Need Advice from Engineers & Successful Programmers

Hrishi

Okay guys , I am not an Engineering student , though I am Science Graduate.(Computer Science. Bsc.IT)

I was wondering what all courses , topics do you guys usually study in your regular B.Tech course that practically helps in Programming and Coding.
Something that has real use and implementation when you actually code and design Web application and User Applications.

I am trying to learn programming in detail so I can focus on a career, but I don't think just knowing the programming language and concept is healthy. Can you please focus on things I should learn that might help in developing innovative apps. other than ( innovation and market knowledge.) ?

please don't be sarcastic..:p

deepakkrishnan

Broken In
Since you've done BSc. IT you'll be familiar with the term Algorithm. To learn programming one has to understand algorithms. If you can design or figure out an algorithm then 70% of the battle is won. The next 30% is for changing the algorithm into code using a programming language.

So the one thing that a person trying to program should learn and improve is how to design an algorithm. Once that has been taking care off then you can start coding and after multiple tries you'll find the most optimum/efficient method to code.

Just My 2 cents !!!

You should build the logic and process of thinking.

You use C / Python as starting language, as Python syntax is easy to grasp and helps one to focus in building logic instead of going deep into what the language can do.

Data Structure is must, as it helps one to implement things with which what he/she learn and clears the concept and focus on many small things which one might not have focused while learning programming languages.

And what krishnandu said

Last edited:
OP
Hrishi

Hrishi