Two Files of same name at same place

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by jitun, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jitun

    jitun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Can someone have a explanation for this.

    [​IMG]

    Both the Winamp shortcuts are off 460 bytes Size on disk 8 kb.And this is 100% real.So please don't say it is psed.2 days ago i installed the new version of Winamp 5.12 but uninstalled it and again reinstalled 5.01 on the same directory as the newer verson have a bug(Winamp crashes when turning on equalizer on a 1500kbps 48Khz sound stream).But after the installation finished i saw two shortcuts to Winamp on my desktop.Both of them having the same location for winamp.Can someone explain this?
     
  2. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Unfortunetly ur old winamp shortcut might not be deleted i suppose.....
     
  3. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    The reason is:

    Whenever u create a shortcut of ne file on desktop and if a shortcut is already there with the same name, then windows append (2), (3), .... in the file extension.

    And since u hv enabled the option of "Hide file extensions of known file type" in FOLDER OPTIONS, its not displaying the extensions.

    Actually those 2 winamp files hv different file extensions!

    1 is "winamp.exe" and other is "winamp.exe(2)".
     
  4. imported_dheeraj_kumar

    imported_dheeraj_kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India
    the pic is good....xp messes up sometimes.

    try this:
    first enable the manual blue-screen hotkey.
    create a new shortcut in desktop using the wizard.
    click browse to select some file, before clicking ok, do the bsod trick.

    restart your comp and theres a "New Shortcut" on your desktop pointing nowhere...lol
     
  5. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    @dheeraj_kumar, can u please explain what is the hotkey of manual blue screen and how to do the trick with it?
     
  6. imported_dheeraj_kumar

    imported_dheeraj_kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India
  7. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Just delete a shortcut ..... it'd be fine anyway ....

    Two shorcuts can exist together as their metadata is always different ....
     
  8. OP
    OP
    jitun

    jitun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Ok I FOUND the explaination myself.One shortcut is of te admin and the other if of all user so window is showing both of them on the admin's desktop.But the desktop folder of admin and all user have only one such file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page