PC Buying Guide - July 2011

and please comment on more modified front too.
*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/pc-components-configurations/138637-pc-buying-guide-july-2011-a.html
was yesterday one better or this?

better than previuous ;-)

@TP
a little modification -

Sub 15k (Best for office work,downloading)

Component | Make | Price Processor |AMD Athlon II x2 250|2700
Motherboard |Gigabyte GA-MA78LMT-S2|2500
RAM |G-skill F3-10600CL9S-2GBNT|900
HDD |WDC Green 500GB|1900
DVD Writer |LG 22X SATA DVD|900
Case + PSU |Zebronics Bijli (with psu)|1500
Monitor |Acer H163WA|3800
Keyboard & Mouse |Logitech MK100|500
UPS |Microtek 600VA|1200
Speakers |Basic Headphones|100
| Total |16000

what say?

great - now time to put it on the front page - can we tag as little santa/banta's first PC ;-)

Guys, for case fans 45-50 CFM is enough?

I dodn't think so - better to gt 90 CFM or greater if you are talking about 120mm fans ;-)

^^ availability of silverstone psu might be an issue. Corsair AX 1200 is more than enough.
Gpu should be 3 msi gtx 580 lightning 3gb trisli.

Should refrain from using server cpu's. I think sandybridge-e or the socket 2011 will be the ideal platform for this kind of rig.

server cpu's are not easily available everywhere and you are right vicky you should better wait for the sandybridge-e cpu's to be released for the most priciest config.

Deleted member 118788

For God Rig/Dream Machine:

Processor: Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV - Z
Ram: Corsair Dominator GT
CPU Cooler: Custom Liquid Cooling
Video Card: MSI GTX580 Lightning Xtreme Edition 3GB In Sli
SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 240GB MAX IOPS Edition
HDD: WD Caviar Black 1 TB In Raid 5
PSU: Enermax Maxrevo 1350W/1500W
Case: Corsair Osbidian 800D
Sound Card: Asus Xonar Essence ST
Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp 30/27 Or Asus PA246Q Proart

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
^^ availability of silverstone psu might be an issue. Corsair AX 1200 is more than enough.
Gpu should be 3 msi gtx 580 lightning 3gb trisli.

Should refrain from using server cpu's. I think sandybridge-e or the socket 2011 will be the ideal platform for this kind of rig.
why refrain from Server PSUs?Actually they are workstation chips. They can OC further and last longer. They can even handle higher temps.

Sandy Bridge-E has been delayed btw. I have based this setup on currently available products.

@Tkin: The G700 is the better mouse vs G9X. They both cost about the same but the G700 has more buttons, and is wireless(which works very well actually). I own this mouse.
AX-1200 is enough for single CPU+3-Way SLI, but Dual- CPU will be pushing it.
3-Way SLI takes up ~1150Mhz load on the wall. 1500W is more long-lasting and the PSU is available at theitdepot.com .
Creative X-Fi Titanium HD is better as it has less noise AFAIK. however it will be worth waiting for Sound Blaster Core-3D products to come out.
I think 2560x1600 x3 is better than 1200p x3 3D.

So an update:

2x Xeon 5690
EVGA Classified SR2
3x MSI GTX 580 Lightning Extreme Edition
48GB Corsair Dominator GT 2400Mhz 12x4GB (6x(2x4GB) Kits)+ 2x AFPro kit+ 12x Extended Fins.
Logitech G19 keyboard //There is no 7GV2 //*steelseries.com/products/keyboards
Logitech G700 Mouse here: *www.logitech.com/en-us/mice-pointers/mice/devices/7244
Logitech Z906 Speaker System //No soundcard. use SPDIF out.
Danger Den Double Wide Tower LDR 29 Case //Customize the thing before buying it, so that all the radiators can fit *www.dangerden.com/store/double-wide-tower-29-ldr-black-series.html
Sennheiser HD800/650
Triple Monitor setup: 1600p no 3D or 1200p 3D
Razer hydra
Logitech G27 Wheel
logitech Flight System G940
Wireless Gamepad F710
A good Microphone
Corsair Force GT 240GBx2 RAID 0 *www.corsair.com/solid-state-drives/force-series-gt.html [WOW]

