Slow Burning Speeds

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by tharkiman, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tharkiman

    tharkiman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been experiencing this problem of very slow DVD burning speeds, of about 1.5X even when the target is set to 16X. When using Nero, I observed that the buffer level keeps fluctuating. The DVD which is supposed to burn in 7-8 minutes is taking an hour to burn.

    Config : P4 2.8, ASRock Motherboard, 768MB RAM, etc etc.
    Recent Change : New SMPS

    Please help!!!!!
     
  2. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    Are u using Nero 6 or 7 ??
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First see if DMA mode is enabled in the properties of the burner. If not, try enabling it.

    Second, does this happen with all the media. And are the media reputed or cheap ones?
     
  4. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    If u r using Nero 6 Change to Nero 7 becos it has ULTRA BUFFER. it will give u extra speed for writing.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tharkiman

    tharkiman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using Nero 7.....and also Roxio EMC 9... nd the medium is Moser Baer 4x DVD+RWs nd also tried 16x DVD+Rs

    But this problem wasn't there earlier... So no possibility of softwares causing the problems..
     
  6. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    Are u trying to burn Media on to that or Data??
     
  7. OP
    OP
    tharkiman

    tharkiman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    both....does tht matter anyway?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    tharkiman

    tharkiman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any1............?
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Did you check whether DMA is enabled as Qwerty suggested.
     
  10. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Aahh ?? Huh ??? Hmm .. so i can get around 48x for a 16x DVD-R ???
     
  11. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then am sure its the DMA that's been disabled weirdly. Just re-enable it and you'll get back the good speeds.

    @deathvirus_me - Lol :D
     
  12. gksunil

    gksunil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how to check this? i didn't see it in the properties
     
  13. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah seemingly it is due to DMA problem.
    Check in Device manager -> IDE -> properties of primary or secondary Channel...
    It will show in advanced settings Tab, the current DMA mode. It shouldn't be in PIO mode.
    post in details of that if you still have problem

    Cheers,
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page