How to build GUI in c++?

clmlbx

Technomancer
Guys I have self learned c++.now I wish to make GUI for some programmes that I have written in it.. So guys pls tell me where to start... pls give step-by-step as I have no previous knowledge in it..

I learned c++ online and few good videos. I have never read any book. All tuts even books, at least what I have seen start and end in 'CLI' no one has topics for GUI..

nims11

BIOS Terminator
i use Qt for making GUI with C++. it is very powerful and well-documented. But you need to have your OOP concepts clear in order to get comfortable with Qt.

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Yup..!! I've used Qt too..!! The best thing is it's Documentation.

But as already said by nims11, you need to have a good base on C++, which I didn't have.

So now as I know the basics already, I'm planning to learn C and C++ again now in advanced mode.

$$Lionking$$

In the zone
clmlbx - Win32 API... :) try D.J. Delorie (djgpp) or what I personally use -> Bloodshed(needs manual updation).

Also visit developer.amd.com -> try the nice profiler(AMD Code Analyst) from AMD. It will really help you optimize a lot.

sakumar79

Technomancer
VC++ is very easy to use and creating GUI using it is simple. It is available in Express Edition as free of cost. The only downside is that it will work only in Windows...

Arun

OP
clmlbx

clmlbx

Technomancer
Well it seems I have to try all three ..and I will then decide which suits/easy:grin: is for me..but no one gave me step by step guide to start.. pls tell me where to start.

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Lionking and nims11 have suggested two diff. things.

May be that's why you are confused.

If you are looking for frameworks to develop GUI Apps, say like Visual Studio, you are probably looking for what nims11 have suggested, i.e. Qt.