Will c2d E4500 bottleneck HD 6850?

AJK

Broken In
hey guys i have been using e4500 for the past 3 years and im looking for an part by part upgrade now . firstly i was thinking about adding a HD 6850 to my current system but one of my friends said that the processor will bottleneck the gpu and i wont be able to get max fps at 1080p :???: is it true ? if so should i settle for a 5770 instead of 6850 ?also i would probably change the cpu and mobo in a few months time so what do u guys suggest i should do ?

Skud

Super Moderator
Staff member
My e7400 is definitely a bottleneck for my 6950. So I guess your CPU will be a bottleneck for 6850.

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
tenida your CPU is the bottleneck,not GPU.

the gtx 560 ti can eat any nfs game for breakfast.

what you need to do is OC that cpu or get a c2 quad(no point really,i5/i7 is way to go).

@OP the C2D will be a bottleneck, you should save some more money and get a 2500k and budget p67/z68 mobo.

get the 6850 for now though.it should be ok for a while if u OC the CPU

Tenida

Gadget Freak
@Extreme bhai i am getting 30-40 fps in 1920*1080 resolution and sometime shutter problem. I think nfs hp is not optimized game.Yes cpu is bottle necking my gpu.

Skud

Super Moderator
Staff member
OCing is not gonna help you much. I had OCed my CPU to 3.6GHz, but it failed to remove the bottleneck. I think you have to hit at least 4 GHz to see some real difference.

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
it is an optimized game ok?

OC the cpu and see the difference.3.6ghz should be easy for the e7300, 4ghz if good mobo.

also skud:lolwut?its a cpu bound game so it should not be unexpected.

try maxing out gfx quality in the driver control panel,like 16xQ AA or more.

Skud

Super Moderator
Staff member