Calling all Linux Experts: I've got a million questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nvidia

-----ATi-----
Hi guys,
I really like to start using Linux.. But i'm a noob. Everytime i install linux i will have some problem or the other and ill just format the drive containing Linux. But this time i thought, i could start to learn something from this forum.:)
I'm using Ubuntu that was given in Digit December DVD.

Back to my topic -
First i need to install my graphics driver. It asked me to log in as root.. With great difficulty i logged in as root. When i double click on the file which has a .run extention, it opens a dialog box and there i chose "run in terminal"
I get an error there... It says - " ERROR: You appear to be running an X Server; Please exit X before installing. For further details, please see the section INSTALLING THE NVIDIA DRIVER in the README available on the Linux driver download page at www.nvidia.com"
Well.. What do i do?:confused:

ray|raven

Think Zen.
Since you are running ubuntu, it has the restricted drivers manager,
if i remember correctly,
try installing you driver through it, instead of manually.

Regards,
ray

I too have decided to start using linux 2day.And i too get many probs when i install linux
I have Dled ubuntu7.10 64 bit alternate cd and ubuntu 8.04 alpha 4 64bit.which one should i install??
i hope nvidia8800 doesnt mind me questioning on his thread.
I asked here coz i didnt want to start a new thread

OP
nvidia

nvidia

-----ATi-----
^^No problem if you question here Sunny.. Even ill get to learn more:)

I tried that Restricted Drivers Manager thing. When i click on enable option, it says
Enable the Driver?

NVIDIA accelerated graphics driver (latest cards)

This driver is required to fully utilise the 3D potential of NVIDIA graphics cards, as well as provide 2D acceleration of newer cards.

If you wish to enable desktop effects, this driver is required.