Ubuntu Help- Low disk space

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by saigalp, Sep 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saigalp

    saigalp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Hi,
    I recently installed ubuntu 6.06, in dual boot with Win XP, from the live CD I got from shipit.ubuntu. At the time of installation I chose the first option for Partitioning i.e. install on hda7 and the only change I made was to allot 100% 18gb space on hda7 instead of 50% as shown by ubuntu. My computer has 80gb hard disk with four equal partitions. After that the installation went fine. I then configured my network and downloaded updates. Which also went fine. But then I started getting low disk space message. Currently it says that 99% of my disk is full. On checking from my windows partition I found that / had only 2 gb on the partition and rest of hda7 still shows fat 32.
    Please help me to allot more space to ubuntu so that it can work properly.
    I have partition manager on my Windows partition. Can I just resize the / partition with the help of PM 8. or do I have to uninstall ubuntu and reinstall it again. If so then please tell me how to partition my drive.
     
  2. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    can u post ur "df -h"(without quotes) ......if u have instled lottof stuffs may be cleaning out /tmp and using ``apt-get autoclean`` will help yu...
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your / is just made off 2 GB, there is hardly you can do anything but to install again, this time manually deleting partitions and creating confiremed sizes. Try as much as possible not to go for automatic solutions.
     
  4. The Outsider

    The Outsider Beneath The Eyelids

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you must have created atleast 3 gb partition, 2gb is the bare minimum.

    i think frm next time you should resize the partition in wondows itself with some partitioning software like partition magic, paragon disk mananger.

    i did it with acronis partition expert.
     
  5. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Use the ubuntu cd itself to resize.. You can use the ubuntu 4.10/5.04/5.10 that install in text mode and resize it in that....
     
  6. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    use ``gparted`` livecd for resizing..
     
  7. sariq

    sariq Guest

    i was also confused during installation the percentage you select is not alloted to ubuntu, it is saved for further use. so if you select 100% means no space is alloted to ubuntu.
    in my case i was having 32GB partition. i entered 24GB - this means ubuntu was installed in partiontion of size 8 GB. 24 GB was left for further use.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    saigalp

    saigalp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    I don't know much about partitioning. Should I uninstall ubuntu and then create partitions using Partition Manager? Previously I had tried using the manual partition route and I got an error. Instead of taking chances and losing my Win Partitions and data I chose this option of automatic partitioning. Please guide what partitions to create and what sizes.
    __________
    I am enclosingoutput/ herewith the screenshot of the df -h command:Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 2.1G 2.0G 13M 100% /
    varrun 244M 92K 244M 1% /var/run
    varlock 244M 4.0K 244M 1% /var/lock
    udev 244M 132K 244M 1% /dev
    devshm 244M 0 244M 0% /dev/shm
    lrm 244M 19M 226M 8% /lib/modules/2.6.15-23-386/volatilepramod@pramod-desktop:~$
    __________
    the output of df -h command is as under:Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 2.1G 2.0G 13M 100% /
    varrun 244M 92K 244M 1% /var/run
    varlock 244M 4.0K 244M 1% /var/lock
    udev 244M 132K 244M 1% /dev
    devshm 244M 0 244M 0% /dev/shm
    lrm 244M 19M 226M 8% /lib/modules/2.6.15-23-386/volatilepramod@pramod-desktop:~$
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2006
  9. The Outsider

    The Outsider Beneath The Eyelids

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think you should reinstall, i also have a 80 gb hd

    what i had was all partitions nfts so i resized the last ntfs partition in way that 8 gb was left free and unpartitioned.
    then i installed ubuntu with "/" partition = 7 gb and swap = 600 mb

    my main fear was also loosing the data and i didn't loose any data, its been a week and everything working pretty cool.

    so the main thing i did was resizing the partition and freeing up space in windows and let ubuntu installer create its / and swap partitions.

    hope that helps
    btw, i'm not an experienced a linux user, its been just a week
    rest tech_your_future bro can always help you hahaha

    check my topic for reference, maybe that can help more
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36296
     
  10. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    saigal,as u can see `/` is full and a meagre 2.1G and a free space of only 13MB!.one option is to use gparted live cd or knoppix live having qtparted and resize the `/`(ie;/dev/hda3) partn if any free space is available.
    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php
    if u have partitions after /dev/hda3 try moving those partns to the right (free space);i bet is better for u to have a reinstall rather.......also make sure u have enough free space ~5-6GB Min
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2006
  11. OP
    OP
    saigalp

    saigalp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Thanks for your help. I will try resizing with partition manager and if it doesn't work I will reinstall. One more thing- do I have to delete an existing partition and leave unpartitioned space or will the installer use the existing fat 32 partition to install? I am confused on this part. please reply.
     
  12. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Saigalp, You need to allocate 8 GB for root('/') & 1.5 GB for swap. The installer won't
    use the existing FAT32 partition!! You need atleast 10 GB unpartitioned space for
    Linux. Keep that in mind. Out of that 10 GB , allocate 8 GB for root & 1.5 for swap.
    You may need to resize or delete one of the Windows partitions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page