1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Virus in Windows XP..pls help

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by thetechfreak, Nov 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,405
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There is a virus in my PC which creates autorun.inf files in all removable drives and pen drives.The anti-virus doesnot detects virus even in safe mode.I installed new Anti virus in safe mode like Norton 2010 provided in November 2009.Tried avast and threatfire after updating.Pls tell how to remove virus.Thanks.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    Help needed.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    Help me somebody.Please
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  2. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
  3. OP
    OP
    thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,405
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I can remove autorun.inf but its created again and also setup.exe...pls help some one..
     
  4. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^Did you stop its execution through MSCONFIG->STARTUP??
     
  5. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    try avast and go for a boot time scan
     
  6. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    Try antivir antivirus
     
  7. ashikns

    ashikns ByTeS fLoWiNg ThRu VeIns!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Boot into safemode and disable all unwanted startup from msconfig.Also get avast and run a boot-time scan as CA50 said
     
  8. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    Test your antivirus efficency :
    copy this code in notepad and save as a text file, then rename the file to an exe one. If your AV detects the exe as a virus then your AV is a good one.

    X5O!P%@AP[4\PZX54(P^)7CC)7}$EICAR-STANDARD-ANTIVIRUS-TEST-FILE!$H+H*

    Though this method is not fool proof, yet this will test the efficency of youe current AV.
     
  9. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    ^^ Norton detects (EICAR test string) and status is high risk!!!!

    But why though?
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    ^^ Norton detects (EICAR test string) and status is high risk!!!!

    But why though?
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  10. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Detected Instantly
     
  11. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    :razz::razz:That piece of code is just for testing not virus.
    Anyway norton is good. I tried it with Norton 2010 but didn`t detected it immediately. BTW did your AV detected the virus after on-demand scan or just after renaming.:razz::razz:
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    What is ur AV:?::?:
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
  12. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ Kaspersky Internet Security 2009
     
  13. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    grt AV then, but did it detect the virus on On-demand scanning or just renaming??
    Is just renaming then your AV is not sleeping else it was sleeping and you kow what to do about a sleeping dog
     
  14. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    It detected instantly. even i was not able to save it
     
  15. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    ^ That means NORTON passes the virus detection test.
     
  16. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It detected on renaming
     
  17. evewin89

    evewin89 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use NOD32 and according to me itz one of the best anti.virus. so try it.:razz:
     
  18. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    Though kaspersky is a grt AV, your Av is not detecting a simple piece of code. The resident protection may not be up to the mark. think abt it:oops::oops:
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    hey man Nod32 is a cool piece of code, it even detected the code in txt form. I am using it with Vista.:-o:-o:p:p:p
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
  19. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    hi fnds see Nod32 even detected the code in text form, image below
    [​IMG]
     
  20. evewin89

    evewin89 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u r rite man...coz one can really trust nod32. i think itz better than most of the well known AV till date :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page