Poor student, career options.

rahul_c

Journeyman
I am a below average student just appeared for 12th this year, I think I will not be able to clear Math exam. Just to get my head clear, I want to know what are my options if I fail or get compartment?
If I fail I think I will have to do a diploma, how bad is it to do diploma. I was thinking of doing 3 year diploma that requires class X and then join a engineering college through lateral entry.
Cant shake the feeling of having dark future. Help me guys.

digitaltab

In the zone
you are already talking like your result is out and you failed the exam!!!

the better idea is that study again in 12th to pass the exam rather than diploma...

that will leave you plenty of career choices + you'll not regret the decision in your whole life..

OR why not choose biology in 12th instead of math if you think you are weak???

study the 12th class again with biology as major...it'll waste one more year but at least you'll do good in 12th, and hence many career options after that...

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
I'd also suggest as Shivam suggested.

You can go with these diplomas and all but I'd recommend appear on 12th again if you fail by any chance.

Because after passing 12th you'll have plenty of changes opened for you.

And also not clearing Higher Secondary school may create many problems later.

Anyway, Best of luck for your result :)

Desmond

Destroy Erase Improve
Staff member
Admin
First of all, stop calling yourself poor. I myself was not so good either (God! I hate studies) but managed to scrape past maths somehow and got into Engineering.

Also, keep diploma as a last resort. And, like krishnandu.sarkar suggests, in case of (God forbid) failure, it'd be better to attempt again and pass than enroll for diploma and waste 2 years (since you'd be going into 2nd year engineering after that).