Slow Broadband Speed

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by n2casey, Dec 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    Friends, I got my broadband connection (900 ul) yesterday. :D

    But the speed is very slow. It is just 13-14 KBps for downloading. As I think it must be 28-29 KBps at least.
    I searched for any solution but the only thing I got was to configure modem somewhat like using IP 196.168.1.1/2 .... but it doesn't work coz that IP was not found over the net.
    Does anyone can tell me how can I improve my broadband speed.

    One more thing, is there any difference in 900 UL & 900 UL Plus?
     
  2. sam_1710

    sam_1710 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    firstly wat are you downloading??? and how??
    (hmmm... you talking bout port forwarding??)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    I use opera & mozila for downloading. I download trial versions, free versions of softwares (large in size too e.g. Acronis True Image, Auto Patcher Full etc.).
    I know there is another thread running for such prob but the only advice given there is to use torrents. I don't want torrents for d/l.

    One more thing to mention here. I have connected my ADSL Router (SmartAX MT882) with USB & it is showing that the USB connection has limited or no connectivity. Then also I m able to connect & d/l at 12-13 KBps.
     
  4. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    right question... :cool:

    whats ur connection interface LAN or USB ??

    in any way Go to network connection and then asign the IP addresses in LAN adopter whether its Ethernet or USB...

    IP - 192.168.1.xx (any number apart from 0 and 1 and up to 255)
    Subnet - 255.255.255.0
    Default Getway - 192.168.1.1

    Primary DNS - 61.0.0.5
    Alternet DNS - 61.1.96.71


    now u should be able to access the configuration panel (http://192.168.1.1/)... :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic

    That works Saurav. I assigned xx other than 0 & 1, & it works. When I was searching I got the solution as assigning xx as 1, & that was making a prob.
    Anyway , thx for help. I will check my speed & will tell later about it.
     
  6. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    well 192.168.1.1 is the default IP of the Modems which comes with BSNL... so yeah its suppose to couse IP conflict...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    OK. I accessed configuration panel & checked the settings.

    Suggested settings to increase speed, r

    PVC Number - PVC-0
    Wan Type - RFC2684Bridged
    VPI/VCI - 0/35
    Encap. - LLC

    but my modem have all these settings so nothing to b change & still the d/l speed is 12-13 KBps.

    Now what can I do to increase the speed?
     
  8. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    test with many sites and many type of download...

    make sure u r using a Download Manager for this tests.. use Symantec (Download the offline update) or Microsoft (Windows Media player) or Google (Google earth) to test ur speed...

    ping BSNL DNS, 61.1.96.71, 61.0.0.5 to see whether u r facing any data loss or not...

    ....

    as if all these tests results comes -ve u dont have much option rather fileing a complain at BSNL's end... :(

    P.S. make sure no spyware / virus / or any autometic update is eating all the bandwidth... :|
     
  9. amit2005

    amit2005 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in front of PC
    well try TCP optimizer...available on speedguide.net it'll configure ur settings to inch perfect....also some tweaks available there do try them...
    __________
    n one thing more do post ur speed test.....u can try speedguide.net
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  10. joelf15

    joelf15 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but hey whts ur speed connection??128 or 256 or 192???
     
  11. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    does this THING really increase ur SPEED ?
     
  12. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    well if u are with 256 plan and getting speeds bellow 15 then u might try..

    but i have seen BSNL modems are very simple internet surfing u dont need any advance tweek... at least with default settings i can run at my highest speed with Torrent / and any download... without any port forwarding so any such config... :)
     
  13. : SPiRiT :

    : SPiRiT : New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google around for "Cablenut" it WILL help u increase uer download speed to about 30 to 40kbps(for 256kbps- dataone)
     
  14. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    Oooooo man do I miss the Correct Button .... So many suggestions and no idea which one actually clicks ...
     
  15. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I am using UL 900 Plus with MT882 modem(But i use Lan Card).....and the browser(Opera/FF2/K-Melon) download speed is 29-30 Kb/s ....and in torrent (utorrent) it usually 30-32 kb/s depends on the torrent file health.


    @n2casey If the speed goes down....and if there is no fault in your side then the problem lies in the ISP side.....and i think there is no software tweak will help to increase your line speed.

    Call them or wait....your line will be Ok soon.

    In my place, in the month of NOV there was a major drop-down and those days i will got only 3-5 kb/s download speed.
     
  16. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bsnl broadand is having lots of problem at my place. it was hell november, now during december the problems has continued. bsnl customer service have said they have problems and said not reset modem.
    from your side check that phone wire and you are getting clearer dial tone or not.
     
  17. techtronic

    techtronic I Always Prefer 1080p

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please check you SNR (Signal to Nosie Ratio)

    If its below 25.
    you might definitely experience severe disconnections
    inspite of getting average download speeds
     
  18. OP
    OP
    n2casey

    n2casey Super Hero - Super Powers

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dynamic
    OK friends. At last I have improved my Broadband speed & now I have 29-32 KBps download speed. :D

    Members having same prob as mine can try, what I have done.

    Configure ur Modem as told here.

    I just followed the second part "Configuring BSNL Dataone on SmartAX MT882 ADSL Router" only.

    Next, download all patches including TCP Optimizer & @ Home Speed Patch from here.

    Apply all patches (be careful, don't apply 98/ME patch in 2K/XP & vice varsa), & restart ur system.

    Now create a new connection from Control Panel & try to watch the difference.

    I m not posting this in tutorial section coz I m not sure that it will work or not for u.
     
  19. reddick

    reddick Mobile Freak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S.B.S Nagar , Punjab
    Which bb company conn. u have...Report to their cc n it's their headache to solve ur problem :idea: Hope it works :!:
     
  20. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hope you don't know the BSNL's Official.....Help Desk....and so on.

    They know nothing what to do or not....sometime customer know better than the official person.
    If they can't solve anything they point out the problem. "Your computer is affected by virus and you must re-format it".

    Sometime they insists FULL HDD format to delete all the partition and so on....

    but my above statement does not mean the DataOne is not good....It truly Rocks when it is in ideal condition.

    that's all my experience....it may vary man to man .....place to place
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page