especially the MBR. Better do it with only the damaged drive connected, and only if it does not contain vital data. Otherwise take the drives to a local pro. Sometimes it's difficult to solve a problen through a forum - too many facts and factors that have to be exchanged back and forth.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    hey thanx for reply guys,
    i guess u r not getting the problem correctly,
    i mean if any HDD i connect to his system other then his own,
    i gets down, means it is not recognmisable under any system after that,
    i have checked BIOS every thing is fine,
    but don't know why is this happening, it's notthat his system not recognising,it's no system includeing his system recognice after once we have connected.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page