Net Connection in Ubunto 5.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

skghosh44

dig_boy_dig,dig !
I am an novice in LINUX. Recently I installed Ubuntu 5.10 after failure to llogin in Fedora 7 after successful installation. Now I wish to make a net connection through BSNL's DataOne BB. I tried the DIGIT Fast Track/Ubuntu's inbuilt help as well as online help. But I am unable to make the net connection. I shall be glad if I get step by step guide how to make the connection.

ubuntu novice.

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl
skghosh44 said:
I am an novice in LINUX. Recently I installed Ubuntu 5.10 after failure to llogin in Fedora 7 after successful installation. Now I wish to make a net connection through BSNL's DataOne BB. I tried the DIGIT Fast Track/Ubuntu's inbuilt help as well as online help. But I am unable to make the net connection. I shall be glad if I get step by step guide how to make the connection.

ubuntu novice.
Find the network administration app. Select the options in ur LAN card such that it will be activated on boot, ip will be obtained via DHCP. I am FC user so i hv no screenshots for u. :)

OP
skghosh44

skghosh44

dig_boy_dig,dig !
I obtained the IP via DHCP. I exactly dont remind, but In one window i have seen network status is active. it received/sents packets and bytes. In windows os we have to make a new internet connection to access the net,
on which we have to provide out user ID/PW created by the ISP. After providing the correct ID/PW we can login the net. But in Ubuntu what is the
procedure.

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl
skghosh44 said:
I obtained the IP via DHCP. I exactly dont remind, but In one window i have seen network status is active. it received/sents packets and bytes. In windows os we have to make a new internet connection to access the net,
on which we have to provide out user ID/PW created by the ISP. After providing the correct ID/PW we can login the net. But in Ubuntu what is the
procedure.