Basic Guide Purchase a New System

i would say core i3 dude...

please don't call me dude... :p

core i3 is better anyday than a c2d exxx series proc but abhidev have posted on this post that he wants to upgrade only the mobo and cpu - so I suggested his accordingly so that he can use his old DDR2 ram with it.

Isn't i5 better than i3.....m an average gamer.so suggest somethiing which will satisfy my gaming needs.I hv already purchased Msi R5770 1gb.

---------- Post added at 11:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:14 PM ----------

how much will i7 cost....n which one would be preferred for gaming...i5 or i7?? u guys suggest me something n then accordingly i'll manage.but for u guys to start with, something arnd 15k-18k

---------- Post added at 11:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

Are yaar, the systems is fine except for the RAM slot which is broken.Because of that now i just hv 2gb RAM and the rest 1gb is unused.I hv installed win7 and running games on it is slower.So for that i hv to lower down graphics a bit.

Core i5 661 ( dual core 3.33 GHz TB 3.6 Ghz ) ~ 10k / Core i5 750 ( quad core 2.66 Ghz TB 3.20Ghz ) ) ~ 10k ( recommended
MSI P55M GD45 ~ 5.5k
2 GB Transcend or Kingston DDR3 Mem ~ 2.3k

Are yaar, the systems is fine except for the RAM slot which is broken.Because of that now i just hv 2gb RAM and the rest 1gb is unused.I hv installed win7 and running games on it is slower.So for that i hv to lower down graphics a bit.

ok....then go for core-i5.......:grin:
core-i7 is costly than i-5
get 2GB RAM more.....
& MSI P-55 mobo......

abhidev

please don't call me dude... :p

core i3 is better anyday than a c2d exxx series proc but abhidev have posted on this post that he wants to upgrade only the mobo and cpu - so I suggested his accordingly so that he can use his old DDR2 ram with it.

Core i5 661 ( dual core 3.33 GHz TB 3.6 Ghz ) ~ 10k / Core i5 750 ( quad core 2.66 Ghz TB 3.20Ghz ) ) ~ 10k ( recommended
MSI P55M GD45 ~ 5.5k
2 GB Transcend or Kingston DDR3 Mem ~ 2.3k

Hey thanx for ur reply but which one is better, i5 661 or i5 750. Also will 2gb DDR3 be enough?

borax12

the dotmaster
Hey thanx for ur reply but which one is better, i5 661 or i5 750. Also will 2gb DDR3 be enough?

i5 750...if its quad core the way u want o go...and salso this one o'clocks really well ...that too one stock intel heatsinks....

and yes 2gb ddr3 will be enough ...if its light gaming,multimedia...only that u are intersted in....

and read this-i5 661 vs i5 750? - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

@ abhidev - core i5 661 has high stock speed and it's only for those who is scared about Ocing and it has inbuilt graphics thus it's suitable to use with H55 chipset mobos as well and some people really like a mobo with inbuilt graphics - so I've listed it in the suggestion but I've recommended core i5 750 to you - I think you've not noticed it :p

the quad core i5 750 is a better deal anytime - it has 8 mb cache and with a good cpu cooler can give you very good clock speed and as more application and games are getting multi-core optimized every day it's better to invest in a multi core cpu like core i5 750.

borax12

the dotmaster
no actually vwad...amd does offer a variety on cpu choices on various budget levels........though intel has a kind of better performance while gaming....but they seem to neglect us indians...who are a little budget conscious.....anyways that what i think......

@topgear-...the i5 661...being a dual core...has HT enabled...though that does increase stock speeds...when a single or dual core is being used....but on a more broader term....quad core....with a good l3 cache....is better....and overall better performance
and how can a good hsf....or cooler give more clock speed....do u mean on o'clocking..then yes...it sure will.....as stock HSF suck.....(but sometimes liquid cooling solutions...like corsiar h50 attract me more..)

I know that i5 661 is one is HT enabled so the OS would see it as a 4 core proc but the performance of 4 physical cores are far more better compared to dual core Ht cpus in multicore optimized apps.

Yep, I meant OCing to churn out the last performance bit out of the cpu possible and a good coller also helps in another way - less heat = more component durability :p

Liquid cooling is good but you will need some experience in installing them and a suitable cabby and some people are scared about leakage probs as well ( yep, I know some ). on the contrary air cpu coolers can be installed in almost every cabby, there is no risk in using them, their installation is also simple as well and they performs very good as well - that's why most people buy and use and recommend air cpu coolers:p

pulsar_swift

no actually vwad...amd does offer a variety on cpu choices on various budget levels........though intel has a kind of better performance while gaming....but they seem to neglect us indians...who are a little budget conscious.....anyways that what i think......

@topgear-...the i5 661...being a dual core...has HT enabled...though that does increase stock speeds...when a single or dual core is being used....but on a more broader term....quad core....with a good l3 cache....is better....and overall better performance
and how can a good hsf....or cooler give more clock speed....do u mean on o'clocking..then yes...it sure will.....as stock HSF suck.....(but sometimes liquid cooling solutions...like corsiar h50 attract me more..)

that post is very irritating to read. this pattern ... .... ..... .... ....

2GB is enuf...if u use 32Bit OS(XP/Win 7) if ur going for 64Bit then 3GB/4GB is highly recommended.......:grin:

though..the 2GB is enuf for now coz ur card already has 1GB memory.....:wink:

vwad

2GB is enuf...if u use 32Bit OS(XP/Win 7) if ur going for 64Bit then 3GB/4GB is highly recommended.......:grin:

though..the 2GB is enuf for now coz ur card already has 1GB memory.....:wink:

Is this benchmark applicable in same manner to Phenom II x4 procys also ?

vwad

I didn't get you.

I meant whether the same condition is applicable for AMD machines too ? i.e. to say abhidev was asking regarding i5 processors that whether 2GB RAM will be enough, so I wanted to know whether a Phenom II X4 965 BE and the graphics card also has the same needs or do we need to think about them in a different way while running 64bit OSes on them ?

so I wanted to know whether a Phenom II X4 965 BE and the graphics card also has the same needs or do we need to think about them in a different way while running 64bit OSes on them ?
dude...2GB is enuf if ur using 32bit OS....but while using 64BitOS....4GB is recommended..to utilize its full speed :)

abhidev

Thats why I love AMD, so much choices available na. No offense abhidev bhai, just my opinion :)

firstly i don't know much abt AMD products...only thing i hv heard is that they go through heating problems a lot..so m bit scared to buy any of amd products,thats the only reason...i know they hv improved a lot but then still...u know wat i mean..hehehe...:)

Also is there a better motherboard...as in the best which can support i5/i7 other than MSI P55M GD45....also what is 3 way SLI??

dude...u have ATI card & u r asking for SLI....WTF???? :-x

SLI is for Nvidia.....
Cross-Fire is for ATI......:)

& BTw MSI P55 is good.....;-)