Video Encoding: For Beginners

RahulB

Journeyman
More and More people have started to use their PCs for Multimedia Playback and Content creation, it is hard to miss how much Video is being shared today by people online.

Most of us have a lot of Movie DVD's ( Originals ) with us that we want to backup, however most people tend to use lousy Software solutions for this, so keeping this in mind I have decided to post a Tutorial how to get good quality backups out of your collection.. I will not explain how to rip copyright protection as it is against forum rules, if you want to learn that find it elsewhere on the web.

This tutorial is for complete beginners who have no clue about video encoding, advance users stay away..

NOTE: This tutorial is for backups of DVDs and Video in general. Blu-ray encoding is not covered because it little more complex. That will be dealt later...

SOFTWARE USED: Handbrake, Why?
Reasons: - Open Source
- Completely Free
- Simple to use, ideal for beginners
- Bloat-free, doesn't come unnecessary crap
- You can get very high quality, with right settings
- You don't need to install anything extra for it to work
- Uses high quality x264 library.
- Available for Windows, Mac, Linux ( Fedora and Ubuntu )

Download stable builds from here: ( 32 and 64-bit )
HandBrake

However I recommend that you download the latest nightly build as they use the latest versions of x264, don't worry I have never faced a single crash myself they work very well... ( 32 and 64-bit )

Download from here: *build.handbrake.fr/

Windows users also download .NET Package 3.5 from here ( I am not sure if it is required but the developers recommend it: Download: .NET Framework 3.5 Service pack 1 - Microsoft Download Center - Download Details

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Install and Launch Handbrake

Note. On windows Handbrake minimizes to system tray, this can be changed
in Tools->Options->Advanced