New Bank account; which bank to choose?

Sarath

iDota
I have recently started buying a few games online but am doing transactions in the 90's style of going to the bank and making a deposit. I want to take advantages of the NEFT transfer facilities and debit card shopping that is becoming the norm these days. Hence I have decided to open a bank account.

Kindly suggest me a good bank to open a bank account in

However there area few points that bear mentioning:
~ I am a student
~ Account should need a min maintenance of 500rs or 1000 at most
~ It should have the features mentioned above; NEFT mainly

Preferably: (closer to home /college)
HDFC
SBI
SBM
Axis

last preference to ICICI
rest below this

P.S.: I already have an account in HDFC but that is handled by my dad for high value transactions. I do not want to use it for my online transactions even if I could.

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
I'd suggest SBI, as I don't think you'll be able to afford min. QAB for other private banks(as already mentioned by you).

OP
Sarath

Sarath

iDota
Even I was thinking SBI since I heard they have a low quaterly avg balance.

BTW is bank of India any good? It is the easiest for me to get as my college has direct affiliation to it. Infact I can just walk in with a letter and have my account.

Skud

Super Moderator
Staff member
You will be valued more in BoI than SBI as a customer. It is a pretty large bank and good overall, but no idea regarding technological implementation and whether support services are competent enough. SBI is a safe bet. The internet banking is one of the easiest and clutter free experience amongst half a dozen I have seen/used. One problem may be the Maestro debit card they give. Insist on a VISA Debit card, if you want. QAB is 1k in all nationalized bank. For most private banks, its at least 5k.

OP
Sarath

Sarath

iDota
AQB is a big problem. Even SBI shows 5k. My HDFC is 10k already.