Recommendations needed for GPU purchase

quicky008

Technomancer
I am using a 8600GT with a 20" Samsung LCD monitor.This GPU struggles to run most newer games at higher resolutions and hence I am keen on upgrading it soon.I am looking for a reliable graphics card with at least 1GB video memory that can run upcoming games like Crysis 2 in DirectX11 mode at my monitor's native resolution i.e. 1600*900 with most of the visual settings maxed out.

I do not intend to spend more than Rs 8000 on the new card.So please recommend something that'll fit into my budget and take care of all my gaming needs for a while.I prefer using Nvidia graphics cards but suggestions about Ati GPUs are also welcome.I'd also like to add that I have a cooler master Extreme power 600W psu that features 2 six pin pci-e power connectors.

My system config is as follows-Pentium D 2.66GHz,945 GNT Intel mobo with a pci-e slot and 2GB ram.

ssb1551

Technomancer
HD5770 is the card for you though you might have to pay some 200/300 bucks extra.I don't know whether you can play Crysis 2 at max visual settings with it or not but at your budget thats the best bet.And no nVidia has nothing to offer within 8k which beats 5770.

OP
quicky008

quicky008

Technomancer
What about the 1GB nvidia GTS 450?Will it be a good buy?I have heard that the Gts 450 and Radeon HD5770 are very similar to each other in terms of performance-is it true?

How much is a GTS 450 expected to cost?

vickybat

I am the night...I am...
gts 450 will perform slightly less than a radeon 5770 but is quite close and priced cheaper too at around 6.8k. You will get physx and cuda support too and better performance in some 3d editing apps like vue(for example).

Upgrade your cpu if you want to utilise your newer card to the fullest. GO FOR AN AMD BASED ATHLON 2 X4 imo.

OP
quicky008

quicky008

Technomancer