Dell SP2208WFP. Is it 'too old' ?

ithehappy

Human Spambot
That's my monitor's model no. I have been using it for almost 5 years now. It has served me fantastic, but I was wondering has it gone outdated? I mean 1680x1050 is okay with me. And I know that there is NO real OLED monitors out there ( I won't buy those LCD crapped LED stuff). But I was wondering about IPS panels. I mean how are they? Are they really good? Will it be a huge step up from my current one?

Thanks in advance.

Saurav.

Gollum

Collector
That's my monitor's model no. I have been using it for almost 5 years now. It has served me fantastic, but I was wondering has it gone outdated? I mean 1680x1050 is okay with me. And I know that there is NO real OLED monitors out there ( I won't buy those LCD crapped LED stuff). But I was wondering about IPS panels. I mean how are they? Are they really good? Will it be a huge step up from my current one?

Thanks in advance.

Saurav.

3 Weeks back I bought Dell S2240L
Its a 22" IPS LCD
S2240L 54.6 cm (21.5") Monitor with LED Panel Details

Pretty good IMO, checkout the link I posted. colors are very good with nice blacks

OP
ithehappy

ithehappy

Human Spambot
Seems like a nice one. What's the price of it atm?
Also I would like to have 24", if I upgrade, as my current one is 22"already.

OP
ithehappy

ithehappy

Human Spambot
Thanks pal. That seems nice pricing! 12k for 24", wow!
Wonder how much could I get for mine, lol..

d3p

PowerHouse
Thanks pal. That seems nice pricing! 12k for 24", wow!
Wonder how much could I get for mine, lol..

IMO, if your monitors serves fine till now, then stick to it. GTX 580 with 1680x1050 might be a big hit for number of games with ultra or anything above High.

Also the size difference between 22 & 24 is not that great.

Selling your existing Monitor might not fetch you atleast half of the new ST24xx.

OP
ithehappy

ithehappy

Human Spambot