install linux with sata hd

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by the.kaushik, Aug 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the.kaushik

    the.kaushik œ∑´®†¥¨ˆøπåß∂ƒ©˙∆˚¬Ω≈ ç√∫˜

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    is it possible to install fedora on pc with sata hd.
    if yes pls tell me the procedure.. i tried with one of my fried pc and his hd corrupted and we need to re partition it..
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    How do you know that the partition was corrupted? Which version of fedora core was it? FC 4 and 5 work on SATA drives.
     
  3. magnet

    magnet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It didnt get corrupted, just accidentally created a new primary partition I guess, That can be cleared via the XP boot disc. Use a tested media to install FC5, errors will return drastic results!
     
  5. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    have a distro like ubuntu dapper or FC5 with latest kernel with libata supporting sata drives for ur make of hdd.
     
  6. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    Hey I intalled FC5 on sata hdd without any prob..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    the.kaushik

    the.kaushik œ∑´®†¥¨ˆøπåß∂ƒ©˙∆˚¬Ω≈ ç√∫˜

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    i tried with fedora core 4
    it seems i hav to download fedora core 5.. i was waiting for digit to supply it
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page