Complete Watercooling setup.Will add it here later.

aby geek

no point making a xeon rig wth geforces. xeons do not help in gaming at all.
and geforce would just do a fair contribution to 3d applications.

its a waist of money IMO. you could consider i7 990x gulftown though.

btw how many card slots does SR2 offer?

ek to 200k limit? tch bhool jao jab skud ki jeb se paise baras rahen hain to tenu ki farak penda hai :D

and secondly chassis should be thermalteke level 10 else forget this crazy assemblage.

@ cilus could you through some light on thermaltek level 10. i mean how long a card can we fit in it given its different design?

Jaskanwar Singh

and secondly chassis should be thermalteke level 10 else forget this crazy assemblage.

chassis should be this -
Newegg.com - Thermaltake Level 10 VL30001N1Z Black Aluminum ATX Super Full Tower Gaming Station Computer Case

Thermaltake Level 10 VL30001N1Z Black :twisted:

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
never said Xeons help in gaming. i just said they are workhorses that can take more punishment in terms of heat and OCability.

You cant use 990X in SR2 because it has only 1 QPI link enabled, whereas Xeons have 2. The 2nd link is used to communicate between the 2 CPUs.

ECC will only kick in if you use ECC enabled memory. I think the lower performance is because windows is spreading the threads to both CPUs, which increases latency.

i didnt post this for any limit. i posted this for a no-limit PC.

Dude you must be joking right? 3-Way SLI produces A LOT of heat(you only buy it if you watercool). this case is perfect for a dual-CPU, 3-Way SLI Setup. we are looking at 5x (2x(3x120mm) and 3x(4x140mm)) radiators lol.
level 10 is a POS when it comes to performance vs cheaper cases lol.

@geek-with-lens: The 800D is only good for cooling a single CPU and GPU.

aby geek

i said make a 990x config forget server boards.

@GWL see this frst. YouTube - ‪Thermaltake Level 10 Full Tower Case‬‏

aby geek

just that its not the right way to spend so much money a 2.5lac xeon geforce rig will be beaten by a 1.5 lac true gaming rig.

@jas level 10 GT appears to be level 10 + 800d could you have a look at and give feed back.

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
^^really? can you fit 3-Way SLI + i7 990x setup in 1.5l :))?

the only reason the Xeon doesnt run as good is because of added latency. In single CPU config performance will be near-identical fyi. But yes, there the 990X will be much cheaper, but the 3000 series Xeons will be the better option for only slightly higher cost (longivity, not performance).

aby geek

ye sab sir firon ke kaam hai dont bloat the thread with this unnecesaary discussion. i dont think its practical. but you are an enthusiast so ill just nod to ur claims but seriously believe me its not worth it.

Extreme Gamer

僕はガンダム!
Vendor
Not practical, yes you are correct on that matter ;).Not VFM, again you are correct.
This is a land of diminishing returns.

I could've said 4-Way SLI (Evga and gigabyte support this) but that would make no sense at all, except in 3-Way + physx.

Note, since 3-Way SLI needs watercooling, the Lightnings cant be accommodated, as no full block coolers are available.
The only options are the Palit 3GBs or Gainward 3GB phantoms.

Anyways here comes the WC setup to add to it.

EK Supreme HF Full Nickel x2
Feser monsta 560mm Radiator x3
XSPC RX 360mm Radiator x2
laing D5 standard x4 (independent loops with pump pairing)
Custom EK top for the D5s x4
lots of 3/4" OD compression fittings
EK GTX 580 non reference full-nickel coolers x3.
Reservoir.
lots of 1/2" ID 3/4" OD tubing.
Distilled/Deionized water

Now this is some serious cooling lol.

firon ke kaam

what does that mean? my hindi is not very strong. me being a marwari lol.