LAN accross 150 mts

Discussion in 'Networking' started by techno tublai, Jul 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techno tublai

    techno tublai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hello Everyone. Me and my friend need to setup a LAN from my house to his. We are appx 150 mts apart. Plese tell me how to do that in a cost effective and reliable manner. We dont want excessively high data speeds. Thanking in advance.
     
  2. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
  3. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Wireless...is the best option for u guyz! Go for wireless router that provides 802.3 g configuration! Well modern wireless routers provide both g & b confg i think!
     
  4. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    You can go for a Wireless LAN,but the speeds will be a bit low.
     
  5. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    ^^^ With wireless, I believe you will have to ensure clear line of sight, otherwise range might get reduced considerably... Even if you have clear line of sight now, you must check if such situation will exist as long as you need the LAN connection

    Arun
     
  6. OP
    OP
    techno tublai

    techno tublai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    We dont have any line of sight. So wi-fi is a no-no. How about CAT 5 cables?
     
  7. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Oh no there's no issue of line of sight! Cmon if it were to be an issue, then Wimax wud not be implemented in first place.
     
  8. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    You an use CAT-5 cables to set up a wired LAN.But both the system must have a Ethernet card.
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ The maximum cable length for a CAT-5 cable is 100 mts.. You will need a repeater to use CAT-5 cable for your network.
     
  10. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    dude what is the big deal get CAT6 cables and enjoy gigabit ethernet and maz range up to 700M. ofcuurse u should buy very good quality gigabit lan cards for proper error correction over long range.

    besides u say the distance is 150m and u say that there is no streight line of sight. so consider this, when u put the wire its required length will increase manyfiold. just like if a room is 10x10 feet . and u have a light switch on one wall for bulb on the opp wall. here the wire length wont be 10feet but about 20feet. because the wire has to move along corners and run along walls.

    it would be best to measure the exact distance and if u fall short of wire and then get more to join into it then u leave it exposed to moisture and corrosion. which is very easy outdoors.

    u should run a thread along the whole path and then measure the length of the thread, then get wire atleast 5% extra. also keep into ming that if one of u later has to move the computer around in the house then u need extra length.

    all i want to say is Plan Ahead.

    here are a couple of links of CAT5-CAT6 comparisin

    http://www.connectworld.net/syscon/support.htm
    http://www.ozzu.com/ftopic34232.html

    EDIT: another advice.. keep the wire away from electrical/telephone lines.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2006
  11. OP
    OP
    techno tublai

    techno tublai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    thanx to rollercoster. but any idea about lan using older bnc card? heard they are effective about 1640 feet(500 mts)?
     
  12. ayush_chh

    ayush_chh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    no one uses BNC cards now....

    i think the cheapest way wud be to get 2 ethernet cards, a hub and CAT5 cable.....(and a repeater as kalpik says).....u can also cut off HUB if u use cross crimped cable.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    techno tublai

    techno tublai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Guys forget abt the LAN and BNC. I have decided abt going wireless. Can any one comment? Price of w-lan card? I have got clear line of sight now. But will ad-hoc mode be good for abt 150 mts with even line of sight?
     
  14. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    I also wanna go wireless so will buy a wireless router(wirelss+ethernet cable) first, connect its wire to the desktop and operate wirelessly to lappy!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page