A small guide on Nautilus

Status
Not open for further replies.

shivkumar

>>>>>Monkey Power
This small tutorial, i have created from a lot of reading of references and personal experiments, since I am relatively new to Linux (especially Ubuntu where it is the default file manager), I recommend all newbies like me to read and see and explore the power of nautilus.

Nautilus is a powerful file manager and in addition to that it is a lot more, it can perform lot of other tasks as well.
Well when you open nautilus you won't find any place (or URI) to enter the location you want to browse, so you can get it by pressing {Ctrl} + {L}. This will provide you with lots of powerful tools, some of which I have explored, I have given below
1. Nautilus as a CD/DVD burner : open URI and Enter the “burn:///” and it drops you to a front-end for burning CDs and DVDs, simply drag and drop the files and folders, organise them and click on burn button and here you go. Your files are written in the optical media.
2. Nautilus emulating Windows Explorer : Well, I have recently shifted from Windows, so I still miss the “My Computer” Explorer look. Try entering “computer:///” in URI and you get the look of Windows Explorer with drives mounted as separate disk along with your CD/DVD drives and other devices like pen drive listed there; Enjoy browsing like windows.
3. Nautilus as FTP browser: Enter the following info in URI and there you go to browse ftp location: “ftp://username:password@location.domain”. The same thing can be achieved by File Menu -> Connect to server... .
4. Nautilus as network browser: Enter “network:///” and you can browse the Windows or linux network computers and shared drives through it .