suggest Graphic Card under 10K for animation purpose.

The_Man

Broken In
I recommend an Nvdia card.CUDA might turn out to be very useful for you in the future.Adobe products make use of it.Not sure about other apps.ATI offers raw gaming performance.

SlashDK

MV VIP to the MAX
@ The_Man
Not necessarily. AMD's APP (its counterpart of CUDA) is being supported by more and more applications. We also need to see the OP's requirements as he may not use applications that use CUDA.

OP
Y

ysmonyog

Journeyman
This is for my son, who after 10+2 exams in March, will be joining some animation course. I have no knowledge about CUDA or when and at what level this will be used.
p.s. No to gaming.

vickybat

I am the night...I am...
^^ Wait for gts 550. It will support cuda and might give raw gaming performance too in the lines of a 6850.

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member
hey - he mentioned it's "not for gaming" so a WS card might be suitable for him.

Jaskanwar Singh

Aspiring Novelist
Oh man i completely missed the animation part!!!

Get a amd firepro v4800 @ 10k~.

But if adobe is on the list then go ahead with nvidia. Adobe favours cuda.

Also let us know which graphics card do the animation studio recommend?
Which softwares u will use?

Last edited:

vickybat

I am the night...I am...
Oh i missed it too. Rendering cards are very expensive and nvidia femi based quadros will cost an arm and a leg. Jaskanwar's suggestion is also my choice as the v4800 is a great card and is relatively cheap for the performance it gives.

But op should also check the softwares he will use and their requirements.

OP
Y

ysmonyog

Journeyman
But op should also check the softwares he will use and their requirements.

The Animation Academy has listed following softwares:
Adobe- Illustrator, Photoshop, Premier
CorelDraw, Sound Forge, Macrodedia Flash,
Combustion, Dreamweaver, 3DsMax, Maya.

Cilus

laborare est orare