Suggest a new SSD please

Chaitanya

My HDD is dying away so i'm planning to go for a 64 gb ssd + WD caviar blue 500GB..

my budget is 4-5k

config
e7500@2.93ghz
asus p5qpl-am
WD green 500gb:)P:oops:)
intex 450w smps

Also heard that SSD's have limited read/write cycles?? ( here )
Is this true?? will it be a trouble??

max_snyper

Maximum Effort!!!!!!
my friend...the article your are referring to is age old............mostly on a ssd with new controllers..there is not gonna be an issue......
this is how it works.....the data you store onto the ssd (mostly i think os and one or two games)...the data is mostly read from the drive more than written......and if the data is written the controller in-built takes care that its not store onto the same cells which was once before utilized (it takes care of cells wearing out).....putting that into the equation ......a drive mostly last upto 2~3 years..on this type of usage.

now you get it.
then too look for the drive with at least 3 years or more warranty.....
suggestion:
1.gskill
2.corsair
3.kingston
(not in particular order of superiority).

ps. your system is little out of cycle ....then to it will boost ur system.

d6bmg

BMG ftw!!
To be honest, you should be getting a decent enough power supply first.

This!!
Get a good PSU like CX430V2 (at least) before buying SSD.

P.S> I never saw anybody running SSD with desi PSU. SO what the result might be, nobody knows.

max_snyper

Maximum Effort!!!!!!
get atleast cx4302 as d6bmg suggested and a nova series 2 60gb ssd,
save up......and get both in around 6~7 k......good luck with your purchase...!

Chaitanya

Chaitanya

Can anyone guide me to a website that sells Intel SSD's??
I'm really impressed by their performance & reliability graphs..

Tech_Wiz

SSDs actually consume a lot less power. PSU doesn't even be considered as a factor for selecting SSD. (This doesn't mean you should go with Desi PSUs as there are other valuable parts in System also)