Need help planning out my business network.

reachrishikh

Broken In
Hi,
I'm planning on setting up a small server system at home for holding our business data.
Ours is a small service-oriented company, and we will have several field personnel out in the field in the near future, and they will need to connect to our server via their laptops in order to view information, update information etc.
So my primary requirement is to set up a database server that houses the actual company data, and a web server that holds the front-end application that the field personnel then connect to over VPN through their laptops.

I have virtually no knowledge of networking or server administration, since I am primarily a database programmer and application developer.

I plan to use Windows Server 2008 R2 for the servers, SQL Server 2008 Express for the database, IIS7 (that comes with Windows 2008 R2) for the web server, and PHP (whichever is the latest version).
I have already purchased some hardware for two physical servers.

Now after speaking to some database administration guys over at MSDN over issues of database security, they told me I'd be better off splitting the functions of database server, web server (for our website), web server (for our VPN), and the domain controller over different servers - if possible physical machines, or if not, at least through Hyper-V virtualization.
They also told me that the database server has to be completely inaccessible from the net, and the only machine permitted to connect to it should be the web server, and that too in a very limited capacity.