Cannot boot from hard disk

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ravikanth, Sep 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ravikanth

    ravikanth Exploring

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Hi i bought a new intel atom. And formatted and installed a fresh copy of windows xp in 80bg pata hardisk. Xp got installed fine and working properly... installed all mobo drivers too. But when i restart, i am unable to boot from hard disk. Its say no bootable device found. But if i keep the bootable xp cd in drive, then with the help of that windows starts. I tried by changing the boot options by setting to boot from hard disk.. but it is not recognising hdd as bootable.

    How can i fix it? What could be the problem?
     
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    What does that mean?
    By doing this u r able enter ur installed XP or new installation?
     
  3. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Maybe your OS partition is not bootable. Did you repartition your HDD instead of just formatting it? The OS partition has to be made bootable by making it "Active".

    You can check this by booting with an MS-DOS boot disk, with Partition Magic, or other disk management prog.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ravikanth

    ravikanth Exploring

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Yes by booting from cd I'm able to use my installed xp. But from hdd it dosent boot.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    I did not repartioned it. Just formatted c drive and installed xp. I don't have a ms dos boot disk, I will try with partition magic.
    But I never seen an option to make a partition active while installing os.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2009
  5. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If the OS partition was bootable before and you did not make any changes, there's no need to make it bootable again. I just wondered if you changed the active status of the OS partition.
     
  6. hypbita

    hypbita New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page